Platform review
Ledn review: the lender that stopped paying on Bitcoin
In July 2025 Ledn gave up a revenue line on principle. It stopped paying interest on Bitcoin, dropped ETH entirely, and moved to a fully custodied bitcoin-only model. Almost nobody else has done this.
We are not affiliated with Ledn. Figures below come from Ledn's own savings page and help centre.
Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026

Every other review in this series is an exercise in finding out what a provider has not told you. This one is different, and it is worth saying so at the top. Ledn publishes the business that funds its yield, in a sentence, in its own help centre, and then prints a caveat against its own track record. That is not normal in this sector and it changes the shape of the analysis.
The other thing that makes Ledn unusual is what it gave up. Effective 1 July 2025 it discontinued its BTC and ETH Growth Accounts, which had paid up to around 4% APY, abandoned ETH-backed loans, and moved to a fully custodied bitcoin-only model. Chief executive Adam Reeds framed the decision in terms of the asset itself: Bitcoin, he said, "was created as a direct response to the risks of fractional reserve banking", and the company was moving away from "constantly reusing client assets to create leverage".
A lender that voluntarily stops rehypothecating client Bitcoin is choosing a smaller business. Whatever else you conclude about Ledn, that decision points in the opposite direction from the incentives that destroyed the CeFi lenders of 2022. What remains is a narrow product, and this page examines whether the narrow product stands up.
Key takeaways
- Ledn no longer pays interest on Bitcoin or Ethereum. BTC and ETH Growth Accounts were discontinued effective 1 July 2025, along with ETH-backed loans.
- The remaining product is USDC and USDT Growth Accounts, paying 6.5% APY below US$100,000 and 8.5% above. Rates are variable and availability varies by jurisdiction.
- Ledn states that Growth Account interest is entirely generated by lending to its overcollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loan book, with no DeFi protocols used.
- Ledn says that loan book has no history of loan losses since inception as of June 2026, and prints its own caveat that past performance does not guarantee future results.
- Interest accrues daily and is paid monthly in kind, with no minimum balance and no lock-up — you opt in and out by moving assets between the Growth and Transaction accounts.
- Accounts are ring-fenced by asset type through two Cayman SPVs, UC SA I Company and UT SA I Company. That structure has never been tested in an insolvency.
At a glance
- What it is
- A stablecoin savings account funded by lending to Ledn’s own bitcoin-backed retail loan book. You are a lender to Ledn, which on-lends against bitcoin collateral.
- Assets accepted
- USDC and USDT only. BTC and ETH Growth Accounts were discontinued on 1 July 2025.
- Rates
- 6.5% APY below US$100,000; 8.5% APY above US$100,000. Variable.
- Yield source
- Disclosed. Interest is entirely generated by lending to the overcollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loan book. No DeFi protocols used.
- Track record
- Ledn states no history of loan losses on the retail loan book since inception, as of June 2026, with its own past-performance caveat attached
- Accrual and payment
- Accrues daily, paid monthly in kind, typically on the first of the following month
- Minimum and lock-up
- None of either. Opt in and out by moving assets between the Growth Account and the non-interest-bearing Transaction Account.
- Ring-fencing
- Separate SPVs by asset type — UC SA I Company and UT SA I Company, both Cayman
- Regulation
- Ledn Cayman SEZC Inc. registered with CIMA as a VASP; platform operated by 21 Technologies Inc.; Ledn Global PA Capital Inc. (Panama) issues Dual Cryptocurrency Notes; Ledn EEC, S.L. (Spain) has a MiCA application in progress with the CNMV, not yet granted
- Assurance
- SOC 2 Type 2 certified; monthly proof of reserves via Chainalysis
- Not published
- Fees; minimum overcollateralisation and liquidation thresholds on the loan book; US and UK availability; whether interest compounds
Checked 16 September 2026. There is no deposit insurance behind a Growth Account balance.
What changed on 1 July 2025
The restructure is easiest to read as a before-and-after. Ledn did not trim a product line; it removed the parts of the business that required reusing client assets.
| Element | Until 1 July 2025 | From 1 July 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| BTC Growth Account | Paid interest, up to around 4% APY | Discontinued |
| ETH Growth Account | Paid interest | Discontinued |
| ETH-backed loans | Offered | Dropped |
| Client bitcoin | Could be reused to generate yield | Fully custodied, bitcoin-only model |
| Stablecoin Growth Accounts | Offered alongside BTC and ETH | The only interest-bearing product |
Compiled from Ledn's help centre and public reporting of the May 2025 announcement, checked 16 September 2026.
