Skip to content
cryptoearn.guide

Emerging products

Tokenised treasuries and the yield you can actually verify

A $15.65bn market built on the one asset in crypto whose cash flow is not in doubt. The interesting questions are what the wrapper costs, and whether you are allowed to buy any of it.

Tokenised treasury funds are not available through mainstream crypto exchange earn menus. Figures checked 16 September 2026.

Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026

Tokenised treasuries are the rare crypto yield product where you can name the borrower. The fund buys short-dated US government debt, the government pays the coupon, and a token records your share. There is no utilisation curve, no perpetual funding rate and no counterparty who might have made a bad loan. The yield is the safest one on this site, and correspondingly it is also among the lowest.

The sector exists at its current size because of regulation rather than despite it. Once the GENIUS Act barred payment stablecoin issuers from paying interest for holding a stablecoin, and MiCA barred remuneration linked to holding period in the EU, a regulated fund paying a distribution became the compliant way to give an on-chain dollar balance a yield. That is the clearest regulatory-arbitrage story of 2026, and it explains why BlackRock, Franklin Templeton and Circle are all in this market at once.

Key takeaways

  • The tokenised treasury market held $15.65bn of distributed value on 16 September 2026, down 3.46% over 30 days, with an aggregate seven-day APY of 3.74%.
  • Net yields of 3.44% to 3.74% sit below the 3.97% three-month Treasury bill — the wrapper costs roughly 25 to 50 basis points.
  • Eligibility, not yield, is the real differentiator: USDY excludes US persons, OUSG and USTB require accredited-investor and qualified-purchaser status, BUIDL is for qualified purchasers, and only BENJI is described as US retail.
  • OUSG is a fund of funds — 45.68% State Street Galaxy Onchain Liquidity Sweep, 30.74% BUIDL, 12.38% BENJI, 9.28% Fidelity FYOXX — so its 3.44% is net of a second fee layer.
  • 27.39% of Superstate's USTB is still held in conventional book-entry form, which is why tokenisation trackers report $572.10m against Superstate's own $746.58m of AUM.
  • We could not verify BUIDL or BENJI figures from the issuers: both product pages are JavaScript-rendered and returned nothing to our fetch.

The market as a whole

$15.65bn

Distributed value of tokenised treasuries

Down 3.46% over the preceding 30 days

3.74%

Aggregate seven-day APY across the sector

The yield on the whole tokenised treasury market

3.97%

Three-month US Treasury bill

The benchmark the sector sits below

app.rwa.xyz/treasuries and Federal Reserve H.15, as of 16 September 2026 and 15 September 2026 respectively.

What you are actually holding

Strip away the vocabulary and the structure is ordinary. A fund is formed, usually as a regulated vehicle with a transfer agent and an auditor. It buys Treasury bills, repurchase agreements and money market instruments. Investors subscribe and redeem, and the fund's income is distributed or accrued into the share price. All of that has existed for decades.

The innovation is where the share register lives. Instead of existing only in a transfer agent's book-entry system, ownership is recorded as a token on a public blockchain. That changes three practical things. Settlement runs continuously rather than on business days — OUSG advertises instant mint and redemption 24 hours a day, seven days a week, including weekends and bank holidays. Transfer becomes a blockchain transaction rather than an instruction to an intermediary. And the position can be used inside DeFi, as collateral or inside another product, without leaving the fund.

None of that changes the underlying credit. You are still holding a claim on short-dated US government debt, which is the reason these products pay what they pay and no more. The constraint on who may hold the token is also unchanged: it is enforced at the token level through allowlists, which is how a fund restricted to qualified purchasers stays restricted on a public chain.

The funds, side by side

Six products account for almost all of the market. The table below sets out what each one is, what it pays, what it costs to get in and — the column that actually decides the question for most readers — who is allowed to hold it.

Tokenised treasury funds compared
FundIssuerMarket capYieldMinimumWho is eligibleChains
BUIDLBlackRock / Securitize$2.70bnabout 4.5%*$5m*Qualified purchasers*Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche, Aptos and others*
USYCHashnote / Circle$2.60bnabout 4.5%*$100k*Qualified investors*Ethereum, Canton, Sui*
USDYOndo$2.23bn3.60%, reset monthlyNot statedNon-US individuals and institutions only11, including Ethereum, Solana, Sui, Aptos, Stellar and BNB
BENJI / FOBXXFranklin Templeton$680.99mabout 4.3%*$20*US retail via the Benji app, plus institutions*Stellar, Polygon, Ethereum, Arbitrum, Avalanche, Base, Aptos, Solana*
USTBSuperstate$572.10m tokenised; $746.58m AUM3.59% (30-day)Not statedAccredited investors and qualified purchasers, US residentsEthereum 71.75%, Plume 0.60%, Solana 0.26%, book-entry 27.39%
OUSGOndo$403.84m; Ondo reports $330.70m3.44% (30-day)$5,000Accredited-investor qualified purchasers, including US, via qualified-access onboardingEthereum, Polygon, Solana, XRPL

