Skip to content
cryptoearn.guide

Geography

Where you can actually use crypto earn products

Marketing pages describe global availability. Supported-country tables, regulatory registers and enforcement orders describe something narrower. This page maps the second one, provider by provider.

Partner link to CEX.IO. Earn is not available to US residents and the UK is not listed as supported. Verify with the provider before signing up.

Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026

30
Territories CEX.IO does not support at platform level, which necessarily excludes Earn
4
US states where Coinbase accepts no new staking principal
28
Jurisdictions Bitget lists as restricted, including Austria, France and Germany
1 Jul 2026
End of MiCA national transitional periods for EEA customers

Availability is the first filter on any earn product and the one most comparison tables skip. A rate you cannot access is not a rate. The purpose of this page is a single verified matrix ofcrypto earn availability — which providers exclude which regions, stated in their own documentation, in a regulator's register or in an enforcement order. Where we could not verify a position, the cell says so rather than guessing.

Two caveats belong at the top rather than the bottom. First, these restrictions change monthly. In the twelve months to 16 September 2026 at least six of the providers below changed a regional position. Second, absence from a supported-country list is weaker evidence than an explicit exclusion, and this page distinguishes between the two throughout. The statutory reasons behind the changes are set out separately onthe regulation of crypto yield; this page deals only with who is served where.

Key takeaways

  • CEX.IO Earn is not available to US residents, and the UK does not appear in its Earn supported-country table despite UK FCA registration for spot trading.
  • Coinbase accepts no new staking principal in California, Maryland, New Jersey and Wisconsin; New York staking launched 8 October 2025 and EEA staking of AVAX and XTZ was discontinued on 26 November 2025.
  • KuCoin Earn is closed to US users, and a CFTC order of 31 March 2026 permanently barred the operator from the US.
  • Bitget restricted Austria, France and Germany when MiCA transitional periods ended on 1 July 2026, and announced a full Japan withdrawal on 3 August 2026.
  • A MiCA licence does not imply access: Gate holds a Maltese CASP licence passportable across 30 EEA states while its global platform still blocks several EU countries.
  • Every entry here should be re-checked with the provider — supported-country tables are updated without notice and this matrix was checked on one day.

The availability matrix

The table lists only positions we could trace to a provider statement, a regulator's register or a published enforcement action. The final column is deliberate: knowing that a provider does not publish its state-level eligibility is more useful than an invented answer, and several of the largest venues here fall into that category.

