Skip to content
cryptoearn.guide

Platform review

OKX Earn review: the exchange that says it is lending

Most venues describe a rate and leave the mechanism out. OKX writes down, in its own rules document, that your assets are pooled and loaned to borrowers including margin traders. That honesty is the story.

We are not affiliated with OKX. Every quotation below comes from OKX's own published rules and help documentation.

Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026

There are two ways to write a savings product page. The first is to print an APR, call it "earn" and say nothing about where the money comes from. That is what most of this industry does. The second is to state the mechanism, name the borrowers and publish the cut you take. OKX does the second, and it makes this one of the more straightforward reviews we have written — not because the product is low risk, but because the risk is legible.

OKX runs two distinct earning products. Simple Earn is a flexible lending product built on the exchange's own borrowing demand. On-chain Earn is a routing layer into proof-of-stake networks and third-party DeFi protocols. They have different mechanics, different fee treatments and very different risk disclaimers, and conflating them is the main way a reader goes wrong here.

We checked the documentation on 16 September 2026. Where OKX publishes a fact, we quote it. Where the rules document is silent — and on two material points it is — we say so rather than filling the gap.

Key takeaways

  • OKX states in its rules document that Simple Earn assets are pooled and loaned to borrowers on the platform, which may include borrowers under its loan programmes or margin traders. This is lending, not staking.
  • OKX takes 15% of accrued returns and passes 85% to the user, with part of the collected fees routed to internal security and risk funds.
  • Returns are distributed hourly based on lending supply in that hour; redeemed crypto earns nothing for the current hour and misses the next round.
  • There is generally no deposit or redemption limit on Simple Earn, though OKX reserves the right to adjust that.
  • On-chain Earn quotes APY net of fees, and carries an explicit disclaimer that OKX is not responsible for smart contract, security breach, hacking or third-party project losses.
  • OKX Europe Limited was authorised as a MiCA CASP on 27 January 2025, the first major exchange to hold one — but the EEA Simple Earn FAQ contains no regulatory detail at all.

At a glance

Simple Earn — what it is
A flexible lending product. User assets are pooled and loaned to borrowers on OKX, which may include margin traders.
Simple Earn — fee
15% of accrued returns to OKX, 85% to the user. Part of collected fees is routed to internal security and risk funds.
Distribution
Hourly, based on the lending supply during each hour
Limits
Generally no deposit or redemption limit; OKX reserves adjustment rights
Redemption
On demand. Redeemed crypto does not join the next hourly round and earns nothing for the current hour.
Assets
Described as "currently only supports a limited list of crypto". The list and the count are not published on the rules page.
On-chain Earn
Routes into PoS staking and third-party DeFi protocols — staking, liquidity provision, yield farming and lending. Quoted APY already includes all fees.
On-chain Earn disclaimer
OKX states it is not responsible for losses from smart contract vulnerabilities, security breaches, hacking incidents or third-party project risk
Licensing
MiCA CASP — OKX Europe Limited, authorised 27 January 2025, the first major exchange to obtain one
US position
February 2025 guilty plea by Aux Cayes FinTech to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business, approximately US$505 million in penalties; US platform relaunched roughly two months later
Not disclosed
How the Simple Earn APR is determined; the supported-asset list; whether Simple Earn is offered to EEA users post-MiCA; whether OKX US offers Earn

Checked 16 September 2026. All quoted terms are from OKX's own rules and help documentation.

What Simple Earn actually is

The disclosure is worth quoting in full, because it is the reason this page exists. OKX's rules document states that crypto assets from Simple Earn users "will be pooled and loaned to borrowers on our platform (which may include borrowers under our loan programmes or margin traders)."

That single sentence tells you everything the marketing does not. You are not receiving protocol rewards. You are not receiving a share of trading fees. You are a lender, your counterparty is a leveraged trader on the same exchange, and your yield is a credit spread. When borrowing demand is strong, the rate is strong. When nobody wants leverage, the rate collapses toward nothing, exactly as it does onon-chain lending markets when utilisation falls.