Market caps from app.rwa.xyz/treasuries, 16 September 2026. Yields marked as 30-day or monthly-reset come from the issuers' own pages on the same date. Figures marked with an asterisk come from a secondary comparison whose data is dated May 2026; that source's USDY market cap is demonstrably stale, so we use it only for minimums, eligibility and chain lists, and flag it.

The eligibility maze is the real story

Every comparison of this sector published so far ranks by yield. The yields are within 40 basis points of each other. What actually varies is whether you can buy the thing at all, and that variation is severe.

A US retail investor with $1,000 has exactly one plausible route in this table, BENJI, and it is the one product whose current terms we could not verify from the issuer. A US accredited investor who is also a qualified purchaser can access OUSG at a $5,000 minimum or USTB. A non-US individual gets USDY and is shut out of the products aimed at US residents. Everyone else is looking at a $5m minimum on BUIDL or $100k on USYC.

Qualified purchaser is a materially higher bar than accredited investor, and several of these products require both. The practical effect is that the sector's headline of "T-bill yield, on-chain, for everyone" describes almost nobody. That gap between the marketing and the eligibility terms is the single thing a reader should check first, before the yield.

Risks that do not disappear

Government credit risk is close to zero on a three-month horizon, and that is the risk most readers think they are evaluating. Three others remain, and none of them is priced into the yield.

The first is the wrapper. A token is a smart contract, and the allowlist, redemption logic and price oracle are code someone wrote. A fund whose portfolio is perfect can still have a bad afternoon in its contract. The second is the redemption path. Same-day redemption via USDC, as USTB offers, is only as good as the stablecoin and the bank rails behind it; a fund that promises instant liquidity is making a promise about an intermediary as well as about its own assets. The third is eligibility drift — the terms on which you may hold the token are set by the issuer and enforced at the contract level, and a change in those terms is not a market event you can trade around.

Set against a CeFi savings product, none of that compares badly. It is simply a different list, and worth reading alongside the one on crypto earn risks before treating any of these as a cash equivalent.

Why the market caps disagree between trackers

Superstate reports $746,576,347 of AUM for USTB. rwa.xyz shows $572.10m. Neither is wrong. The fund holds 71.75% of its shares on Ethereum, 0.60% on Plume, 0.26% on Solana — and27.39% in conventional book-entry form, exactly as an untokenised mutual fund would. A tokenisation tracker counts the tokenised portion; the issuer counts the whole fund.

The same effect, or something like it, explains BUIDL at $2.70bn on rwa.xyz against $3.515bn on DefiLlama across eight chains, and OUSG at $403.84m on rwa.xyz against Ondo's own $330.70m as of 15 September 2026. Anyone citing a single number for this market without saying which base it uses is overstating precision. We flag conflicts rather than resolving them, which is set out in our methodology.

The structural point: you are not buying extra return

Set the yields against the benchmark. A three-month US Treasury bill yielded 3.97% on 15 September 2026; the four-week bill was at 3.80%, the six-month at 4.07% and the one-year at 4.16%. The tokenised funds pay between 3.44% and 3.74%.

In other words the wrapper costs roughly 25 to 50 basis points against simply owning the underlying instrument. That is not a criticism — it is what a fund wrapper has always cost, and it is cheap compared with most things in crypto. But it does settle the question of what these products are for. You buy them for 24/7 settlement, for instant mint and redemption including weekends and bank holidays in OUSG's case, and for the ability to move the position into DeFi as collateral. You do not buy them to beat a Treasury bill, because by construction they cannot.

That comparison also reframes the rest of the market. Aave v3 paid 3.57% on supplied USDC on 16 September 2026, which is below a three-month bill for a position carrying smart-contract and utilisation risk. Ethena's sUSDe paid about 5.03%, down from roughly 27% at launch, for a delta-neutral basis trade with exchange and custody risk. Ledn pays 6.5% and 8.5% on stablecoins from a disclosed, overcollateralised bitcoin-backed loan book. A tokenised treasury at 3.44% is the floor of that ladder, and knowing where the floor is makes everything above it easier to judge — which is the whole argument ofstablecoin yield andcrypto interest rates.