Which engine is paying you, and how we know
Ledn's statement is worth reading closely: interest for USDC and USDT Growth Accounts is entirely generated by lending to Ledn's bitcoin-backed retail loan book, which is overcollateralised and which Ledn says has a proven track record with no history of loan losses since inception. No DeFi protocols are used.
Four things are packed into that sentence, and each of them is a claim a reader can test against the rate. The word "entirely" rules out a blend of subsidised and real yield. The word "retail" identifies the borrower type, which matters enormously — Celsius and Genesis lent to institutional counterparties whose leverage nobody could see, while a retail bitcoin-backed loan is an individual borrowing against collateral held by the lender. "Overcollateralised" describes the protection. And the explicit exclusion of DeFi protocols removes smart-contract risk from the picture entirely, which is the risk OKX's On-chain Earn disclaims responsibility for.
Set against the benchmark, the numbers make sense. A three-month US Treasury bill yielded 3.97% on 15 September 2026 and supplying USDC to Aave v3 on Ethereum returned 3.57% on 16 September 2026. Ledn pays 6.5% and 8.5%. The two to five points of spread over the risk-free rate is the compensation for taking credit and structural risk on a Cayman lender rather than holding government paper, and it is a plausible spread for a collateralised consumer loan book rather than an implausible one. Anything paying far more than this, as our stablecoin yield page sets out, is being funded by something other than lending.
Fees, terms and getting your money back
Interest accrues daily and is paid monthly, typically on the first day of the following month, in kind. Payment in kind is a quiet virtue. Platforms that pay rewards in a native token hand you price risk in an asset issued by the same counterparty you are lending to; Ledn pays you more of the stablecoin you deposited. Whether interest compounds once paid is not addressed in Ledn's documentation.
There is no minimum balance and no lock-up. You opt into interest by moving assets into the Growth Account and opt out by moving them into the Transaction Account, which pays nothing. That is about as simple as a savings product gets, and it means the US$100,000 figure is a rate boundary rather than an entry ticket — a third-party review claiming a US$100,000 Growth minimum is contradicted by Ledn's own help centre.
The SPV structure, and its honest limits
Ledn ring-fences accounts by asset type using two Cayman special purpose vehicles: UC SA I Company and UT SA I Company. Ledn says this isolates holders from the risk of other products and from Ledn insolvency risk. Structurally, that is a genuine improvement over the single undifferentiated balance sheet that Celsius, BlockFi and Voyager all ran, where every customer of every product was a creditor of the same pot.
Two limits need stating with the same clarity. First, the structure has never been tested in an insolvency. Ring-fencing that works on paper can be challenged, consolidated or unwound by a court, and no one knows how these particular vehicles would hold up until it happens. Second, a Cayman SPV gives an EU or UK retail customer no local recourse. If something went wrong, the forum would be Cayman, not your own jurisdiction, and that is a practical barrier regardless of how the legal question resolves. Therecord of what happened to CeFi lending customersis the right frame for judging how much comfort to take.
Regulation, availability and what the registrations cover
Ledn Cayman SEZC Inc. is registered with the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority as a Virtual Asset Service Provider, and the platform is operated by 21 Technologies Inc. A separate Panamanian entity, Ledn Global PA Capital Inc., issues Dual Cryptocurrency Notes. In Spain, Ledn EEC, S.L. was previously registered with the Bank of Spain and has a MiCA licence application in progress with the CNMV that has not yet been granted.
That last point is the one to hold onto. Ledn does not currently hold a MiCA CASP authorisation. An application in progress is not an authorisation, and the pre-MiCA Bank of Spain registration was an anti-money-laundering registration rather than a prudential licence. A VASP registration with CIMA is likewise a registration for supervision purposes, not a solvency regime and not a guarantee of any kind.
On assurance, Ledn is SOC 2 Type 2 certified and publishes monthly proof of reserves via Chainalysis, though we were not able to verify the full methodology in this pass. Monthly third-party proof of reserves is more than most consumer lenders offer, and a SOC 2 Type 2 report covers operating controls over a period rather than a single date. Neither is an audit of solvency. US and UK availability we could not verify; a third-party source lists the EU, UK, Asia, Latin America, Africa, the Gulf and Canada with some US product restrictions, and we have not been able to confirm that from Ledn directly. Ouravailability tracker records only what each provider states.
