Methods survey
How to earn crypto: the methods that work and the ones that waste your time
Twelve ways to earn crypto, sorted by what they pay, what they cost you in capital and attention, and the specific catch attached to each one. No method here is free money.
Partner link. Rates on any earn product are variable and set per asset. Nothing on this page is financial advice.
Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026
Every list of ways to earn crypto has the same problem: it treats a 2% staking reward and a tap-to-earn game token as though they belong in the same category. They do not. One is a protocol paying you to help secure it; the other is a marketing budget converted into a token whose price is set after you have finished working. Knowing how to earn crypto is mostly a matter of knowing which of those two things you are being offered, and then asking who is actually paying.
This page surveys the methods. It does not explain each mechanism in depth — the pillar pages linked throughout do that. What it does is put every route side by side with the capital it needs, the return you can realistically expect as of 16 September 2026, the effort it demands, and the thing that goes wrong most often. Where our research does not contain a number, you will find a description of the mechanism and no figure, which is deliberate.
Key takeaways
- There are only two families of method: earning a return on crypto you already own, and being paid in crypto for time, hardware or attention. They have almost nothing in common.
- The 3-month US Treasury bill stood at 3.97% on 15 September 2026. Any dollar-denominated crypto yield above that is being paid by credit risk, leverage, token emissions or a marketing budget.
- Fees decide more outcomes than rates do. Staking commissions found in this research run from 0% at Revolut to 90% on Binance.US Soft-Staking, against an Ethereum network APR of 2.46%.
- Most zero-capital methods pay in tokens whose value is set after you have done the work. Per CoinLaw data, 88% of airdropped tokens lost value within three months and 64% of recipients sold immediately.
- Hardware-based earning is a capital-expenditure decision, not passive income: suburban Helium IoT hotspots earn $3–12 per month against $300–500 of hardware, a payback of two to fourteen years.
Two families, not one list
The first family is earning a return on crypto you already hold. Here you are lending, staking, or supplying liquidity, and the return is a percentage of a position you already own. The amount you earn scales with capital, the effort is close to zero once set up, and the failure modes are financial: a borrower defaults, a platform becomes insolvent, a smart contract is exploited, or the token you are paid in falls further than the yield you collected.
The second family is earning crypto from scratch — being paid in tokens for time, attention, referrals, hardware or gameplay. Here the amount you earn scales with effort or equipment rather than capital, and the failure modes are different: the reward is discretionary, the token has no established price when you earn it, and the programme can end without notice. Almost every disappointed article about crypto earning comes from someone who applied the expectations of the first family to a method from the second.
There is a useful test that separates them. Ask what happens to your earnings if the number of other participants doubles. In the first family, nothing much: an Ethereum validator's reward falls slowly with total stake, and a lending pool's rate moves with utilisation. In the second, your share is usually diluted directly, because the pool of rewards is fixed by a budget rather than by a cash flow.

Earning on crypto you already own
Staking
Proof-of-stake networks issue new tokens to the validators that produce and attest blocks, and delegators receive a share. On Ethereum the network APR was 2.46% as of 16 September 2026, with roughly 43.1 million ETH staked and an activation queue of about 32 days. That is the honest ceiling for the largest staking market in existence, and everything a provider charges comes out of it.
Commission is the variable that decides your outcome. Our survey found platform take rates from 0% at Revolut, which states it passes on all the rewards it receives on-chain, through 5% at P2P.org and 10% at Lido and Binance ETH staking, to roughly 35% standard at Coinbase, up to 50% on Uphold flexible staking, and 90% on Binance.US Soft-Staking, where the customer receives 10% of rewards. On a 2.46% gross rate, a 35% commission costs about 86 basis points — more than half of what a staker keeps in real terms once issuance is accounted for. The mechanics, the unbonding queues and the slashing question are covered in the staking pillar.
High nominal numbers on smaller chains usually shrink on inspection. Cosmos advertises around 19.4% against 12.67% token inflation, which is roughly 6.2% in real terms. Sui pays 1.49% nominal against 2.54% inflation, so a staker is diluted about 1% a year in token terms. The per-asset arithmetic is laid out in staking rewards compared, and the two largest individual markets have their own pages for Ethereum and Solana.