This is the same economic model that destroyed Celsius and BlockFi. The important difference is intermediation: those platforms lent to external institutional counterparties whose balance sheets nobody could see, and in Celsius's case took proprietary trading risk on top. OKX lends into its own margin book, where positions are collateralised and liquidated by the same venue holding the collateral. That is a materially better structure. It is not a risk-free one, and thehistory of CeFi lending failures is the right context to read it in.

Rates, and the condition attached to all of them

Returns are distributed hourly, calculated from the lending supply during each hour. That is a genuinely granular schedule and it reflects the underlying mechanism honestly: a lending book's economics change by the hour, and OKX pays as the book performs rather than smoothing it into a daily or weekly figure.

What OKX does not publish is how the advertised APR is arrived at. On Aave or Compound the supply rate is a stated function of utilisation, so you can verify it independently. On OKX the rate is a number the venue sets, and the rules document does not describe the determination method. There is also no published list of supported assets. The rules page says only that Simple Earn "currently only supports a limited list of crypto", without naming it or giving a count.

What OKX publishes about Simple Earn, and what it leaves out
The question a depositor should askWhat OKX's own documentation answers
Where does the yield come from?Stated: assets are pooled and loaned to borrowers on the platform, which may include margin traders
What does the venue take?Stated: 15% of accrued returns, with 85% to the user
How often am I paid?Stated: hourly, based on the lending supply in that hour
Can I get out?Stated: on demand, with no participation in the next hourly round and nothing earned for the current hour
Is there a minimum or a cap?Stated: generally none, subject to OKX’s right to adjust
How is the APR set?Not disclosed
Which assets are supported?Not published — described only as a limited list
Is Simple Earn available to EEA users post-MiCA?Not answered — the EEA FAQ contains no regulatory or entity detail
Does OKX US offer Earn?Unconfirmed — we could not verify it either way

Compiled from OKX's Simple Earn rules document, On-chain Earn help page and EEA Simple Earn FAQ, checked 16 September 2026.

The fee, and where part of it goes

OKX retains 15% of accrued returns and passes 85% to the user. Part of what it collects is routed into internal security and risk funds. Both halves of that sentence matter. The 15% figure is published and checkable, which puts OKX ahead of every venue that charges an undisclosed spread. And the risk-fund allocation is an explicit acknowledgement that a lending book can produce losses that need absorbing.

In context, 15% is mid-range. Binance publishes 10% on ETH staking, Kraken 25–30% on staking rewards, Coinbase 35% as standard, and KuCoin publishes no percentage at all. A cross-platform view of what each venue keeps sits in ourinterest rates comparison.

On-chain Earn: a different product with a different disclaimer

On-chain Earn combines proof-of-stake staking with routing into third-party DeFi protocols, covering staking, liquidity provision, yield farming and lending or borrowing. A service fee is charged on rewards, but OKX states that the APY displayed already includes all fees, so the figure you see is net. That is the right way to quote a yield and it is worth crediting.

The disclaimer is where On-chain Earn diverges sharply from Simple Earn. OKX states that it is not responsible for any losses arising from smart contract vulnerabilities, security breaches, hacking incidents, or risks associated with third-party projects. In plain terms: if the protocol your assets were routed into is exploited, that is your loss, not OKX's. This is the standard allocation of risk in routed DeFi products and it is honestly stated, but it means On-chain Earn is not a savings product in any sense a retail reader would recognise. Liquidity provision in particular carriesreceipt-token and depeg mechanics that behave very differently from a flexible balance.

Asset lists, minimums, reward frequency and redemption timelines for On-chain Earn appear on the product page only and are not verifiable without logging in. We are not going to reconstruct them.

Lock-up, redemption and the hourly edge case

Simple Earn is flexible. There is no lock-up, and OKX states there is generally no deposit or redemption limit, while reserving the right to adjust those terms. Redemption is on demand.

The one mechanical quirk is worth knowing. Because returns are calculated per hour on the lending supply during that hour, redeemed crypto does not participate in the next hourly lending round and earns nothing for the current hour. For a long-term holder this is noise. For someone cycling assets between the earn product and the trading account repeatedly through a day, it is a real drag that will not show up in any APR comparison.

