Platform review
Nexo's advertised rates and the conditions attached to them
Nexo publishes some of the highest headline rates in centralised crypto finance. Every one of them is a sum of four separate things, and three of those four require you to do something specific first.
Partner link to CEX.IO, which funds this site. It is not a Nexo link and no Nexo product is sold here.
Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026
Nexo advertises up to 9.5% flexible and 12.5% fixed on USDT, 13% and 16% on DOT, and 4.7% and 7% on bitcoin. Those are large numbers in a market where the three-month US Treasury bill pays under 4% and Aave's USDC supply rate sits around 3.5%, and the obvious question is what produces them. The less obvious but more useful question is what you have to do to actually receive them.
The answer to the second question is the substance of this review. A Nexo rate is not one number, it is four added together: a base rate for the asset, a loyalty tier driven by how much NEXO token you hold, up to two percentage points for electing to be paid in NEXO rather than in what you deposited, and one more point for committing to a one-month fixed term. Reaching the advertised figure requires all four at once, plus a $5,000 portfolio before any interest accrues at all.
The answer to the first question — where the yield comes from — Nexo does not give. Its own September 2026 explainer on choosing a stablecoin savings product tells readers to check custody arrangements, regulatory authorisation and reserve transparency, without explaining how Nexo itself generates a return. Historically the model has been overcollateralised retail credit lines plus institutional lending through Nexo Prime, but that is inference, not disclosure. Everything here was checked on 16 September 2026.
Key takeaways
- Every Nexo rate is
base + loyalty tier + up to 2% for taking interest in NEXO + 1% for a one-month fixed term. The headline requires all four. - You need a $5,000 portfolio balance plus an explicit opt-in before any interest accrues — one of the highest thresholds in the sector.
- Nexo's own pages carry three mutually inconsistent headline maxima: up to 15%, up to 16% and up to 13% depending which page you land on.
- Loyalty tiers are set by NEXO tokens as a share of your portfolio — 1% for Silver, 5% for Gold, 10% for Platinum — creating forced exposure to the platform's own token.
- Nexo held no MiCA CASP registration as of September 2026; a Bulgarian application was filed in February 2026.
- Custody runs through BitGo, Ledger Vault and Fireblocks with SOC 2 Type 2 and insurance via Lloyd's, Marsh and Arch — but the coverage amount is not published and the insurance covers custody loss, not insolvency.
Nexo at a glance
- Products
- Flexible yield (daily interest, daily compounding) and Fixed-term yield (single payout at term end, optional auto-renew)
- Advertised range
- From 3% flexible on NEXO to 13% flexible on DOT; fixed-term from 7% on BTC to 16% on DOT
- Rate construction
- Base rate + loyalty tier + up to 2% for NEXO-denominated interest + 1% for a one-month fixed term
- Minimum to earn
- $5,000 portfolio balance, plus opt-in
- Per-tier rate table
- Not published. Nexo states rates "are indicated on the Nexo platform"
- Yield source
- Not disclosed on consumer pages
- Platform fees
- None for standard operations; free withdrawals are capped at one to five per month by tier, then network fees apply
- EU status
- No MiCA CASP entry as of September 2026; Bulgarian FSC application filed February 2026, EEA served via licensed partners
- US status
- Exited December 2022, settled for $45m January 2023, re-entered April 2025 via Bakkt. Supported-state list not published
- Custody and audit
- BitGo, Ledger Vault, Fireblocks; SOC 2 Type 2; real-time attestation tied to Moore rather than Merkle-tree proof of reserves
From Nexo's own pages and support documentation, with third-party corroboration where noted, checked 16 September 2026. All rates are "up to" figures and are variable.
What the product actually is
Nexo is a centralised lending platform that pays depositors and lends to borrowers. Of the four engines that can produce a crypto yield — protocol staking, lending, trading strategies and company subsidy — Nexo's is predominantly the second, with the NEXO-denominated bonus behaving like the fourth.
We say "predominantly" because Nexo does not confirm it. The consumer pages describe what you will be paid without describing who pays it. Historically the business has run overcollateralised retail credit lines, where borrowers post crypto and draw fiat or stablecoins against it, plus institutional lending through Nexo Prime — and the published borrow APRs, from 13.9% at base tier down to 6.9% at Platinum, are consistent with a spread business funded by depositors. That is the model explained on crypto lending, and it is a real business model rather than a suspicious one. The criticism here is the absence of the sentence, not the presence of the model.