Crypto earn availability by provider and region — verified exclusions only
ProviderUnited StatesUnited KingdomEEA / EUOther verified restrictionsNot verified
CEX.IO EarnNot available. CEX.IO states that Savings and Staking services are not currently available to customers in the US.Not listed as a supported territory in the Earn country table, despite UK FCA registration for spot trading.Listed as supported across all 27 EU member states. No MiCA CASP authorisation was verifiable in this research.Around 250 countries supported, with identical lists for Savings and Staking. Platform-level exclusions cover 30 territories including Canada, Japan, Singapore, Puerto Rico, Guam and the US Virgin Islands.Whether the UK is barred or merely unlisted. India appears on the unsupported platform list and the supported Earn list simultaneously.
CoinbaseStaking available, with no new principal accepted in California, Maryland, New Jersey and Wisconsin. New York staking launched 8 October 2025. Washington permitted, stated as subject to change.Served. USDC rewards require a Coinbase One subscription.MiCA CASP held by Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., granted by the CSSF on 20 June 2025. AVAX and XTZ staking discontinued 26 November 2025.USDC rewards are Coinbase One-only in the US, UK, Australia, Singapore, Andorra, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man and Jersey. Open to roughly 100 further eligible countries.Current status of the June 2023 state actions. Per-asset staking APYs are not published.
Binance (global)Restrictions apply and vary by product. Binance.US is a separate entity with its own staking products.Restrictions apply and vary by product.Not in the ESMA CASP register as of September 2026. Withdrew a Greek licence application on 24 June 2026. Around 26 June 2026 it told EU users it could no longer accept new registrations and would restrict services ahead of 1 July 2026.Restrictions also apply in Canada, Australia and India, varying by product. Launchpool and related programmes are separately geo-gated.Which specific Earn products stopped for EEA users. Binance.US state exclusions are absent from its own staking FAQ.
KrakenUS staking relaunched 30 January 2025, roughly two years after the February 2023 SEC settlement.Served.MiCA CASP held by Payward Europe Solutions Limited, authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland on 25 June 2025.Opt-In Rewards is not available in the US, the EEA and certain other regions — a notable carve-out given the EEA is otherwise served.The relaunched product’s asset list and US state exclusions; per-asset unbonding durations.
BybitRestricted.Returned December 2025 through a partnership with FCA-authorised Archax — spot only, no derivatives.Served through a separate Bybit EU entity rather than the global platform.Around 14 restricted jurisdictions: USA, Canada, Chinese Mainland, Hong Kong, Singapore, Uzbekistan, Iran, Syria, Dubai on the global platform, Sudan, North Korea, Cuba and Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk and Sevastopol. India returned September 2025.The restricted-jurisdiction list in the Easy Earn terms, the contracting entity and the custody model.
KuCoinUS users are explicitly prohibited from KuCoin Earn. KuCoin pleaded guilty to DOJ charges on 28 January 2025, paid roughly $297m and agreed to exit the US for at least two years. A CFTC order of 31 March 2026 permanently barred the operator from the US.Not stated in the sources checked.MiCA CASP held by KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH, authorised 27 November 2025.Not enumerated in the sources checked.Which national regulator issued the CASP authorisation; standard fee percentage and per-product minimums.
BitgetRestricted, including US territories.Access is via the FCA-regulated Archax partnership rather than a Bitget licence.No MiCA CASP licence. A Vienna entity has an application pending with the Austrian FMA. When the transition ended on 1 July 2026 Bitget restricted Austria, France and Germany and set offboarding deadlines for existing customers.28 restricted jurisdictions including Canada, Japan, Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaysia and Kazakhstan. A full Japan withdrawal was announced on 3 August 2026, with positions closing by year end.Simple Earn Flexible assets, APRs and minimums; exact early-redemption penalties.
GateRestricted on the global platform. Gate US is a separate entity with FinCEN MSB registration, spot trading in around 30 states and no derivatives.Restricted on the global platform.MiCA CASP from Malta’s MFSA in October 2025, passportable across 30 EEA states — yet the global platform still blocks several EU countries. The licensed EU service and the global platform are separate perimeters.More than 30 restricted jurisdictions on the global platform including Canada, France, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Austria, Malta, Singapore, Japan, South Korea, India, Chinese Mainland, Hong Kong and the UAE. Restrictions applied "in its absolute discretion".The exact MiCA-licensed entity name; minimums, asset count and commission taken.
MEXCProhibited.Prohibited. The FCA placed MEXC Global Ltd on its Warning List as an unauthorised firm.No MiCA CASP licence and not in the ESMA register as of September 2026. The Dutch AFM issued a public warning on 16 September 2025 that MEXC Global provides crypto-asset services in the Netherlands without the required licence.Also prohibits Canada, Singapore, Hong Kong, Mainland China and Kazakhstan, plus sanctioned states and occupied Ukrainian regions. Estonia’s FIU revoked a MEXC entity licence in November 2023; the Hong Kong SFC added MEXC to an alert list in March 2024.Per-asset rate table, promotional quota caps and whether Earn is accessible without KYC.
OKXAux Cayes FinTech pleaded guilty in February 2025 to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business and agreed to pay around $505m. A US platform relaunched roughly two months later.Not stated in the sources checked.The EEA Simple Earn FAQ contained no MiCA, entity or regional detail — only a generic notice.Not enumerated in the sources checked.Whether OKX US offers any Earn product, and whether Simple Earn is offered to EEA users post-MiCA. Treat both as unconfirmed.
Crypto.comReported as available in all states except New York. US stablecoin rewards appear to have been discontinued.Not verified.MiCA CASP authorised in Malta by the MFSA in January 2025, plus a limited financial institution licence in Europe.Token availability and rates stated to vary by jurisdiction.State-by-state Earn eligibility; UK FCA registration status; staking commission rate.
NexoExited the US in December 2022 and settled with the SEC and state regulators for $45m in January 2023. Re-entered the US in April 2025, delivered through an infrastructure partnership with Bakkt. No supported-state list is published.Not verified — no FCA registration was found on any page fetched.Not MiCA authorised. No CASP register entry as of 2 September 2026; an application was filed with the Bulgarian Financial Supervision Commission in February 2026, with EEA clients served via licensed partners in the interim.Not enumerated in the sources checked.Supported US states; per-tier savings rates; yield source.
Uphold (staking)Available except in California, Louisiana and Washington State, plus American Samoa. In practice this is a US-minus-three-states product.Not available.Not available in the EU or the EEA, nor in Switzerland.Also excluded: Canada, Japan, Singapore, Australia, Cyprus and South Africa, among others.The specific US money transmitter licence list; per-asset APYs, which the staking page shows as placeholders.
Xapo BankNot verified. Xapo has historically restricted US availability.Not verified.Not verified.Licensed in Gibraltar under the Financial Services Act 2019. US dollar deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the USD equivalent of £120,000; crypto balances are expressly not covered.Geographic availability and the membership fee are not stated on the pages fetched.
LednNot verified. A third-party source refers to "some US product restrictions".Not verified.Ledn EEC, S.L. in Spain was previously registered with the Bank of Spain; a MiCA licence application is in progress with the CNMV and has not been granted.Ledn Cayman SEZC Inc. is registered with CIMA as a virtual asset service provider. Growth accounts are ring-fenced in Cayman SPVs.US and UK availability; fees; proof-of-reserves methodology.
BitpandaNot verified — Bitpanda is an EU-focused operator.Not verified.MiCAR licence from Germany’s BaFin announced 27 January 2025, passportable across 27 EU states. Austrian residents were excluded from stablecoin yield until 2026.The stablecoin product is offered by Bitpanda GmbH in Vienna and is expressly described by Bitpanda as an unregulated product.The licensed entity named in the BaFin announcement; staking commission per asset; UK and US availability.
SwissBorgNot verified.Not verified.MiCA CASP granted by France’s AMF in March 2026, passportable EU-wide.Not enumerated in the sources checked.US and UK availability; per-tier token thresholds; the fee schedule.
YouHodlerNot served.YouHodler states it does not have a regulated UK entity.Italian OAM and Spanish Banco de España registrations are pre-MiCA legacy VASP registrations. No MiCA CASP authorisation was identified.Registered as a financial intermediary with the VQF self-regulatory organisation in Switzerland, and with the CNV in Argentina.The official live rate table — both savings pages returned 404 on fetch. Payout frequency and minimums.