Availability, licensing and the gaps in both

OKX Europe Limited was authorised as a MiCA CASP on 27 January 2025, making OKX the first major exchange to obtain one. Secondary sources name Malta's financial regulator as the granting authority; the tracker row we fetched did not name a regulator, so we present the authorisation as established and the regulator as reported rather than verified.

Being first matters less than what the authorisation covers. MiCA regulates the provision of crypto-asset services — conduct, governance, disclosure, custody arrangements and complaints. It does not guarantee a balance, and it does not make a lending product into a deposit. More awkwardly, we could not establish how Simple Earn is treated in the EEA at all: we fetched OKX's EEA Simple Earn FAQ and it contained no MiCA detail, no entity name and no regional specifics — only a generic notice that some content may not apply to all customers. For a page whose entire purpose is to explain the EEA position, that is a meaningful omission.

On the United States, the record is a matter of public enforcement. In February 2025 OKX's operating entity Aux Cayes FinTech pleaded guilty to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business and agreed to pay approximately US$505 million. A US platform relaunched roughly two months later. Whether that platform offers any Earn product we could not verify, and we treat US Earn availability as unconfirmed. Ouravailability by country page records the same distinction for every venue.

What works well

  • OKX names the mechanism in writing — pooled assets loaned to borrowers including margin traders — which almost no consumer venue does.
  • The fee is published as a clean split: 15% to OKX, 85% to the user.
  • Part of collected fees is explicitly routed to internal security and risk funds, acknowledging that lending books produce losses.
  • Hourly distribution matches the economics of a lending book rather than smoothing them into a marketing figure.
  • Generally no deposit or redemption limit, and redemption on demand.
  • On-chain Earn quotes APY net of all fees, and states its third-party risk disclaimer plainly instead of burying it.
  • MiCA CASP authorisation for OKX Europe Limited dated 27 January 2025, the first held by a major exchange.

What to watch

  • Simple Earn is credit risk on leveraged traders — the same economic model as the CeFi lenders that failed, even though it is better collateralised.
  • How the APR is determined is not disclosed, so the headline rate cannot be checked against any mechanical formula.
  • The supported-asset list and count are not published on the rules page.
  • The EEA Simple Earn FAQ contains no regulatory or entity detail, leaving the post-MiCA position for European users unclear.
  • Whether OKX US offers any Earn product is unconfirmed.
  • On-chain Earn disclaims responsibility for smart contract, hacking and third-party project losses — correctly, but that is the risk you carry.
  • The February 2025 guilty plea and approximately US$505 million in penalties are part of the record a depositor should weigh.

Risks specific to this platform

The first is that Simple Earn's yield and OKX's trading business rise and fall together. Your return comes from margin borrowers on the same venue. In a sharp drawdown, leverage unwinds, borrowing demand disappears, and the rate goes to almost nothing precisely when you might want to move assets elsewhere. The product is pro-cyclical by construction.

The second is discretion without a formula. Because the APR determination method is not published, there is no independent check on the rate. A DeFi lending market's supply rate can be recomputed by anyone from on-chain utilisation. An OKX rate cannot. That is not an accusation; it is the difference between a mechanism and a number.

The third is regulatory ambiguity in Europe. Holding the first major MiCA CASP authorisation and then publishing an EEA earn FAQ with no regulatory content in it is an odd combination. Until OKX states which entity offers Simple Earn to EEA residents and on what basis, European users cannot establish who their counterparty is.

How it compares to two alternatives on this site

Against Binance, the comparison is disclosure against breadth. Binance offers far more products — flexible and locked Simple Earn, ETH staking with its own receipt tokens, Launchpool and structured products — and publishes a 10% fee on ETH staking, which is lower than OKX's 15%. But Binance does not tell you where Simple Earn yield comes from, its flexible APR changes by the minute, and it failed to secure MiCA authorisation. OKX offers less and explains more, and in the EEA it is authorised where Binance is not.

