Skip to content
cryptoearn.guide

Editorial standards

How we research crypto earn platforms

What we record for every provider, which sources we accept, how we separate a promotional rate from a standard one, and why we publish what we could not verify instead of filling the gap.

Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026

This site exists because the gap between an advertised APY and what a reader receives is large, systematic and almost never explained. Closing that gap is a research problem rather than an opinion problem, so the method matters more than the verdict. This page sets out the method in enough detail that you can check our work, and tell us when it is wrong.

The source hierarchy

We rank sources, and we say in the text which tier a figure came from when it is not the first. A rate quoted from an aggregator is not the same class of fact as a rate quoted from the provider’s own page, and presenting them identically is how errors propagate across this whole category.

Which sources we accept, and how we label them
TierWhat it isHow we treat it
1The provider’s own product pages, fee schedules, terms, risk warnings and help-centre articlesQuoted directly, usually with the provider’s wording where the wording is the point
2Regulatory registers, enforcement releases, court filings and official statutory materialPreferred over any provider claim about its own regulatory status
3Reputable secondary coverage and specialist data providersNamed in the text with its date, and never used to contradict tier 1 or 2
4Aggregators and comparison sitesUsed only for orientation, always labelled, never the sole basis for a figure

Applied to every figure on this site. Where two sources conflict, we print both and say which we prefer.

The eleven things we record for every platform

Every provider on this site is documented against the same fields, in the same order, whether it is a global exchange or a single-product lender. Uniformity is what makes the comparison honest; it also makes the absences visible.

  1. The provider and its category — exchange, savings and lending platform, broker or app, or bank. The category predicts the failure mode.
  2. The yield model — staking, lending, platform rewards, a bank deposit, or a mixture. This is the first thing we establish and the last thing most marketing pages mention.
  3. The headline figure — exactly as the provider advertises it, not rounded and not improved.
  4. The condition attached to it — the balance tier, term, loyalty level, token holding or promotional quota that the headline depends on.
  5. The assets covered — how many, and which ones actually carry the headline rate.
  6. Geographic access — countries and, where relevant, US states that are excluded, and whether the exclusion is explicit or merely an absence from a list.
  7. Lock-up and redemption — including what happens to accrued rewards on early exit, which is frequently harsher than the lock-up itself.
  8. The fee — the stated commission on rewards, or a plain statement that no percentage is published.
  9. Licensing — the named entity, the named regulator and the date, where we could confirm them in a register or an official announcement.
  10. The date we checked — attached to every variable figure. For this edition of the site that date is 16 September 2026.
  11. What we could not verify — published as its own section rather than quietly omitted.

Promotional, standard, variable and fixed

Four different things get advertised as "the rate", and conflating them is the most common error in this category. We keep them apart.

A standard rate is what an ordinary customer earns with no additional conditions. A promotional rate is quota-limited, time-limited, tier-limited or restricted to a first tranche of balance — we say which, and we never lead with the promotional number. Avariable rate can be changed by the provider or the protocol at any time; several platforms state that their flexible rates move every minute. A fixed rate is contractual for a stated term, and in this market it is rare. Where a rate is partly contractual and partly discretionary, we print the split, because the contractual part is the only part you can plan around.

Why we publish "not disclosed"

A comparison table with no blanks is a warning sign, not a quality signal. Large parts of this market do not publish a commission percentage, per-asset minimums, an unbonding schedule, a supported-state list or the source of the yield itself. Filling those cells with an estimate would make the tables prettier and the site less useful. So we leave them as findings, and we group them by provider so a reader can see at a glance who tells you the least.

The same rule applies when a provider contradicts itself, which happens more than you would expect. Where marketing copy and a help-centre FAQ disagree, we print both and date them. Where two reputable data sources disagree on a figure, we print the range rather than picking the flattering end.

No scores, no stars, no rankings

There are no ratings anywhere on this site. A composite score obscures the weighting that produced it, invites providers to optimise for the weighting rather than the product, and collapses genuinely incomparable things — a bank deposit guarantee and a promotional APY — into one axis. Ordering on the platform comparison is editorial, it is stated on the page, and it is not a ranking. Readers who want a verdict will find one in the prose, where it can be argued with.

Dates, and how they are maintained

Every rate, fee, licence date and product term on this site was checked on 16 September 2026unless a different date is stated next to the figure. We prefer an honestly dated figure to an undated current-sounding one, because rates in this market move without notice and a reader who knows a number is a month old can act on that. When we revisit a page, the date moves and the changed figures move with it.

