Platform review
Xapo Bank: a real deposit guarantee, on dollars only
Every other provider in our coverage is a company you lend to. Xapo Bank is a licensed bank with a statutory deposit guarantee — on its dollar balances. On the Bitcoin side it pays 0.25% and explains why.
We are not affiliated with Xapo Bank. Rates, protections and licensing below come from Xapo's own earn page, checked 16 September 2026.
Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026
- 3.35%
- USD Savings variable APY, paid daily
- 0.25%
- BTC Savings variable APY, paid daily
- Up to 4%
- BTC Credit Fund target — a target, not a guarantee
- £120,000
- Gibraltar DGS cover, USD equivalent, on dollars only
Almost everything we review on this site is a company that borrows from you and pays you interest. Whatever the licence on the homepage and whatever the marketing calls the product, the legal reality is that you are an unsecured creditor and there is no protection scheme behind your balance. That is true of every exchange, every app and every lender we cover, with exactly one exception.
Xapo Bank Limited is licensed in Gibraltar under the Financial Services Act 2019. It is a bank. Its US dollar deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the dollar equivalent of £120,000, and Xapo states plainly that crypto asset deposits are not covered. That one sentence is the reason this review exists, and it is why Xapo is the only entry on our platform list categorised as a bank rather than as a broker, exchange or lender.
The second reason is the number 0.25%. Xapo pays that on Bitcoin savings and does not pretend otherwise, at a moment when several competitors advertise multiples of it. Understanding why Xapo's Bitcoin rate is so low is the fastest route to understanding what everyone else's high Bitcoin rate is made of.
Key takeaways
- Xapo Bank Limited is licensed in Gibraltar under the Financial Services Act 2019 — the only actual bank in our earn coverage.
- USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the equivalent of £120,000. Crypto asset deposits are explicitly not covered.
- USD Savings pays 3.35% variable APY, calculated and paid daily, with no minimum, funded by high-quality liquid assets including AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds.
- BTC Savings pays 0.25% variable, paid daily, no minimum — which is close to what safe Bitcoin yield is genuinely worth.
- The BTC Credit Fund targets up to 4% by lending pooled member Bitcoin to financial institutions. Xapo states this is a target, not a guarantee, and the minimum is USD 120,000 equivalent.
- Xapo does not publish its membership fee or its geographic availability on the earn page.
At a glance
- What it is
- A Gibraltar-licensed bank offering dollar and Bitcoin savings plus a separate Bitcoin lending fund
- USD yield engine
- High-quality liquid assets including AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds
- BTC savings engine
- Not specified beyond the rate; at 0.25% there is little to explain
- Credit Fund engine
- Lending pooled member Bitcoin to secure, well-capitalised financial institutions
- Payout
- USD and BTC savings calculated and paid daily. Credit Fund distributes monthly or reinvests
- Minimums
- None on either savings product. USD 120,000 equivalent in BTC for the Credit Fund
- Licence
- Xapo Bank Limited, Gibraltar, under the Financial Services Act 2019
- Deposit protection
- Gibraltar DGS on USD deposits up to the equivalent of £120,000. Crypto is not covered
- Not published
- Membership fee, geographic availability, and whether US, UK or EU residents can join
Checked 16 September 2026. Both savings rates are variable and the Credit Fund figure is a target rather than a stated rate.
Three products, three completely different risk shapes
The most useful thing anyone can do with Xapo's earn menu is refuse to average it. A dollar deposit in a licensed bank backed by Treasury bills, a Bitcoin savings balance, and a fund that lends Bitcoin to institutions are not three points on a risk spectrum. They are three different instruments that happen to be sold by the same firm.
| Product | Stated rate | What funds it | Covered by the Gibraltar DGS? |
|---|---|---|---|
| USD Savings | 3.35% variable APY | High-quality liquid assets including AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds | Yes — up to the equivalent of £120,000 |
| BTC Savings | 0.25% variable APY | Not specified on the page | No |
| BTC Credit Fund | Target of up to 4%, not a guarantee | Lending pooled member Bitcoin to secure, well-capitalised financial institutions | No — it is a fund, not a deposit |
Rates, yield sources, minimums and protection scope as published on Xapo Bank's earn page, checked 16 September 2026. Rates are variable.