What works well
- The yield source is disclosed precisely — interest is entirely generated by lending to an overcollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loan book, with no DeFi protocols used.
- Ledn gave up BTC and ETH interest income on 1 July 2025 rather than continue reusing client assets, which is the opposite of the behaviour that destroyed the 2022 CeFi lenders.
- The rate rises with balance size — 6.5% below US$100,000 and 8.5% above — which is consistent with a real funding need rather than a promotional quota.
- No minimum balance, no lock-up, and a one-click opt in and out between the Growth and Transaction accounts.
- Interest is paid in kind, so you are not handed price exposure to a platform token.
- SOC 2 Type 2 certification and monthly proof of reserves via Chainalysis.
- Accounts are ring-fenced by asset type through separate SPVs rather than pooled on a single balance sheet.
- Ledn prints its own past-performance caveat beside its no-loss track record instead of leaving the claim unqualified.
What to watch
- No Bitcoin yield at all, which makes Ledn irrelevant to readers whose goal is income on BTC.
- Only two assets are supported — USDC and USDT.
- Fees are not published on the pages we could fetch.
- The SPV ring-fencing has never been tested in an insolvency, and Cayman vehicles give EU and UK retail customers no local recourse.
- No MiCA CASP authorisation — the Spanish application is in progress with the CNMV and has not been granted.
- Minimum overcollateralisation and liquidation thresholds for the loan book are not stated.
- Whether interest compounds once paid is not addressed in Ledn’s documentation.
- US and UK availability could not be verified from Ledn directly.
- There is no deposit insurance, and custody insurance of any kind would not cover lending losses.
Risks specific to this platform
The first is single-engine concentration. Ledn's entire yield depends on demand for bitcoin-backed retail loans. That is a virtue in terms of legibility and a risk in terms of diversification: if borrowing demand falls — which it does in quiet markets, when nobody wants leverage — the rate falls with it. Ledn cannot substitute another source without abandoning the disclosure that makes it distinctive.
The second is the limit of overcollateralisation. It protects against an ordinary borrower default, because the lender holds collateral worth more than the loan. It does not protect against a gap-down liquidation cascade, where prices fall faster than positions can be closed and the collateral realises less than the loan. Bitcoin is exactly the kind of asset that produces those conditions. Ledn's help centre does not state minimum overcollateralisation ratios or liquidation thresholds for the Growth book, so a reader cannot judge how much cushion sits between a drawdown and a loss.
The third is the no-loss record itself. Ledn states there have been no loan losses since inception as of June 2026, and to its credit attaches the caveat that past performance does not guarantee future results. That caveat should be taken at full weight. A clean record on a collateralised book means the collateral has always been sufficient in the conditions encountered so far. It is evidence of competent underwriting, not evidence that a tail event has been priced.
How it compares to two alternatives on this site
Against Nexo, the contrast is close to total. Nexo advertises higher headline numbers — 9.5% or 12.5% on USDT depending on conditions — and builds them from a base rate plus a loyalty tier plus a bonus for taking interest in its own token plus a fixed-term uplift, requires a US$5,000 portfolio before paying anything, and does not explain where the yield comes from. Ledn advertises 6.5% and 8.5%, requires nothing, pays in kind and names the loan book. Nexo's ceiling is higher; Ledn's floor is knowable. For a reader who intends to hold a stablecoin balance for a year rather than optimise a tier, knowing the engine is worth more than two points of advertised rate.
Against an exchange savings product such as Bybit, the comparison barely functions. Bybit's flexible USDT rate above 1,000 USDT is 0.28%, its terms pages returned nothing when we tried to read them, and its custody perimeter absorbed a US$1.4 billion exploit in February 2025. The relevant question is not which pays more but whether you can establish what claim you hold. On Ledn you can, and it is a loan to a Cayman entity ring-fenced in an SPV, funded into a named book. That is a specific, assessable position rather than an unknown one.
The verdict
Ledn is the narrowest product in this comparison set and the best documented. It does one thing — pay a stablecoin rate out of a bitcoin-backed retail loan book — and it tells you that is what it does, in writing, with the caveats attached. In a sector where the most common answer to "where does the yield come from" is silence, that is worth a great deal.