Savings and lending products
A crypto savings account is almost always a loan to the platform, which then lends your assets on. Ledn pays 6.5% on USDC and USDT balances below $100,000 and 8.5% above it, and states plainly that the interest comes from lending to its overcollateralised, bitcoin-backed retail loan book. Nexo advertises up to 9.5% flexible and 12.5% fixed on USDT but requires a $5,000 portfolio balance and does not disclose how the yield is generated. OKX states that Simple Earn assets are pooled and loaned to borrowers on its platform, and takes 15% of the accrued return. The difference between those three disclosures matters more than the difference between their rates.
Headline rates are frequently conditional in ways the headline does not mention. Bybit's 12% USDT flexible rate applies to the first 500 USDT; the next band pays 0.70% and anything above 1,000 USDT pays 0.28%. Crypto.com pays its full rate on the first US$3,000, half of that on the next US$27,000 and 0.3 times that again above US$30,000. Neither is hidden, and neither is in the advertisement. We take these apart product by product on crypto savings accounts and crypto interest rates.
Stablecoin yield
Dollar-denominated yield is the part of this market with a clean benchmark. The 3-month US Treasury bill paid 3.97% on 15 September 2026. Aave v3 on Ethereum was supplying USDC at 3.57% and USDT at 3.11% — both below the risk-free rate, for materially more risk. That comparison is the single most useful habit to build, and it is the spine of our stablecoin yield guide.
DeFi liquidity and yield farming
Supplying assets to an automated market maker earns trading fees and, usually, incentive tokens. The fees are organic revenue; the tokens are a subsidy that can stop. The specific cost of providing liquidity is divergence loss: hold one ETH and 2,000 USDC while ETH doubles from $2,000 and the pool position is worth about 5.7% less than simply holding. That is not a fee and it is not disclosed as one. The full worked example sits on DeFi yield farming.
Tokenised treasuries
Tokenised money-market funds and Treasury products pass short-dated government debt yield through an on-chain wrapper, with tokenised treasuries at roughly $15.65 billion. Net yields of about 3.44% to 3.74% sit below the 3.97% bill they hold, because the fund and the token layer both take a cut. The trade-off is eligibility: most products are restricted to accredited or non-US investors, and minimums range from about $20 to roughly $5 million. See tokenised treasuries.
Earning crypto without buying it first
Learn-and-earn programmes
Exchanges pay small token rewards for completing short education modules and a quiz. Binance categorises its programme internally as a marketing quiz airdrop rather than a yield product, which is the correct description of the whole category. The economics are customer acquisition: a completed module means a verified, funded account at a known cost per head. Rewards are capped, geographically gated and change frequently, which is why we do not print amounts. The full treatment is on learn and earn programmes.
Referrals and sign-up promotions
Referral bonuses and new-user promotions are marketing spend, not yield, and they behave like it: quota-capped, time-boxed and tied to trading volume or deposit thresholds. MEXC has run headline banners advertising up to 600% APR on new token launches against a base rate band of roughly 2.8% to 6%, with the promotional rates first-come, first-served and time-limited. The gap between banner and base is the widest in our sample. Treat these as one-off payments for completing an onboarding funnel.
Play-to-earn and tap-to-earn
Game tokens are paid out of emissions funded by new player inflow and a treasury, which makes them a subsidy rather than a wage. The retention data is unambiguous: TON daily active wallets fell from over one million in September 2024 to under 500,000 by December 2024, Hamster Kombat lost more than three million users in a single month, and Google Trends interest in tap-to-earn fell around 80% between June and December 2024. Our post-mortem on play-to-earn sets out what is left.
Airdrops and points programmes
Points have replaced snapshot airdrops as the dominant model, requiring sustained activity over weeks or months in exchange for an entitlement with no contractual claim, an undisclosed conversion ratio and unbounded dilution. The outcome data, per CoinLaw figures published in 2025, is that 88% of airdropped tokens lost value within three months and 64% of recipients sold at the token generation event. Airdrop phishing is also a primary scam vector: Hacken put losses to crypto scams at $3.1 billion in the first half of 2025.
Mining
Proof-of-work mining is a capital-expenditure business competing on electricity cost and hardware depreciation, with difficulty adjusting away any durable advantage. Our research contains no retail mining return figures we are prepared to publish, and we would rather say that than model one. The structural warning worth keeping is centralisation: the GHash.io pool briefly exceeded 51% of Bitcoin hashrate in June 2014, which is what happens when small operators aggregate into a single pool for smoother payouts.