The dollar product: the clearest disclosure in the market
Xapo says where the 3.35% comes from: high-quality liquid assets, including AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds. No provider we track states its yield source more precisely, and — crucially — the statement is checkable against public data rather than being a claim you have to accept.
On 16 September 2026 the 3-month US Treasury bill was yielding 3.97%, the 4-week bill 3.80%, the 6-month 4.07% and the 1-year 4.16%. Xapo pays 3.35%. The gap of roughly 60 basis points against the 3-month bill is the bank's margin for running the account, holding the liquidity and providing the guarantee. That is an ordinary, explicable spread, and it is a very different thing from an unexplained 9% on a stablecoin.
The Bitcoin product: 0.25% is the honest answer
A reader seeing 0.25% next to Bitcoin will assume Xapo is being stingy. The opposite is closer to the truth.
Bitcoin has no native staking and therefore no protocol-level cash flow. The only way to manufacture a Bitcoin return is to lend the coins to someone who pays interest, and the demand to borrow Bitcoin is structurally weak — people borrow against Bitcoin, not Bitcoin itself. The clearest evidence sits in DeFi, where supplying wrapped BTC and cbBTC to Aave v3 on Ethereum was paying 0.00% on 16 September 2026 despite billions of dollars supplied. Those assets are collateral, not yield assets.
Against that background, 0.25% is roughly what a bank can pay on Bitcoin without taking credit risk it does not want. Ledn reached the same conclusion from the other direction and simply stopped paying Bitcoin yield in July 2025, discontinuing its BTC Growth Accounts in favour of a fully custodied model. Any platform advertising a multiple of Xapo's rate on BTC is not finding a better source of yield — it is accepting more risk, and Bitcoin yield and BTCfi traces where that risk goes.
The BTC Credit Fund: the one product that needs care
The Credit Fund targets up to 4% by lending pooled member Bitcoin to secure, well-capitalised financial institutions. The minimum is the equivalent of USD 120,000 in BTC, and returns are distributed monthly or reinvested. Xapo is careful with the word "target" and does not call it a rate.
We want to be exact about what this is, because a bank wrapper can make it look like something it is not. Lending pooled retail Bitcoin to financial institutions is the identical business model that destroyed Celsius, BlockFi and Genesis. Those failures were not caused by an exotic mechanism; they were caused by institutional borrowers that could not repay, against collateral that turned out to be worth less than assumed, inside a structure where retail depositors ranked as unsecured creditors.
Fees, payouts and minimums
Both savings products are calculated and paid daily with no minimum balance, which is the most user-friendly structure in our coverage: daily accrual with no threshold means a small balance earns from the first day and compounds without waiting for a weekly or monthly cycle.
The cost side is the gap. Xapo does not state a membership fee on the earn page, and Xapo has historically operated a membership model. Anyone comparing 3.35% against a fee-free alternative needs that number, because a fixed annual charge behaves like a percentage fee that shrinks as the balance grows. On a small dollar balance it could consume the entire rate advantage over a conventional savings account; on a large one it would be immaterial. We cannot tell you which, and that is a real omission from an otherwise exemplary disclosure page.
Licensing, and what the licence actually delivers
Xapo Bank Limited holds a banking licence in Gibraltar under the Financial Services Act 2019. The difference between that and the registrations held by most crypto earn providers is not one of degree.
A VASP registration, of the kind YouHodler holds in Italy and Spain, is an anti-money-laundering measure. A MiCA CASP authorisation, as held by SwissBorg and Bitpanda, imposes conduct, custody and disclosure obligations on a crypto service provider. Neither requires the firm to hold regulatory capital against deposits, and neither puts a guarantee scheme behind a customer balance. A banking licence does both.
