Platform review
Bybit Savings review: a 12% rate with a 500 USDT cap
Bybit publishes one of the highest stablecoin rates in the industry and one of the steepest tier cliffs behind it. The number is honest. The impression it creates is not.
We are not affiliated with Bybit. Figures below come from Bybit Learn; the help centre and terms pages returned nothing when we tried to verify them.
Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026
- 12.00%
- Flexible USDT APR on the first 500 USDT
- 0.28%
- Flexible USDT APR above 1,000 USDT
- 00:30 UTC
- Daily reward payout to the Funding Account
- 28 May 2025
- MiCA CASP authorisation, Bybit EU GmbH
Bybit is one of the largest derivatives-first exchanges in crypto, and its savings product sits beside the trading engine rather than in front of it. Two shapes are offered: Flexible, which can be entered and exited at any time at a floating rate, and Fixed Term, which locks a balance for a set period at a fixed APR with a fixed yield amount stated up front.
The reason Bybit appears near the top of stablecoin rate tables is a single published number: 12.00% APR on flexible USDT. The reason it should not be read that way is the three-line tier table printed directly beneath it. Understanding that table takes about thirty seconds and changes the answer completely.
There is a second problem with reviewing this platform, and we are going to be explicit about it throughout. When we attempted to verify the product from primary sources on 16 September 2026, Bybit's help-centre articles returned "not supported on this site" and the Easy Earn terms and conditions page was marked noindex and returned no body. Everything mechanical below therefore comes from Bybit Learn, which is operated by Bybit but is marketing-tier documentation rather than contractual terms.
Key takeaways
- The flexible USDT tier table pays 12.00% APR on balances up to 500 USDT, 0.70% from 500 to 1,000 USDT, and 0.28% above 1,000 USDT.
- Rewards accrue from T+1 and are distributed from T+2, paid daily at 00:30 UTC into the Funding Account, using the formula tokens staked × APR / 365.
- Minimums differ sharply by product: 1 USDT for flexible USDT, 500 USDT for the one-day USDT fixed term.
- Bybit EU GmbH holds a MiCA CASP authorisation granted by Austria’s Financial Market Authority on 28 May 2025.
- The United States and Canada are restricted. The UK returned in December 2025 via FCA-authorised Archax, spot only; India returned in September 2025.
- The legal nature of the product, the contracting entity, the custody model and any fee on rewards could not be verified — the help centre and terms pages returned nothing.
At a glance
- Products
- Bybit Savings / Easy Earn — Flexible and Fixed Term
- Flexible mechanics
- Stake and unstake at any time; yield accrues hourly and is distributed daily; APR floats with the market. Auto-Savings adds automatic compounding.
- Fixed Term mechanics
- Locked for a set period at a fixed APR and a fixed yield amount, with no withdrawal during the lock
- Assets
- Described as "most blue-chip coins" including BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC, plus newer tokens on seasonal offers. No total count published.
- Payout
- Daily at 00:30 UTC to the Funding Account; accrual from T+1, distribution from T+2
- Minimums
- USDT Flexible 1 USDT; USDT 1-day Fixed 500 USDT. Others vary by asset.
- Promotions
- Voucher-based APR Boosters from the Rewards Hub are stackable and described as potentially raising rates to 60%; VIP members receive separate offers
- KYC
- Mandatory, three tiers — Standard, Advanced and Pro
- Licensing
- MiCA CASP via Bybit EU GmbH (Austria FMA, 28 May 2025); UAE SCA Virtual Asset Platform Operator (October 2025); FIU India; AFSA Kazakhstan; National Bank of Georgia VASP
- Could not be verified
- Legal nature of the product, contracting entity, restricted-jurisdiction list inside the terms, custody model, insolvency disclosures and fees
Checked 16 September 2026. Mechanics sourced from Bybit Learn; primary help-centre and terms pages returned no body.
Which engine is paying you
This is the first question we ask of any earn product, and on Bybit it does not have a confirmed answer. A savings product on a derivatives exchange has an obvious candidate mechanism — lending deposited assets to margin traders, who pay to borrow so they can go long or short with leverage. That is exactly what OKX states plainly about its own Simple Earn product. Bybit does not state it. It does not state anything else either.