The advertised rates
These are Nexo's own published "up to" figures. Read the column headings carefully: both columns are maxima requiring the full stack of conditions, not rates available on deposit.
| Asset | Flexible, up to | Fixed term, up to |
|---|---|---|
| DOT | 13% | 16% |
| USDT | 9.5% | 12.5% |
| USDC | 8.5% | 12.5% |
| SOL | 7% | 9% |
| XRP | 6.25% | 9.5% |
| ETH | 5.25% | 8% |
| BTC | 4.7% | 7% |
| NEXO | 3% | 12% |
From nexo.com/earn-crypto and the fixed-term yield page, checked 16 September 2026. Both columns are "up to" figures requiring top loyalty tier and NEXO-denominated interest. Base-tier rates are a fraction of these and are not published.
Two rows are worth pausing on. BTC at 4.7% flexible is an order of magnitude above what the honest comparators pay — CEX.IO and Xapo Bank both pay 0.25% on bitcoin, and Kraken pays 0.02% flexible. Bitcoin has no native staking, so the entire difference is credit risk: somebody is borrowing bitcoin and paying for it, and you are the lender. That is the argument set out in full on earning bitcoin.
NEXO at 3% flexible and 12% fixed is the other one. A four-fold spread between flexible and fixed on the platform's own token is a straightforward incentive to lock it up, which supports the token price, which supports the loyalty tiers, which supports deposits. It is coherent design and it is also a loop worth seeing clearly.
How a Nexo rate is built
Here is the decomposition, in the order the conditions apply.
The four components of a Nexo headline rate
- 1
The base rate for the asset
Set by Nexo per asset. This is the only component available to everybody, and Nexo does not publish it — the platform shows your personal rate once you are inside, and states that rates "are indicated on the Nexo platform". - 2
Your loyalty tier
Determined by NEXO tokens as a share of your portfolio: Base with none, Silver at 1%, Gold at 5%, Platinum at 10%. The tier also governs your borrow APR — 13.9% at Base down to 6.9% at Platinum, with 0% at or below 20% loan-to-value for Platinum — and how many free withdrawals you get each month, from one to five. - 3
Electing interest in NEXO
Up to 2 percentage points extra for taking your interest paid in NEXO tokens instead of the asset you deposited. This converts part of your yield into exposure to a single volatile token, which is a different risk from the deposit itself. - 4
Committing to a fixed term
A further 1 percentage point for a one-month fixed term. Fixed-term assets pay a single amount at the end and cannot be used as loan collateral or for loan repayment until they unlock.
The structural consequence is that a base-tier depositor taking interest in the asset they deposited, on flexible terms, receives a rate that Nexo never publishes anywhere and that is materially below every figure in the table above. That is not unique to Nexo — it is the dominant pattern in CeFi, and it is why our rate comparisonrecords the condition attached to each headline rather than the headline alone.
| Tier | NEXO as share of portfolio | Borrow APR | Free withdrawals/month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base | None | 13.9% | 1 |
| Silver | 1%+ | 12.9% | 2 |
| Gold | 5%+ | 8.9% | 3 |
| Platinum | 10%+ | 6.9% | 5 |
Tier thresholds from Nexo's loyalty programme documentation; borrow APRs corroborated from a third-party review. Nexo does not publish a per-tier savings rate table.
Fees, payout and compounding
Nexo charges no platform fee for standard operations, and there are no card inactivity or foreign-exchange fees. Withdrawals are free up to the monthly allowance shown above, after which network and withdrawal fees apply. That is a clean fee position by sector standards — there is no commission taken off the top of your yield in the way Coinbase takes 35% or Kraken 30%, because Nexo's margin is the spread between what it pays you and what it charges borrowers rather than an explicit cut.
On payout mechanics Nexo is genuinely good. Flexible interest is credited daily and compounds daily, which is better than the weekly cycle at Kraken or the monthly cycle on CEX.IO staking. Fixed-term products pay once at the end of the term, with optional auto-renewal that then compounds across terms.
Lock-up, withdrawal and redemption
Flexible balances can be moved at any time. Fixed-term balances are committed for the term, and the constraint that matters is not just liquidity: fixed-term assets cannot be used as loan collateral or for loan repayment until they unlock. If you use Nexo's credit line as well as its yield product, locking assets removes them from your collateral base at the same time, which is the kind of interaction that only becomes visible during a drawdown.
There is also a reported pattern worth naming: withdrawal delays during market stress have been reported by third-party analysts. We could not verify specific incidents from a primary source, so we note it as reported rather than established. For an unsecured claim on a lending platform, the ability to exit quickly is the thing you are really buying, and it is the thing that tends to fail first — which is the whole lesson ofwhat happened to the CeFi lenders.
Availability and regulatory history
Nexo's geographic story has two chapters that a reader should know.
The European gap. As of 2 September 2026 Nexo had no entry in the MiCA CASP register. An application was filed with the Bulgarian Financial Supervision Commission in February 2026, and in the interim Nexo serves EEA clients through licensed partners. Serving customers via partners is lawful, but it means the entity you contract with and the regulator supervising it are both harder to identify than at a directly authorised competitor. Against Crypto.com, authorised in Malta in January 2025, Bitpanda, licensed by BaFin, and SwissBorg, authorised by France's AMF in March 2026, this is a real difference.