The limits should be equally clear. The Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme covers US dollar deposits to the equivalent of £120,000 — not more, not other currencies on the evidence published, and emphatically not crypto. Xapo's own page says so. A member holding Bitcoin at Xapo is in the same legal position as a customer of any other crypto platform, protected by the bank's solvency and nothing else.
Custody, insurance and proof of reserves
Xapo's dollar balances sit inside a regulated bank with capital and liquidity requirements and a guarantee scheme. Its Bitcoin holdings do not benefit from that framework. We found no proof-of-reserves attestation, which is worth noting: a bank is supervised and audited in ways a crypto firm is not, but supervision is not the same thing as a customer-verifiable reserve report, and Ledn publishes one monthly.
What works well
- The only genuine deposit guarantee in retail crypto earn: Gibraltar DGS cover on USD balances up to the equivalent of £120,000.
- An actual banking licence under Gibraltar’s Financial Services Act 2019, with the capital and supervision that implies.
- The clearest yield-source disclosure we have found — AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds, checkable against public bill rates.
- Daily calculation and daily payment on both savings products, with no minimum balance.
- 0.25% on Bitcoin is an honest number in a market where higher BTC rates mean higher credit risk.
- The BTC Credit Fund is capped at a modest target and gated by a USD 120,000 minimum rather than sold to everyone.
What to watch
- The membership fee is not published, which makes the 3.35% impossible to compare properly on small balances.
- Geographic availability is not published either, and US access has historically been restricted.
- Crypto balances get none of the deposit protection that makes the dollar account distinctive.
- The BTC Credit Fund is institutional lending — the same business model that ended Celsius, BlockFi and Genesis.
- The yield source behind BTC Savings is not stated.
- No proof-of-reserves attestation was found.
The risks specific to Xapo Bank
The protection boundary is inside the account. One customer can hold a covered dollar balance and an uncovered Bitcoin balance in the same app, on the same screen, with the same bank's name on both. The single most likely user error here is assuming the guarantee applies to everything.
Credit Fund concentration. Xapo does not publish who the institutional borrowers are, how the loans are collateralised, or how concentrated the book is. Those were precisely the unknowns that mattered in 2022. A 4% target implies conservative counterparties; it does not prove them.
Rate variability. Both savings rates are variable and track a policy rate the bank does not control. If short-dated Treasury yields fall, 3.35% falls with them. That is normal for a bank product and unfamiliar to readers used to sticky advertised crypto APYs.
Unknown cost. Until the membership fee is known, the net return on a small balance is unknown too.
How Xapo compares with two alternatives on this site
Against Ledn
Ledn is the closest thing to a philosophical sibling. Both decided that Bitcoin yield was not worth manufacturing: Ledn discontinued its BTC and ETH Growth Accounts on 1 July 2025 and went bitcoin-only and fully custodied, while Xapo pays 0.25% and explains itself. On dollars the two diverge sharply. Ledn pays 6.5% below $100,000 and 8.5% above on USDC and USDT, funded by a disclosed overcollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loan book with no loan losses since inception as of June 2026. Xapo pays 3.35% funded by Treasury bills, with a statutory guarantee behind it. Roughly three percentage points is the price of the difference between government paper inside a bank and secured private credit inside a Cayman structure. Neither is wrong; they are answers to different questions.
Against tokenised treasuries
The other honest comparison is not a platform at all. Tokenised Treasury funds hold the same underlying asset as Xapo's dollar product and pass through roughly 3.44% to 3.74% net, with 24/7 settlement and DeFi composability. They also come with eligibility mazes — minimums from about $20 to $5m depending on the fund, and accreditation requirements on several — a second layer of fees, and no deposit guarantee whatsoever. Xapo gives up a little yield and a lot of composability in exchange for the £120,000 equivalent of protection. For a reader who wants dollars parked safely rather than deployed, that is usually the better trade.