We are not going to assert a mechanism the provider has not disclosed. What we can say is that the shape of the tier table is consistent with a promotional rate on a small first tranche sitting on top of a much lower base rate, and a 0.28% base is well below what genuine lending demand pays. For comparison, supplying USDT to Aave v3 on Ethereum returned 3.11% on 16 September 2026 at around 86% utilisation. A 0.28% rate is not a lending rate; it is closer to nothing. The 12.00% top tier, meanwhile, is far above any sustainable lending rate and behaves like customer acquisition spend. Ourstablecoin yield page sets out the four mechanisms that can genuinely produce a dollar return.
The tier table, and the arithmetic behind it
Bybit publishes three tiers on flexible USDT. The table below applies them to a 10,000 USDT balance on the marginal reading — each slice priced at its own tier, which is how tiered savings products normally work.
| Tier | Balance band | Published APR | Slice of a 10,000 USDT balance | Annual yield from that slice |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 1 | Up to 500 USDT | 12.00% | 500 USDT | 60.00 USDT |
| Tier 2 | 500 to 1,000 USDT | 0.70% | 500 USDT | 3.50 USDT |
| Tier 3 | Above 1,000 USDT | 0.28% | 9,000 USDT | 25.20 USDT |
| Blended | Whole balance | 0.89% | 10,000 USDT | 88.70 USDT |
Tier boundaries and APRs published by Bybit Learn. The slice and annual yield columns are our arithmetic applied to those published rates, not Bybit figures. Checked 16 September 2026.
Both readings lead to the same editorial conclusion. The advertised rate is available only on an amount smaller than most people's first deposit, and a serious stablecoin allocation earns something between a quarter and nine tenths of one per cent. Against a three-month US Treasury bill at 3.97% on 15 September 2026, that is a negative real proposition before considering any counterparty risk at all.
Promotional layers on top
Bybit also runs APR Boosters — vouchers earned through the Rewards Hub, one example being a 10% booster, which are stackable and described as potentially raising rates to 60%. VIP members receive separate, higher-APR staking offers. Every one of these is promotional and time-limited by construction. A 60% APR is not a yield; it is a marketing budget divided by a quota. Treating boosted rates as a planning assumption is the specific error that makes exchange earn products look better than they are, and the same pattern appears in ourearn free crypto coverage.
Fees, lock-up and getting your money back
Flexible positions can be unstaked at any time. Fixed Term positions cannot be withdrawn during the lock at all — the APR and the yield amount are fixed at entry, and so is the commitment. Minimums are the detail worth reading twice, because they move by a factor of five hundred across two products on the same asset: flexible USDT starts at 1 USDT, while the one-day USDT fixed term requires 500 USDT.
The T+1 accrual and T+2 distribution schedule means a deposit does not begin earning on the day it lands, and does not pay until two days later. A balance parked for forty-eight hours between trades earns nothing. Rewards land in the Funding Account rather than the trading account, so they do not automatically compound unless Auto-Savings is switched on.
Availability, KYC and who is excluded
KYC is mandatory and runs in three tiers. Standard requires a government ID and a face scan and carries a 1 million USDT daily withdrawal limit. Advanced adds proof of address and raises that to 2 million USDT. Pro is institutional enhanced due diligence. Identity documents issued by an excluded jurisdiction block onboarding outright, which is a stricter test than a residence check.
Roughly fourteen jurisdictions are restricted: the United States, Canada, Chinese Mainland, Hong Kong, Singapore, Uzbekistan, Iran, Syria, Sudan, North Korea, Cuba, Dubai on the global platform, and Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk and Sevastopol. Two markets moved back the other way: the United Kingdom in December 2025, through a partnership with FCA-authorised Archax covering spot trading only and no derivatives, and India in September 2025. EEA customers are served through Bybit EU rather than the global platform. Ouravailability tracker keeps the current position for each venue.
Licensing and what each authorisation actually covers
Bybit EU GmbH holds a MiCA CASP authorisation granted by Austria's Financial Market Authority on 28 May 2025. The group also holds a UAE SCA Virtual Asset Platform Operator licence from October 2025, an FIU registration in India, an Astana Financial Services Authority registration in Kazakhstan and a National Bank of Georgia VASP registration.