Cashback cards
Card cashback is the one reward that is lawful in the EU on stablecoins, because MiCA prohibits remuneration linked to how long a holder holds an e-money token but does not prohibit rewards linked to spending. MEXC launched a USDT Visa card on 31 August 2026 with up to 10% transaction cashback, and stablecoin card volumes reached $759 million in July 2026, around 2.5 times the year before. The catch is tier gating: under Crypto.com's 2026 card overhaul, users who neither stake CRO nor pay a subscription earn 0% cashback, and the qualifying lock-ups run from $500 to $1,000,000 on twelve-month commitments.
DePIN node rewards
Decentralised physical infrastructure networks pay token rewards for supplying wireless coverage, storage or GPU compute. Network-level revenue is real — roughly $150 million of combined on-chain DePIN revenue in January 2026, with Render at about $38 million a month — but node-level economics are where the honesty is required. Suburban Helium IoT hotspots earn $3–12 a month against $300–500 of hardware, which is a two-to-fourteen-year payback; urban units at $30–60 a month pay back in five to seventeen months. Helium Mobile hotspots in carrier-offload venues earn $80–150 a month, while non-offload units earn $10–30 and take 17 to 100 months to pay back. Carrier offload accounts for 99.8% of Helium Data Credit burn but reaches only a small share of 376,000 Mobile hotspots. Render consumer GPUs earn $20–500 a month with paybacks from two to over fifty months, and the professional tier needs more than $10,000 of entry hardware.
| Method | Capital needed | Realistic return | Effort | Main catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Staking | Any amount at a venue; 32 ETH to run a validator | 2.46% ETH network APR before commission | One-time setup | Commission of 0–90% and token inflation |
| CeFi savings | Often a minimum; Nexo requires a $5,000 portfolio | 6.5–8.5% on stablecoins at Ledn | One-time setup | You are an unsecured creditor of the platform |
| DeFi lending | Gas costs plus the deposit | 3.57% USDC on Aave v3 Ethereum | Low, once you self-custody | Below the 3.97% Treasury bill for contract risk |
| Yield farming | Two assets plus gas | Fees plus emissions; emissions can stop | Ongoing monitoring | Divergence loss is a real cost, never quoted |
| Tokenised treasuries | From about $20 to roughly $5m by product | 3.44–3.74% net | Eligibility checks | Most products are closed to ordinary retail |
| Learn-and-earn | None, but identity verification is required | Small capped token rewards | Minutes per module | Terms and amounts change constantly |
| Referrals and promos | None to low | One-off; quota-capped | Low | Marketing spend, withdrawn at will |
| Play-to-earn | Sometimes an NFT or token purchase | Emissions that fell with player counts | High, sustained | Paid in a token the game controls |
| Airdrops and points | Capital at risk in a protocol | 88% of airdropped tokens fell within 3 months | Weeks or months of activity | No contractual claim to anything |
| Mining | Hardware and cheap power | Not published here — no verified retail figures | Operational | Difficulty removes any durable edge |
| Cashback cards | Spending, plus any tier lock-up | Up to 10% on the MEXC USDT card | None beyond normal spending | Zero cashback without a stake or subscription |
| DePIN nodes | $300–500 upward; $10,000+ for pro GPUs | $3–150 per month depending on siting | Installation and uptime | Payback from 3 months to 14 years |
Compiled from provider documentation, Federal Reserve H.15, DefiLlama, Aavescan, Staking Rewards, validatorqueue.com, DePIN Dispatch and Chainplay. Checked 16 September 2026. Return ranges are indicative and move daily.
What does not work
Faucets, in the sense of sites paying fractions of a coin for captchas and advertising views, stopped being economically meaningful once transaction fees exceeded the payouts and advertising rates fell. Anything promising a fixed high return with no explanation of the counterparty is describing a liability it has no disclosed way of funding, which is the exact shape of the products that failed in 2022. Anything that requires you to connect a wallet to claim a reward should be treated as hostile by default, because airdrop phishing is one of the main channels inside the $3.1 billion of scam losses Hacken recorded in the first half of 2025.
One more category deserves scepticism: compounding claims on variable rates. A platform that shows what your balance becomes after five years at today's rate is projecting a number it explicitly reserves the right to change. Binance states that Simple Earn Flexible rates are subject to change every minute and that Locked rates can change daily unless otherwise stated. A projection built on that is decoration.
How to choose between them
Start from what you already hold rather than from a rate table. If you own a proof-of-stake asset you intend to keep, staking it converts an idle position into a small return without changing your exposure. If you hold dollars and want a dollar return, the comparison is against Treasury bills, and the honest conclusion is that much of mainstream DeFi currently pays less. If you hold nothing, the zero-capital methods are worth doing only when you were going to do the underlying activity anyway — opening an account, spending on a card, playing a game you enjoy.