None of which makes it safe. It is an unsecured stablecoin loan to an offshore lender, with no deposit insurance, no MiCA authorisation, an untested ring-fencing structure and undisclosed collateral thresholds. Those are real risks and they are the reason the rate is 6.5% rather than 3.97%. The difference between Ledn and most of the field is not that the risk is absent, but that you can see it clearly enough to decide whether you want it. If you came here looking for Bitcoin income, the honest answer is that Ledn deliberately stopped offering it and our Bitcoin yield and BTCfi page explains why so few credible options remain. Everything else we have examined sits on thecrypto earn platforms comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Does Ledn still pay interest on Bitcoin?
No. Effective 1 July 2025 Ledn discontinued its BTC and ETH Growth Accounts, dropped ETH-backed loans and moved to a fully custodied bitcoin-only model. Bitcoin held with Ledn now sits in custody and earns nothing. Any 2026 review quoting a BTC yield figure is contradicted by Ledn’s own help centre, and you should not rely on it. Why Bitcoin yield is structurally scarce is covered in earn Bitcoin.
What rate do Ledn Growth Accounts pay?
Ledn publishes two bands on USDC and USDT Growth Accounts: 6.5% APY on balances below US$100,000 and 8.5% APY above US$100,000. Unusually, the higher rate sits on the larger balance rather than the smaller one, which is the opposite of the capped promotional tiers that exchanges use. Rates are variable and availability varies by jurisdiction. Both bands sit above the three-month US Treasury bill, which was 3.97% on 15 September 2026 — that spread is the credit risk you are being paid for.
Where does Ledn’s yield actually come from?
Ledn states it plainly: interest for USDC and USDT Growth Accounts is entirely generated by lending to Ledn’s bitcoin-backed retail loan book, which is overcollateralised and which Ledn says has no history of loan losses since inception. No DeFi protocols are used. Ledn also prints its own caveat that past performance does not guarantee future results. That is the clearest yield-source disclosure of any consumer lender we have reviewed; the mechanism itself is explained in crypto lending.
Is there a minimum balance or a lock-up on a Ledn Growth Account?
Neither. Ledn’s help centre states there is no minimum balance and no lock-up: you opt in and out by moving assets between the Growth Account, which earns interest, and the Transaction Account, which does not. A third-party review claiming a US$100,000 Growth minimum is contradicted by Ledn’s own documentation — the US$100,000 figure is the boundary between the two rate bands, not an entry requirement.
What are the Ledn SPVs, and do they protect me?
Ledn ring-fences accounts by asset type through two Cayman special purpose vehicles, UC SA I Company and UT SA I Company, which it says isolate holders from other products’ risk and from Ledn insolvency risk. Structurally that is a real improvement on a single undifferentiated balance sheet. It has not been tested in an insolvency, and a Cayman SPV gives an EU or UK retail customer no local recourse. Treat it as a better design, not as a guarantee.
Is Ledn regulated?
Ledn Cayman SEZC Inc. is registered with the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority as a Virtual Asset Service Provider, and the platform is operated by 21 Technologies Inc. Ledn Global PA Capital Inc. in Panama issues Dual Cryptocurrency Notes. Ledn EEC, S.L. in Spain was previously registered with the Bank of Spain and has a MiCA licence application in progress with the CNMV that has not yet been granted. Ledn is SOC 2 Type 2 certified and publishes monthly proof of reserves via Chainalysis.
How is interest paid on a Ledn Growth Account?
Interest accrues daily and is paid monthly, typically on the first day of the following month, in kind — you receive more of the same stablecoin rather than a different token. Ledn’s documentation does not address whether interest compounds once paid. Paying in kind matters more than it sounds: platforms that pay rewards in their own token are handing you price risk in an asset issued by the same counterparty, which Ledn does not do.
Keep reading
Nexo review
Higher advertised rates, a four-part rate stack and no disclosed yield source.
Earn Bitcoin
Why BTC yield is structurally scarce, and what the remaining honest options look like.
Crypto lending explained
Overcollateralisation, liquidation risk and why a spread is a credit decision.
Stablecoin yield
The four engines behind a dollar return, and what each one costs you.
All earn platforms
Every venue we have examined, with engine, fee and licensing side by side.
What happened to CeFi lenders
Celsius, BlockFi, Voyager and Genesis — and the recovery detail nobody explains.