Our view
Xapo Bank is the only provider in this coverage where a reader can hold a balance that is genuinely protected rather than merely well managed, and the only one whose yield source can be checked against a government bond quote in ten seconds. It is also the provider most likely to be dismissed by someone scanning a rate table, because 3.35% and 0.25% look unimpressive next to the numbers around them. Those numbers are the point. They are what the safe versions of these products pay.
The two things standing between this and an unqualified recommendation are the unpublished membership fee and the unpublished eligibility rules, both of which a reader must establish directly. And the Credit Fund deserves to be treated as a separate decision entirely, made on credit grounds and not because a bank is offering it.
To see how every other provider funds its yield, and which of them disclose it at all, start with our crypto earn platforms comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Is money at Xapo Bank actually protected?
US dollar deposits are. Xapo states that USD balances are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the US dollar equivalent of £120,000, and that crypto asset deposits are not covered. That is the only genuine deposit guarantee we have found anywhere in retail crypto earn. It applies to dollars, it has a ceiling, and it stops at the edge of the crypto balance. Our crypto savings accounts page explains why that single exception matters so much.
Why does Xapo pay only 0.25% on Bitcoin?
Because that is roughly what safe Bitcoin yield is worth. Bitcoin has no staking mechanism, so any BTC return has to come from lending it to someone, and demand to borrow Bitcoin is weak — supplying wrapped BTC to Aave v3 on Ethereum was paying 0.00% on 16 September 2026. A platform advertising 5% on Bitcoin is taking credit risk to manufacture a number. Xapo’s 0.25% is the honest one. See earn Bitcoin for the full explanation.
What is the Xapo BTC Credit Fund?
A fund that lends pooled member Bitcoin to what Xapo describes as secure, well-capitalised financial institutions, with a target of up to 4%. Xapo is explicit that the figure is a target and not a guarantee. The minimum is the equivalent of USD 120,000 in BTC, and returns are distributed monthly or reinvested. It is not a deposit, it is not covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme, and it is the same category of institutional lending described on what happened to the CeFi lenders.
Where does Xapo’s 3.35% dollar yield come from?
Xapo states it comes from high-quality liquid assets including AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds. That is the clearest yield-source disclosure of any provider we track, and it is checkable: the 3-month US Treasury bill was yielding 3.97% on 16 September 2026, so 3.35% is the bill rate less the bank’s spread. Nothing exotic is happening. Compare it with the wrapped version on tokenised treasuries.
Is Xapo Bank regulated?
Yes. Xapo Bank Limited is licensed in Gibraltar under the Financial Services Act 2019 and supervised by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission. It is a bank, not a crypto firm with a registration, and that is the structural difference between this and every other name in our coverage. A banking licence brings capital and liquidity requirements and, for covered deposits, the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme. Read regulation of crypto yield for what other licences do and do not do.
How much does Xapo Bank membership cost?
Xapo does not state the membership fee on its earn page, and we could not verify it. Xapo has historically operated a membership model, so a reader should assume there is an annual cost and find out what it is before comparing the 3.35% dollar rate against a fee-free alternative. A fixed annual fee eats proportionally more of a small balance than a large one.
Who can open a Xapo Bank account?
Xapo does not publish its geographic eligibility on the page we checked, and we could not verify which countries are served or whether US, UK and EU residents can join. Xapo has historically restricted US availability. Treat access as something to confirm directly before planning around any of the rates here, and see availability by country for how the rest of the market is split.
Keep reading
Earn Bitcoin
Why BTC yield is structurally scarce, and what the honest options actually pay.
Ledn review
The lender that stopped paying on Bitcoin, and discloses exactly what funds its stablecoin rates.
Crypto savings accounts
How the savings market prices risk, and why almost none of it is a deposit.
Tokenised treasuries
The same Treasury bills in a token wrapper — what the wrapper costs and who can buy.
CeFi lending collapses
Celsius, BlockFi and Genesis — the business model the BTC Credit Fund belongs to.
All earn platforms
Every provider we track, with the yield engine behind each headline rate.