Compiled from provider supported-country tables and help centres, the ESMA CASP register, FCA, AFM, CFTC, DOJ and SEC publications. Checked 16 September 2026. Restrictions change frequently — confirm with the provider before depositing.

The United States: three different kinds of exclusion

US availability is not one question. It splits into federal enforcement history, state-level securities positions, and product-level withdrawals, and those three produce very different maps.

Enforcement has removed some venues outright. KuCoin pleaded guilty to Department of Justice charges on 28 January 2025, paid roughly $297m and agreed to exit the US market for at least two years; a CFTC order of 31 March 2026 then permanently barred the operator. OKX's operating entity, Aux Cayes FinTech, pleaded guilty in February 2025 to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business and agreed to pay around $505m, relaunching a US platform roughly two months later — though whether that platform offers any Earn product could not be verified. Movement runs the other way too: Nexo left the US in December 2022, settled for $45m in January 2023 and re-entered in April 2025, and Kraken relaunched US staking on 30 January 2025 after its own February 2023 settlement.

US state-level restrictions that are documented

Coinbase — no new staking principal
California, Maryland, New Jersey and Wisconsin. Existing stakers keep earning, but rewards are not restaked and do not compound. A legacy of state securities actions filed 6 June 2023.
Coinbase — permitted, flagged
Washington remains permitted, described by Coinbase as subject to change.
Coinbase — New York
Staking launched 8 October 2025 following state approval, covering ETH, SOL and others. No APY figures were published in the announcement.
Coinbase — stated cost
Coinbase has publicly argued the four remaining state restrictions cost users around $90m in foregone staking rewards.
Uphold — staking excluded
California, Louisiana and Washington State, plus American Samoa — which makes it, in practice, a US-minus-three-states product.
Crypto.com
Reported as available in all states except New York; the state-by-state Earn eligibility list is not published.

Where a provider does not publish a state list — Binance.US and Nexo among them — the correct reading is that the answer is undisclosed.

The third kind of exclusion is product-level and is easy to miss because the account still works. US stablecoin rewards at Crypto.com appear to have been discontinued, consistent with the prohibition on payment-stablecoin yield. Kraken's Opt-In Rewards is not available in the US at all, even though the rest of the platform is. Coinbase's USDC rewards became a Coinbase One subscription benefit from 15 December 2025, so a free-tier US customer now earns nothing on USDC. None of those removes access to the venue; each removes access to a product. The rate tables oncrypto interest rates note the conditions where they apply.

The European Economic Area after the transition

The single most consequential date in this table is 1 July 2026, when national transitional periods under MiCA ended and firms serving EEA customers needed authorisation. The outcomes split into three groups.