How a platform page gets written

  1. 1

    Read the provider end to end

    Product page, rate table, fee schedule, terms, risk warning, help centre and any regional variant. Where a page renders rates only after login or only in an app, we say so rather than sourcing the number elsewhere and presenting it as the provider’s.
  2. 2

    Check every regulatory claim in the register

    A named entity and a named regulator, or it does not go on the page. A licence in one jurisdiction is not a licence in another, and an anti-money-laundering registration is not an authorisation.
  3. 3

    Separate the products

    Most large platforms run several genuinely different things under one Earn label — flexible savings, locked terms, real staking and structured products that are sold options. We split them before comparing anything.
  4. 4

    Record the conditions and the gaps

    Tiers, quotas, terms, token requirements, proportions actually deployed, and every field the provider does not publish.
  5. 5

    Write the analysis, then date it

    The judgement sits in the prose where the reasoning is visible, and the figures carry the date they were checked.

Quoting, and why we use the provider’s own words

Where the wording is the finding, we quote it rather than paraphrase it. Kraken’s flexible staking page states that it will "only stake a portion of your assets" and pay rewards on "up to 50%" of what you commit. Bitpanda describes part of its stablecoin rate as granted "at Bitpanda’s sole discretion" and the product itself as "an unregulated product". OKX states that Simple Earn assets "will be pooled and loaned to borrowers on our platform". Paraphrase softens all three, and a reader who wants to check us needs the sentence we actually read. When we quote, the quotation is the provider’s and the emphasis is ours.

Corrections

We correct errors on the page where they appeared, promptly, and we update the check date when we do. Material corrections — a wrong rate, a wrong licence, a wrong exclusion — are fixed as a priority over new work. We do not quietly delete a paragraph that turned out to be wrong; if a claim was load-bearing, the correction says what changed. If you think something here is inaccurate, email editorial@cryptoearn.guide with the page, the sentence and a source. We read everything and we prefer being told.

How this site is funded, in plain terms

CEX.IO is a commercial partner. Every call-to-action button on this site links to CEX.IO, each one is marked nofollow, and each is labelled as a partner link where it appears. CEX.IO is listed first on the platform comparison and that placement is disclosed at the top of the page rather than buried in a footer.

What that relationship does not buy: it does not buy a score, because there are none; it does not buy the removal of a finding; and it does not buy pre-publication approval, which we do not offer to anyone. The gaps in CEX.IO’s own disclosure — no MiCA authorisation we could locate, no proof of reserves, no published fee schedule, and no stated source for the yield on its Savings product — are printed on this site in the same places as everyone else’s.

If you want to see the method applied, the fifteen-platform comparison is the fullest example, and crypto earn risks is where the same evidence is turned into a risk framework. For who we are and why the site exists at all, read about CryptoEarn Guide.

Frequently asked questions

Why are there no star ratings on this site?

Because a single number cannot be checked. A score of 4.2 out of 5 is a judgement dressed as data: it hides which fields were weighted, by how much, and what happens to the total when a provider changes one term. The eleven fields we record can each be verified against a source you can open yourself, and disagreement with our analysis does not require disagreeing with our facts. Our platform comparison is ordered editorially and says so on the page.

How do you handle partner links?

CEX.IO is a commercial partner. Every outbound call-to-action button on this site points to CEX.IO, is marked nofollow, and is labelled as a partner link where it appears. CEX.IO is listed first in the platform grid, which is disclosed at the top of that page. It is recorded against the same eleven fields as every other provider, and the things we could not verify about it are printed alongside everyone else's gaps. We do not accept payment to change a finding, and we do not send drafts to providers for approval.

Where do your rate figures come from?

Provider documentation first — product pages, fee schedules, help-centre articles and terms. Regulatory registers second, for licence claims. Reputable secondary coverage third, labelled as such in the text. Aggregators last, and always named and dated. Every variable figure carries the date it was checked, which for the current edition of the site is 16 September 2026. Rates move constantly and none of ours is a promise.

What do you do when a provider will not say something?

We print that. "Not disclosed by the provider" is a finding about the product, and frequently a more useful one than the number would have been. Several large platforms do not publish a commission percentage, per-asset minimums or a supported-jurisdiction list. Estimating those would produce a tidier comparison table and a less accurate one. Every page carries the gaps we found, and the platform hub collects them provider by provider.

How do I report an error?

Email editorial@cryptoearn.guide with the page, the sentence and a link to the source that contradicts it. Primary sources — the provider's own page, a regulator's register entry, a court filing — carry the most weight, and a screenshot with a date helps when a page has since changed. Corrections are made on the page itself and the check date is updated. See contact for what to include.

Keep reading