Then decide how much attention you are prepared to spend. Every product in the first family requires you to notice when terms change, and they do change: Coinbase moved USDC rewards behind a paid subscription in December 2025, Ledn discontinued its bitcoin and ether Growth Accounts on 1 July 2025, and CEX.IO ended Automated Staking on 1 April 2025. Passive income is passive in the sense that the money accrues while you sleep, not in the sense that nobody has to read the notices. Once you have chosen a method, the next question is the venue, and that is a separate decision with its own checklist on where to earn crypto. If you want to skip straight to the providers, our platform comparison covers fifteen of them with the same discipline.
Frequently asked questions
What is the easiest way to earn crypto?
If you already hold a proof-of-stake asset, delegated staking through a venue you already use is the least effortful method: you opt in once and rewards accrue automatically. The trade-off is commission, which is the largest single variable in the whole category. If you hold nothing, the lowest-friction route is a learn-and-earn module or a sign-up promotion at an exchange where you were going to complete identity verification anyway. Neither is a route to meaningful money. Our staking guide explains what a delegated position actually pays after fees.
How can I earn crypto without buying it first?
Four routes exist that need no deposit: education modules that pay a token reward on completion, exchange sign-up and referral promotions, quest and points programmes, and hardware-based networks where you supply coverage or compute. The first two are marketing spend with small, capped payouts. The third pays in tokens of unknown future value. The fourth requires you to buy equipment, which makes it an investment rather than free money. We take each apart on earning free crypto.
How much can you realistically earn from staking crypto?
On Ethereum the network APR was 2.46% as of 16 September 2026, before any operator commission. Larger nominal numbers exist on smaller chains, but they are usually paid in newly issued tokens: Cosmos advertises roughly 19.4% against 12.67% inflation, which is about 6.2% in real terms. Sui pays 1.49% against 2.54% inflation, a negative real yield. The honest figure for a diversified staking position on established chains is low single digits. See staking rewards compared for the per-asset arithmetic.
Is crypto mining still worth it for an individual?
Bitcoin mining is an industrial business competing on electricity price and hardware depreciation, and our research contains no retail mining economics we are willing to publish as a return figure. The structural point is that mining revenue is denominated in a volatile asset while the costs are fixed in fiat, and the difficulty adjustment removes any durable advantage. Treat any calculator that shows a tidy monthly profit with suspicion, because it is modelling one price and one difficulty level. Hardware-based alternatives are covered in the DePIN section above.
Which earning method has the lowest risk?
Risk here has three separate axes: whether you can lose principal, whether you can lose access temporarily, and whether the asset itself can fall. Native staking on a large chain does not depend on anyone repaying a loan, which removes credit risk, but it does not protect you from the token price. A tokenised Treasury fund carries the least credit risk of anything in this category and also pays the least. Nothing here is covered by a deposit guarantee scheme except Xapo Bank US dollar balances. Read what actually loses people money before sizing anything.
Do I pay tax on crypto I earn rather than buy?
Usually yes, and often at the moment of receipt rather than at sale. The US position since Revenue Ruling 2023-14 is that staking rewards are ordinary income at fair market value when you gain dominion and control over them, which can leave you owing cash tax on rewards you cannot yet sell. The UK generally treats rewards as miscellaneous income. Promotional payouts, learn-and-earn rewards and quest tokens are normally income too. Our tax overview explains the mechanics; it is not advice.
Can I combine several earning methods at once?
You can, and most people who earn anything meaningful do. The constraint is attention rather than capital: every additional venue adds a set of terms that can change, a tier that can be adjusted, and a product that can be discontinued. Coinbase moved USDC rewards behind a paid subscription on 15 December 2025 and CEX.IO ended Automated Staking on 1 April 2025, both with notice and neither reversible by the customer. Running four venues means reading four sets of notices. Our framework for passive income covers how to size that.
Keep reading
Where to earn crypto
Five venue types, their characteristic failures, and a ten-minute diligence checklist.
Earn free crypto
The zero-capital methods examined honestly, with the amounts and the risks.
Passive income with crypto
How to size positions when yield never compensates for direction.
Crypto staking explained
Validators, commissions, unbonding and the nominal-versus-real yield trap.
Crypto savings accounts
What the advertised APY hides, and why none of these are bank deposits.
Crypto earn apps
What changes when the product is a phone rather than a web page.