  • Authorised and serving. Coinbase holds a CASP authorisation through Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., granted by the CSSF on 20 June 2025. Kraken holds one through Payward Europe Solutions Limited, authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland on 25 June 2025. Crypto.com was authorised in Malta in January 2025, Bitpanda under a BaFin MiCAR licence announced on 27 January 2025, SwissBorg by France's AMF in March 2026, and KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH on 27 November 2025.
  • Unauthorised and restricted. Bitget has no CASP licence, has an application pending with the Austrian FMA, and restricted Austria, France and Germany when the transition ended. Binance is not in the ESMA register, withdrew its Greek application on 24 June 2026 and told EU users around 26 June 2026 that it could no longer accept new registrations.
  • Unauthorised and still reachable. MEXC holds no CASP licence and was not in the ESMA register as of September 2026, yet remained technically accessible in EEA countries. The Dutch AFM issued a public warning on 16 September 2025 that MEXC Global was providing crypto-asset services in the Netherlands without the required licence. This is the most significant regulatory gap in the table.

Two EEA-specific product withdrawals also belong here. Coinbase discontinued AVAX and XTZ staking for EEA users on 26 November 2025, closing new staking and auto-unstaking existing balances after a transition period, with other assets unaffected. And Kraken's Opt-In Rewards is unavailable in the EEA. Neither is a licensing failure; both are choices about specific assets and products.

The United Kingdom: partnerships and warning lists

The UK picture is the most fragmented of the three regions, because several providers reach it through third parties rather than their own permissions. Bybit returned in December 2025 through a partnership with FCA-authorised Archax, spot only and no derivatives. Bitget's UK access runs through the same Archax arrangement rather than a Bitget licence. Coinbase and Kraken serve the UK directly, with Coinbase requiring a Coinbase One subscription for USDC rewards — a requirement that also applies in Australia, Singapore, Andorra, Gibraltar, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and Jersey.

On the other side, MEXC prohibits UK users and sits on the FCA Warning List as an unauthorised firm; Gate restricts the UK on its global platform; Uphold does not offer staking in the UK; and YouHodler states directly that it does not have a regulated UK entity. CEX.IO is the ambiguous case: it holds UK FCA registration and offers spot trading, but the UK does not appear in its Earn supported-country table. We record that as unlisted rather than excluded, because the two are not the same evidential claim, and a reader who needs certainty would have to ask support. Provider-by-provider detail sits in the platform comparisonand the individual reviews it links to.

How to read a supported-country table

Availability claims come in four evidential grades, and conflating them is how most comparison pages go wrong. Ranking them is the single most useful skill for reading this material.

  1. An explicit exclusion. The provider names the territory and says the product is unavailable there. CEX.IO stating that Savings and Staking are not currently available to customers in the US is this grade, as is KuCoin stating that US users are prohibited from Earn. This is the strongest evidence available short of a regulator's order.
  2. An enforcement order or register entry. A CFTC order permanently barring an operator, an AFM public warning, or the absence of an entity from the ESMA CASP register are facts recorded by a third party rather than claims made by the firm. They are strong evidence about legal standing, though they do not always translate directly into whether a page loads for a given user.
  3. Absence from a supported list. Weaker, and frequently misread. The UK does not appear in CEX.IO's Earn supported-country table, which is not the same statement as the UK being barred. A list can be incomplete or stale. This page records that case as unlisted.
  4. Silence. Several providers publish nothing usable. Binance.US does not address state exclusions in its own staking FAQ. Nexo publishes no supported-state list. Xapo Bank does not state geographic availability on the pages fetched, and the availability of Ledn, SwissBorg and Bitpanda in the US and UK could not be verified. Silence is a finding in its own right, and it is why the final column of the matrix exists.

A fifth complication cuts across all four: the entity. Bybit serves the EEA through a separate Bybit EU entity rather than the global platform, Gate operates a separate US entity with FinCEN registration and around 30 states of spot coverage, and CEX.IO's favourable custody language sits in the terms of its US entity — which is the one entity that cannot use Earn at all. The question is never simply whether a brand serves your country. It is which company would hold your assets, under which country's law, and whether that company offers the product you are looking at.

Deposit protection is a separate question from availability

Being able to access a product says nothing about what protects it. Across every provider in this research there is exactly one deposit guarantee: Xapo Bank, licensed in Gibraltar under the Financial Services Act 2019, states that US dollar deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the US dollar equivalent of £120,000, and that crypto balances are not covered. Everywhere else, availability and protection are unrelated. CEX.IO's own risk warning states that assets may not be protected by any compensation scheme, insurance arrangement or other loss-protection mechanism. Bitpanda describes its stablecoin product as an unregulated product to which no deposit protection applies. Those are among the more honest disclosures in the sector, and they make the same point from opposite directions: the question of what happens if the provider fails is answered in the risk ranking, not on a supported-countries page.