Each of these regulates the provision of crypto-asset services: conduct, governance, disclosure, complaints and anti-money-laundering obligations. None of them is a deposit guarantee, and none of them makes a regulator responsible for the value of a savings balance. The UK arrangement is narrower still — the Archax partnership is FCA-authorised for spot activity, and an FCA authorisation held by a partner firm does not extend to a savings product offered by the offshore entity.
Custody, the 2025 exploit and proof of reserves
In February 2025 Bybit suffered a cold-wallet exploit of roughly US$1.4 billion, one of the largest single custody losses in the industry's history. The incident sat outside the savings product and Bybit continued operating, which is itself a data point about the exchange's balance sheet depth. But a savings balance is held in exchange custody like any other balance, so the event is material context rather than trivia.
Bybit publishes proof of reserves on a Merkle-tree basis. We did not verify the current attestation date in this pass and will not characterise it. What we can say is that a Merkle-tree proof demonstrates that customer balances are matched by on-chain holdings at a point in time. It says nothing about liabilities that are not customer balances, and nothing about whether the assets are encumbered.
What works well
- The tier table itself is published, so the conditions attached to the 12% headline are discoverable rather than hidden.
- A genuine MiCA CASP authorisation via Bybit EU GmbH from Austria’s Financial Market Authority, dated 28 May 2025.
- Flexible positions can be unstaked at any time, with hourly accrual and daily distribution.
- A 1 USDT minimum on flexible USDT makes the product genuinely testable before committing anything.
- Auto-Savings sweeps idle balances and compounds them without manual re-subscription.
- The UK return in December 2025 runs through an FCA-authorised partner rather than an unregulated offshore route.
What to watch
- The 12.00% headline applies to at most 500 USDT; above 1,000 USDT the rate is 0.28%.
- The Easy Earn terms and conditions page returned no body and the help-centre articles returned "not supported on this site", so the contract behind the product could not be read.
- The legal nature of the product — whether it is a loan to Bybit — the contracting entity, the custody model and the insolvency disclosures are all unverifiable from primary sources.
- No fee on rewards is disclosed, and no document confirms that none is charged.
- Accrual from T+1 and distribution from T+2 mean short deposits earn nothing.
- APR Boosters advertised as reaching 60% are vouchers and quotas, not a rate anyone can plan around.
- The February 2025 cold-wallet exploit of roughly US$1.4 billion is material custody context for any balance left on the exchange.
Risks specific to this platform
The first risk is documentary. On most platforms we can read the terms, identify the contracting entity and establish whether a savings balance is a loan to the company or a custodial holding. On Bybit we could not, because the pages that carry that information would not load. That is not a hypothetical concern: the distinction between a custodial balance and an unsecured loan is exactly what determined outcomes in theCeFi failures of 2022, and a reader who cannot establish which one they hold cannot price the risk at all.
The second is presentation. A 12% headline attached to a 500 USDT cap will be repeated by aggregators and comparison sites without the cap, and it has been. The information is published, so this is not concealment. It is a structure that produces misleading third-party coverage as a predictable by-product, and Bybit benefits from that coverage.
The third is custody concentration. Using an exchange savings product means your assets sit in the same custody perimeter as the trading business. The February 2025 exploit demonstrated what that perimeter is worth when it fails, and no savings rate on this platform compensates for holding a large balance there.
How it compares to two alternatives on this site
Against OKX, the contrast is about disclosure rather than rate. OKX states in its own rules document that Simple Earn assets are pooled and loaned to borrowers including margin traders, publishes a 15% commission, and describes hourly distribution and redemption mechanics. Bybit publishes a higher headline number and almost none of the surrounding facts. If you want to know what you are buying before you buy it, OKX is the better-documented of the two by a wide margin, even though what it documents is a lending product with real credit exposure.
Against KuCoin, the two are more alike. Both publish wide rate ranges whose top ends are promotional and quota-limited, both leave the fee undisclosed, and both are offshore exchanges serving EEA customers through a recently authorised European subsidiary. KuCoin discloses more product variety and a clearer set of structured products; Bybit discloses a clearer tier table. Neither tells you where the money comes from. For readers who want that answer, the useful comparison is witha lender that names its loan book.
The verdict
Bybit's savings product is a small, capped promotional rate sitting on top of a base rate close to zero, wrapped in documentation we could not read. The tier table deserves credit for existing — plenty of venues do not publish one — but the product it describes is not a competitive place to hold stablecoins once your balance passes 1,000 USDT, and at 0.28% it is not competitive against anything, including leaving the money in a money-market fund.