The US round trip. Nexo announced a gradual departure from the United States in December 2022. In January 2023 it settled with the SEC and NASAA state regulators for $45 million over its Earn Interest Product. It re-entered the US in April 2025, and its current US page advertises both Flexible and Fixed-term Yield, delivered through an infrastructure partnership with Bakkt, a US-listed company. Nexo does not publish a supported-state list, so state-level coverage is unverified. We also note a conflict in the secondary record: a February 2026 analysis still described Earn as discontinued for US investors, which appears out of date against Nexo's own US page, but we could not find a primary regulatory filing confirming the yield product's US legal basis either way.
The UK position could not be verified at all — no FCA registration status was found on any page we fetched. Coverage across regions is tracked onavailability by country.
Custody, insurance and proof of reserves
This is where Nexo does better than most of its peers, and it is worth being precise about how much better.
Assets are held with named institutional custodians — BitGo, Ledger Vault and Fireblocks among others — in cold-storage vaults, and Nexo holds SOC 2 Type 2 certification. Insurance is underwritten through Lloyd's of London, Marsh and Arch. Naming your custodians and your underwriters is meaningfully more than CEX.IO, Bybit or KuCoin disclose.
The caveats are equally specific. The coverage amount is not stated on Nexo's own insurance page; historical figures cited by third parties conflict, and the current language has softened to describe "millions in coverage". More importantly, custody insurance covers loss at the custody layer — theft, key compromise — and does not cover platform insolvency or losses in the lending book. Those are the two ways a CeFi yield platform actually fails, and neither is insured anywhere in this sector.
On reserves, Nexo operates a real-time attestation model tied to the accountancy firm Moore. That is not the same as a Merkle-tree proof of reserves in which an individual customer can verify their own balance is included in the attested total. It is a third party asserting a number; a proof of reserves is a mechanism letting you check the number covers you.
What works well
- Daily interest and daily compounding on flexible balances — better mechanics than most competitors offer.
- Named institutional custodians (BitGo, Ledger Vault, Fireblocks) and SOC 2 Type 2 certification.
- Insurance underwritten through Lloyd's of London, Marsh and Arch, with the underwriters named.
- No platform fee on standard operations and no commission taken off the top of your yield.
- A published rate table by asset, and a published loyalty-tier structure with explicit thresholds.
- A broad asset list covering stablecoins, majors and DOT, with both flexible and fixed-term options on each.
What to watch
- The yield source is never stated on consumer pages.
- Three mutually inconsistent headline maxima — 15%, 16% and 13% — across Nexo's own pages.
- A $5,000 portfolio minimum before any interest accrues, one of the highest in the sector.
- The base-tier rate, which is what most users actually receive, is not published anywhere.
- Reaching the headline requires holding NEXO worth 10% of your portfolio and taking interest in NEXO — concentrated, reflexive exposure.
- No MiCA CASP registration as of September 2026, and no user-verifiable proof of reserves.
Risks specific to Nexo
Reflexive token exposure is the distinctive one. Your rate depends on NEXO tokens as a percentage of your portfolio. If the NEXO price falls, your tier can fall with it, cutting your interest rate at precisely the moment your holdings are worth less. If you also elected NEXO-denominated interest, the yield you have already earned is impaired too. And because NEXO is the platform's own token, trouble at the platform hits the deposit, the tier and the accrued interest simultaneously. This is a single point of failure dressed as a loyalty programme, and the same structure appears at Crypto.com andSwissBorg.
Unverifiable solvency. Custody is custodial, there is no deposit insurance, and platform solvency cannot be independently verified from outside. Attestation is not audit and neither is proof of reserves.
Litigation and jurisdictional complexity. Third-party analysis cites active litigation in the Northern District of California and a Bulgarian investor-state arbitration. We have not verified the current status of either, and note them as reported rather than resolved.
The headline-rate trap. If you deposit expecting 12.5% on USDC and receive the base rate on flexible terms, you have taken full counterparty risk for a fraction of the return that risk was supposed to compensate. That asymmetry — full risk, partial reward — is the most common way retail users lose on CeFi products without anything actually going wrong.
How Nexo compares to Ledn and YouHodler
Against Ledn, the contrast is disclosure. Ledn pays 6.5% on USDC below $100,000 and 8.5% above it — lower than Nexo's stablecoin maximum, higher than Nexo's unpublished base — and states exactly what funds it: an overcollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loan book, with no history of loan losses since inception as of June 2026, accompanied by Ledn's own past-performance caveat. Ledn publishes monthly proof of reserves via Chainalysis and holds SOC 2 Type 2. It also has no minimum, no lock-up and no native token to hold. If what you want is a stablecoin yield whose source you can name, Ledn answers the question and Nexo does not.