Against Bybit, the gap is wider still. Both are derivatives-first exchanges whose savings products plausibly rest on the same margin-lending economics. OKX writes that down, publishes its fee and describes its redemption mechanics. Bybit's help centre and terms pages returned nothing at all when we tried to verify the legal nature of its product, its contracting entity or its fees. On rate, Bybit advertises a far higher number; on whether you can tell what you are buying, they are not close.

The verdict

OKX Simple Earn is a lending product that admits to being a lending product. That single quality makes it easier to assess than almost anything else on the exchange shelf, and it should be rewarded with attention rather than assumed to mean the product is safe. It is credit risk on leveraged traders, priced at a rate OKX sets by an undisclosed method, with a published 15% cut and no lock-up.

For a reader who understands that and wants exchange-side yield with clear mechanics, it is one of the more defensible options among the offshore majors. For a reader who wants a savings account, it is not one, and On-chain Earn is further from one still. The open questions — the asset list, the APR methodology and above all the EEA position — are the ones to watch. You can see how every other venue answers the same set on ourcrypto earn platforms comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Is OKX Simple Earn staking or lending?

Lending, and OKX says so in writing. Its rules document states that crypto assets from Simple Earn users will be pooled and loaned to borrowers on the platform, which may include borrowers under its loan programmes or margin traders. That is a credit product, not a protocol reward. It means your return depends on borrowers repaying and on OKX managing the collateral behind those positions, which is a different risk to the one you take when you stake. Our crypto lending guide explains how the two differ.

What fee does OKX charge on Simple Earn?

OKX takes 15% of accrued returns and passes 85% to the user. Part of the fees it collects is routed into internal security and risk funds. That is a clear, published number, and it sits between Binance at 10% on ETH staking and Kraken at 25–30% on staking rewards. The figure you see quoted as an APR is what remains after the split, but OKX does not explain how that APR is determined in the first place.

How often does OKX pay Simple Earn returns?

Hourly. Returns are distributed each hour based on the lending supply during that hour, which is an unusually granular schedule for a retail savings product. The corollary is on the way out: when you redeem, the crypto does not participate in the next hourly lending round and earns nothing for the current hour. Redemption is otherwise on demand, and OKX states there is generally no deposit or redemption limit while reserving the right to adjust that.

What is OKX On-chain Earn, and how is it different?

On-chain Earn is a separate product that routes assets into proof-of-stake staking and third-party DeFi protocols, covering staking, liquidity provision, yield farming and lending. The important difference is the risk disclaimer: OKX states it is not responsible for losses arising from smart contract vulnerabilities, security breaches, hacking incidents or risks associated with third-party projects. The quoted APY is net — OKX says the figure already includes all fees. See DeFi yield farming for what those protocols actually do.

Is OKX licensed in the European Union?

OKX Europe Limited received a MiCA CASP authorisation on 27 January 2025, making OKX the first major exchange to hold one. Secondary sources name Malta’s financial regulator as the granting authority; the authorisation tracker row we fetched did not name a regulator, so we do not state it as established fact. Separately, we could not confirm whether or how Simple Earn is offered to EEA users after MiCA, because the EEA Simple Earn FAQ contained no regulatory or entity detail at all.

What happened with OKX and the US Department of Justice?

In February 2025, OKX’s operating entity Aux Cayes FinTech pleaded guilty to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business and agreed to pay approximately US$505 million in penalties. OKX relaunched a US platform roughly two months later. We were not able to verify whether the US platform offers any Earn product, so treat US Earn availability as unconfirmed. Our regulation page tracks how enforcement has reshaped which products are offered where.

How does OKX decide the Simple Earn APR?

It does not say. The rules document describes the lending mechanism, the hourly distribution and the 15% fee split, but the method by which the advertised APR is determined is not disclosed. In a pool-based lending market the rate would normally be a published function of utilisation, as it is on Aave or Compound. Here it is a number OKX sets, and a rate set at a provider’s discretion can move without a mechanical reason you can check in advance.

Keep reading