The absence of readable terms is the finding that should carry the most weight. We can tell you what Bybit's marketing documentation says about accrual, minimums and tiers. We cannot tell you what claim you hold, who you hold it against, or what happens to it if the entity fails, because the pages that would answer those questions returned nothing on 16 September 2026. That is a gap worth weighing more heavily than any rate. See how the rest of the market handles the same questions on ourearn platform comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Is Bybit’s 12% USDT rate real?
It is published and it is real, but it applies to at most 500 USDT. Bybit’s own flexible USDT tier table shows 12.00% APR on balances up to 500 USDT, 0.70% between 500 and 1,000 USDT, and 0.28% above 1,000 USDT. The number is therefore accurate and almost entirely irrelevant to anyone holding a meaningful stablecoin position. Any comparison that quotes 12% without the tier table beside it is misleading, which is why our rates comparison carries the conditions in the same row as the rate.
When does Bybit pay savings rewards?
Bybit Learn states that accrual starts on T+1 and distribution begins on T+2, with rewards paid daily at 00:30 UTC into your Funding Account. The daily yield formula is the number of tokens staked multiplied by the APR divided by 365. The two-day ramp means a very short deposit earns nothing at all, and it is the detail that makes Bybit unsuitable for parking cash between trades. Flexible positions can be unstaked at any time.
What is Bybit Auto-Savings?
Auto-Savings moves idle balances into the flexible savings product automatically and compounds the rewards rather than leaving them in the Funding Account. On a product whose upper tiers pay 0.28% APR, compounding changes very little; on a balance sitting entirely inside the 500 USDT top tier it is worth having. It is a convenience feature rather than a yield feature, and it does not alter which tier your balance falls into.
Can I use Bybit in the United States or the United Kingdom?
Not the United States, and not Canada — both sit on a restricted list of roughly fourteen jurisdictions that also includes Chinese Mainland, Hong Kong, Singapore, Iran, Syria, Sudan, Cuba, North Korea, Uzbekistan and the occupied Ukrainian territories, with Dubai restricted on the global platform. The United Kingdom is different: Bybit returned in December 2025 through a partnership with FCA-authorised Archax, covering spot only and no derivatives. EEA users are served by Bybit EU rather than the global platform.
Is Bybit licensed in Europe?
Yes. Bybit EU GmbH holds a MiCA CASP authorisation granted by Austria’s Financial Market Authority on 28 May 2025, and the group also holds a UAE SCA Virtual Asset Platform Operator licence from October 2025, an FIU registration in India, an AFSA registration in Kazakhstan and a National Bank of Georgia VASP registration. A CASP authorisation regulates conduct and disclosure. It does not guarantee your balance, and our regulation guide explains where that boundary sits.
What happened in the Bybit hack, and does it affect savings?
In February 2025 Bybit suffered a cold-wallet exploit of roughly US$1.4 billion. The incident sat outside the savings product, but it is material context for anyone deciding to leave assets with the exchange, because a savings balance is held in exchange custody like any other balance. Bybit publishes proof of reserves on a Merkle-tree basis; we did not verify the current attestation date. Custody risk is discussed further in our earn risk guide.
What does Bybit not disclose about its savings product?
A great deal, and the gaps are structural rather than incidental. When we tried to verify the product, Bybit’s help-centre articles returned "not supported on this site" and the Easy Earn terms and conditions page is marked noindex and returned no body at all. That means the legal nature of the product, the contracting entity, the restricted-jurisdiction list inside the terms, the custody model, the insolvency disclosures and any fee on rewards could not be confirmed from a primary source.
Keep reading
OKX Earn review
The exchange that says in writing that your assets are pooled and loaned to margin traders.
KuCoin Earn review
Wide advertised ranges, promotional top ends and a fee percentage nobody publishes.
Crypto interest rates compared
Headline rates set beside the caps, tiers and conditions that shrink them.
Stablecoin yield
The four mechanisms that can genuinely produce a dollar return, and what each one costs you.
All earn platforms
Every venue we have examined, with model, fee and licensing in one table.
Crypto earn risks
Custody concentration, undisclosed terms and what an unsecured claim is worth.