Against YouHodler, Nexo looks conservative. YouHodler funds deposits from its own leveraged lending book and raises its bitcoin rate from 4.8% to 7.2% only after a user takes a Turbocharge or crypto loan — a rate conditioned on the depositor taking leveraged risk. Nexo's conditions are about token holdings and term commitment rather than about taking on leverage, which is a less aggressive way of gating a rate. Both share the central weakness: neither tells you plainly where the money comes from.
For a reader with a portfolio above $5,000 who is willing to hold a meaningful NEXO position and understands they are an unsecured creditor of a lending business, Nexo pays more than the regulated alternatives and does more on custody disclosure than most of its direct peers. For a reader who wants to know who is borrowing their money, or who has less than $5,000, or who does not want a concentrated position in a platform token, the conditions attached here are heavy. The rest of the field is on our platform comparison, and the general risk framework is on crypto earn risks.
Frequently asked questions
What do you have to do to get Nexo's highest advertised rate?
Four things at once. Start from the base rate for the asset, reach the top loyalty tier by holding NEXO tokens worth at least 10% of your portfolio, elect to receive your interest paid in NEXO rather than in the asset you deposited for up to 2% extra, and commit to a fixed term for a further 1%. Miss any one of them and the advertised number is unreachable. You also need at least $5,000 across the portfolio before any interest accrues at all. The general pattern is described on crypto savings accounts.
What is the minimum balance to earn interest on Nexo?
A $5,000 portfolio balance, plus an explicit opt-in. This is one of the highest entry thresholds in the sector and it rules the product out for small balances entirely. For comparison, Kraken pays rewards on any eligible balance over one dollar, CEX.IO Savings publishes no minimum at all, and Coinbase USDC rewards start at $1. Fixed-term assets also cannot be used as loan collateral or for loan repayment until they unlock.
Is Nexo regulated in the EU?
Not as a MiCA crypto-asset service provider, as of 16 September 2026. Nexo had no entry in the MiCA CASP register as of 2 September 2026. An application was filed with the Bulgarian Financial Supervision Commission in February 2026, and in the meantime Nexo serves EEA clients through licensed partners. That is a material gap against competitors that hold the licence directly — Crypto.com from Malta, Bitpanda from Germany and SwissBorg from France. What the regime covers is on crypto earn regulation.
Can US residents use Nexo?
Nexo exited the United States in December 2022 and settled with the SEC and NASAA state regulators for $45 million in January 2023 over its Earn Interest Product. It re-entered the US in April 2025, and its current US page advertises Flexible and Fixed-term Yield delivered through an infrastructure partnership with Bakkt, a US-listed company. Nexo does not publish a supported-state list, so state-level coverage is unverified, and we could not find a primary regulatory filing setting out the yield product's US legal basis.
How often does Nexo pay interest?
On flexible balances, interest is credited daily and compounds daily — which is genuinely good mechanics and better than the weekly or monthly cycles common elsewhere. Fixed-term products pay a single amount at the end of the term, with optional auto-renewal that then compounds. Daily compounding on a flexible balance means the effective annual return is slightly above the quoted rate, though on a single-digit rate the difference is small relative to the tier conditions attached to reaching that rate in the first place.
Does Nexo publish proof of reserves?
Not in the form most readers mean. Nexo operates a real-time attestation model tied to the accountancy firm Moore, rather than a user-verifiable Merkle-tree proof of reserves of the kind that lets an individual check their own balance is included. It holds SOC 2 Type 2 and uses named custodians — BitGo, Ledger Vault and Fireblocks — with insurance underwritten through Lloyd's of London, Marsh and Arch. The coverage amount is not stated on Nexo's own insurance page, and that insurance covers custody-layer loss, not platform insolvency or lending losses.
What is the risk of holding NEXO tokens for a higher rate?
It is reflexive, and it works against you exactly when you would least want it to. Your loyalty tier is set by NEXO tokens as a percentage of your portfolio, so a fall in the NEXO price can drop you a tier and cut your interest rate at the same moment your holdings are worth less. You are also taking concentrated exposure to the equity-like risk of the platform you are lending to — if Nexo has trouble, the token and the deposit are impaired together. Crypto.com and SwissBorg use the same structure.
Keep reading
Ledn review
The lender that names its yield source, publishes proof of reserves and stopped paying on bitcoin.
YouHodler review
Yield funded from a leveraged loan book, with a rate that rises only if you borrow.
Crypto savings accounts
How these products generate interest, and why none of them are bank deposits.
Crypto lending explained
Who borrows your coins, what collateral does and does not protect, and how spreads work.
Crypto earn risks
Counterparty, liquidity, token and regulatory risk, ranked by how often each one bites.
All crypto earn platforms
Every provider we review, compared on rate, model, lock-up, fee and licensing.