The practical sequence, then, runs in three steps rather than one. Confirm that the product is available to a resident of your country, for the specific entity that would hold your account. Confirm what protection, if any, applies — usually none. Only then compare rates, using the conditions rather than the headline figures. Products, regions and rates all move; the order of those questions does not. For the underlying models behind each product, where to earn crypto and stablecoin yield cover the mechanics that geography alone cannot explain.

Frequently asked questions

Are crypto savings accounts available in the USA?

Some are, and the map is uneven rather than binary. Nexo re-entered the US in April 2025 through an infrastructure partnership after exiting in December 2022, and Uphold staking is available in every US state except California, Louisiana and Washington. Kraken relaunched US staking on 30 January 2025. Against that, KuCoin Earn is explicitly closed to US users and a CFTC order of 31 March 2026 permanently barred the operator, Bitget restricts the US and its territories, and CEX.IO Earn is not available to US residents. Coinbase staking operates nationwide except for four states where no new principal is accepted.

Is CEX.IO Earn available in the US or the UK?

CEX.IO states plainly that Savings and Staking services are not currently available to customers in the United States. The United Kingdom is a different case: the UK does not appear in the Earn supported-country table, even though CEX.IO holds UK FCA registration and offers spot trading there. Absence from a list is weaker evidence than an explicit exclusion, so we describe it as unlisted rather than barred. Around 250 countries are supported for Earn, with 30 territories unsupported at platform level, including Canada, Japan and Singapore.

What changed for EU users on 1 July 2026?

That was the end of the national transitional periods under MiCA, after which a firm serving EEA customers needed authorisation. The effects were provider-specific. Bitget, which holds no CASP licence, restricted Austria, France and Germany and set offboarding deadlines. Binance was not in the ESMA register, withdrew a Greek licence application on 24 June 2026 and told EU users it would restrict services. Others had already been authorised. The statutory background is described on the regulation page rather than repeated here.

Can UK residents stake crypto on exchanges?

Several routes exist. Kraken and Coinbase both serve the UK, with Coinbase requiring a Coinbase One subscription for USDC rewards. Bybit returned to the UK in December 2025 through a partnership with FCA-authorised Archax, spot only and no derivatives, and Bitget access runs through the same Archax arrangement rather than a Bitget licence. Against that, MEXC prohibits UK users and appears on the FCA Warning List, Gate restricts the UK on its global platform, Uphold staking is not available, and YouHodler states it has no regulated UK entity.

Which US states restrict crypto staking?

Two different patterns show up in the verified data. Coinbase accepts no new staking principal in California, Maryland, New Jersey and Wisconsin, a legacy of state securities actions filed on 6 June 2023; existing stakers keep earning but rewards are not restaked and do not compound. Washington remains permitted, stated as subject to change, and New York staking launched on 8 October 2025. Separately, Uphold excludes California, Louisiana and Washington State from staking. Coinbase has publicly argued the four remaining state restrictions cost users around $90m in foregone rewards.

Why do exchanges restrict so many countries?

Three distinct reasons show up in the documentation, and they are worth separating. Licensing: a firm without authorisation in a region has to leave it, which is what happened to Bitget in Austria, France and Germany. Enforcement: KuCoin agreed to exit the US after a guilty plea, and OKX’s operating entity pleaded guilty to running an unlicensed money transmitting business. Sanctions and policy: every provider here blocks the same short list of sanctioned states. The three carry very different signals about the firm.

How often do these restrictions change?

Frequently enough that any table, including this one, should be treated as a starting point. In the twelve months to 16 September 2026 alone: Bybit returned to the UK, Coinbase launched staking in New York and discontinued two assets in the EEA, Coinbase paywalled USDC rewards from 15 December 2025, Bitget restricted three EU countries and announced a Japan withdrawal, and KuCoin’s US bar was made permanent. The only reliable check is the provider’s own supported-countries page at the moment of signing up.

Does a MiCA licence mean a platform serves my country?

Not necessarily, and Gate is the clearest illustration. Gate holds a MiCA CASP licence from Malta’s MFSA, granted in October 2025 and passportable across 30 EEA states, while its global platform still blocks France, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Austria and Malta itself. The licensed EU service and the global platform are separate perimeters. A licence tells you a regulator has authorised an entity; it does not tell you which entity holds your account or which products it offers you. Provider-level detail sits on the platform comparison.

Keep reading