What happens next depends on rulemaking

The regulatory pincer that created this market is still moving. In the US, the OCC released a 376-page notice of proposed rulemaking in February 2026 whose proposed §15.10(c)(4) would create a rebuttable presumption of violation where a stablecoin issuer contracts with affiliates or broadly defined related third parties — which would make exchange rewards programmes on branded stablecoins presumptively unlawful. The comment period closed on 1 May 2026, the Comptroller has said the aim is a final rule by November 2026, and GENIUS takes effect on the earlier of 18 January 2027 or 120 days after final rules. The CLARITY Act, which would have preserved transaction-based stablecoin rewards subject to Treasury authority, failed a Senate cloture vote 49–50 on 15 September 2026.

In the EU, the European Commission's targeted MiCA review consultation opened on 20 May 2026 with 86 questions, one of which asks directly whether the stablecoin interest prohibition should be kept or loosened. It closes on 30 September 2026. Nothing is decided and any legislative proposal is years away, but the possibility that the prohibition is relaxed is the main thing that could reduce the demand this sector currently enjoys. We track the detail on crypto yield regulation and the geographic consequences on availability by country.

For a reader deciding today, the honest summary is short. If you are eligible and you want a dollar yield you can audit, this is the most transparent thing available and it pays slightly less than the bill it holds. If you are not eligible, no amount of interest in the category changes that, and the alternatives — pooled lending,CeFi savings products — carry credit risk that Treasury bills do not. Sizing that decision sensibly is the subject ofpassive income with crypto.

Frequently asked questions

What is a tokenised treasury?

It is a share in a fund holding short-dated US government debt, recorded on a blockchain instead of only in a transfer agent's book-entry system. The fund buys Treasury bills and money market instruments; the token represents your claim on that portfolio and the yield is the coupon passed through, less fees. As of 16 September 2026 the sector held about $15.65bn with an aggregate seven-day APY of 3.74%. What is new is the wrapper, not the asset.

Can US retail investors buy tokenised treasuries?

Mostly not, with one exception. BENJI from Franklin Templeton is described as available to US retail through the Benji app with a minimum reported at about $20. OUSG requires accredited-investor and qualified-purchaser status, and USTB requires accredited investors and qualified purchasers who are US residents. BUIDL is for qualified purchasers. USDY excludes US persons entirely. Those eligibility figures come from a secondary source dated May 2026 and should be checked with the issuer.

What yield do tokenised treasuries pay?

The verified issuer figures as of 16 September 2026 are USDY at 3.60% reset monthly, USTB at 3.59% on a 30-day basis and OUSG at 3.44% on a 30-day basis. The sector-wide aggregate seven-day APY was 3.74%. Against a three-month US Treasury bill at 3.97% on 15 September 2026, that means the wrapper costs roughly 25 to 50 basis points. You are paying for settlement and composability, not buying extra return.

Why are tokenised treasuries growing now?

Regulation closed the easier route. The GENIUS Act's §4(a)(11) prohibits permitted payment stablecoin issuers from paying interest or yield solely in connection with holding a stablecoin, and MiCA prohibits remuneration linked to holding period for e-money and asset-referenced tokens in the EU. A tokenised money market fund is a regulated fund that pays a distribution, which sits outside both prohibitions. Our regulation page sets out the statutes.

Is OUSG a fund of funds?

Yes, and it matters for the yield. OUSG holds the State Street Galaxy Onchain Liquidity Sweep at 45.68%, BUIDL at 30.74%, BENJI at 12.38% and Fidelity FYOXX at 9.28%, plus USDC and bank deposits. Each underlying fund charges its own fee, so OUSG's 3.44% is net of two layers. Ondo has waived management fees until 1 January 2027 and caps expenses at 0.15%, which flatters the current figure relative to what it will be afterwards.

Why do trackers disagree on fund sizes?

Because they measure different things. Superstate reports $746.58m of AUM for USTB while rwa.xyz shows $572.10m — the gap is explained by the fact that 27.39% of the fund is still held in conventional book-entry form, and a tokenisation tracker counts only the tokenised portion. Similar gaps exist for BUIDL ($2.70bn on rwa.xyz against $3.515bn on DefiLlama) and OUSG ($403.84m against Ondo's own $330.70m).

Are tokenised treasuries safer than stablecoin yield?

The credit risk is different in kind. You hold a claim on a fund holding government debt rather than an unsecured claim on a lending platform, which is why the rates are lower and steadier. The risks that remain are the wrapper itself — smart contract, transfer agent, redemption mechanics — plus the eligibility restrictions that may prevent you exiting to the counterparty you expected. Compare the alternatives on stablecoin yield.

Keep reading