Skip to content
cryptoearn.guide

Head to head

Staking vs crypto savings accounts

Both pay you for holding an asset. One is paid by a blockchain out of new issuance; the other is paid by a company out of a loan book or a budget. Everything that matters follows from that.

Rates and product terms checked 16 September 2026. Nothing on this page is financial advice.

Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026

The staking vs crypto savings question is usually asked as though it were about yield. It is not. The two products can advertise identical numbers and still be different instruments, with different counterparties, different failure modes, different liquidity and different tax treatment. This page runs the comparison field by field and then puts the fields back together into a decision.

One framing to carry through: staking is a payment for work the network needs done, and savings is a payment for credit someone needs extended. That is not a metaphor. It determines who has to stay solvent for your reward to arrive.

Key takeaways

  • Staking is funded by protocol issuance — newly minted tokens. Crypto savings is funded by borrower interest, by a company's balance sheet, or by a marketing budget.
  • The staking reward is real but small: Ethereum's network APR was 2.46% on 16 September 2026, before any provider commission.
  • Nominal staking yield overstates the result. Cosmos pays 19.42–19.64% nominal against 12.67% token issuance, which is about 6.2% in real terms.
  • Almost no savings product carries deposit protection. The one exception we found is Xapo Bank's US dollar balance, covered by the Gibraltar scheme to the equivalent of £120,000.
  • If a product pays you on Bitcoin or a stablecoin, it is not staking — neither asset has a native staking mechanism. CEX.IO's savings product covers both and does not publish its yield source.
  • The clearest practical difference is liquidity: staking carries protocol unbonding of up to 28 days on Polkadot and 21 on Cosmos, while most flexible savings products exit same-day.

Where the money comes from

A proof-of-stake network needs capital committed to it in order to make attacking it expensive. It pays for that commitment by minting new tokens and distributing them to validators. Nobody borrows anything; no counterparty has to repay. What you give up instead is dilution — the supply grows, so if the network issues tokens faster than it pays you, your share of the network shrinks while your balance rises. The correct arithmetic is not nominal minus inflation but(1 + nominal) ÷ (1 + inflation) − 1, and the shortcut flatters the result: on Cosmos it produces 6.97% where the real figure is 6.19%. The mechanism in full is incrypto staking, and the per-asset numbers are instaking rewards compared.

A crypto savings account has no such engine. The money has to come from somewhere outside the protocol, and there are only three candidates. It is borrower interest — OKX states that Simple Earn assets are pooled and loaned to borrowers including margin traders, and Ledn states that its stablecoin yield is generated entirely by its overcollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loan book. It is real-world interest — Xapo Bank pays 3.35% on dollars from AAA-rated Treasury bills and money market funds. Or it is company money — Coinbase funds its 3.50% USDC rate from USDC reserve interest, and since 15 December 2025 it pays only Coinbase One subscribers. The credit version is unpacked in crypto lending.

The same eight questions, asked of both products
QuestionStakingCrypto savings account
Who pays youThe blockchain, through new issuanceA company, from borrower interest, T-bills or its own budget
Which assets qualifyProof-of-stake tokens only — never BTC, never stablecoinsAnything the platform chooses to accept
Typical published range2.46% on ETH to 19.6% nominal on ATOM0.25% on BTC to 9.5% advertised on USDT
Is the rate contractualNo — it is set by the protocol and moves with total stakeRarely. Bitpanda’s 7% is 3% contractual plus a discretionary bonus
What you are exposed toToken price, dilution, unbonding, slashing on some chainsPlatform solvency, the loan book, and the same token price
Getting outProtocol unbonding: 28 days on DOT, 21 on ATOM, none on ADAFlexible products same-day; fixed terms forfeit accrued rewards
What the provider keeps0% to 90% of rewards, frequently unpublishedThe spread between what it earns and what it pays you
Protection if it failsNone from the protocol; you are exposed to the custodianNone, except Xapo Bank USD under the Gibraltar scheme

Compiled from provider documentation, Federal Reserve H.15 and Staking Rewards, checked 16 September 2026. Figures are variable.

What you are actually exposed to

Staking risk is usually described as slashing risk, and that is the least accurate part of the picture. Fewer than 500 validators have been slashed out of more than 1.2 million active since the Beacon Chain launched in December 2020, the initial penalty on Ethereum was cut from 1/32 to 1/4096 of effective balance by the Pectra upgrade in May 2025, and most proof-of-stake chains in retail use have no slashing mechanism at all. The genuine tail risk is the correlation penalty in a mass event, and the genuine everyday risk is illiquidity while the price moves. Ethereum was about $1,700 in June 2026 and above $4,900 at the 2025 high; a 2.46% annual reward is roughly nine days of ordinary volatility.

Savings risk is credit risk wearing a deposit costume. You are an unsecured creditor of the platform, ranked behind secured creditors, with no compensation scheme behind you. The 2022 failures are the reference case and the detail that matters is the recovery: BlockFi creditors achieved a "100% recovery" of their dollar claim valued at the July 2022 petition date, which is a very different thing from getting their Bitcoin back. What happened to the CeFi lenders goes through each case.

Liquidity is the difference you will feel first

Staking liquidity is set by the chain, not the provider. Polkadot unbonds over 28 days, Cosmos over 21, Tron over 14; Avalanche hard-locks for between 14 days and a year with no early exit at all; Cardano and Algorand have no unbonding whatsoever. Ethereum currently has the opposite problem: the exit queue was effectively empty on 16 September 2026 at about 26 minutes, while the entry queue stood at 1,831,267 ETH — roughly 31 days and 19 hours before a new validator starts earning anything.

Savings liquidity is set by the contract. Flexible products generally let you withdraw on demand: Ledn has no lock-up and no minimum, and CEX.IO Savings pays daily with withdrawal at any time, though redeeming on a given day forfeits that day’s reward. Fixed terms are harsher than most readers expect. Binance states that early redemption of a locked product returns the principal "minus any rewards you have received during the term", and Crypto.com applies the same rule with CRO fixed terms unable to be withdrawn early at all.

Fees behave differently in each product

In staking the fee is explicit and proportional: a percentage of the rewards, taken before you see them. The published range across the market runs from Revolut stating it keeps nothing to Binance.US Soft-Staking taking 90%. Because the underlying yields are small, this matters more than it sounds — a 35% commission on a 2.46% Ethereum APR costs about 89 basis points, more than half the real return. Kraken adds a second, less obvious deduction: its flexible product states that it will "only stake a portion of your assets" and pay rewards on up to 50% of what you commit.

In savings the fee is invisible by design. There is no commission line because the platform is not passing anything through — it earns a spread and pays you what is left. YouHodler prices its crypto-backed loans between 0.5% and 1.5% per month and keeps the margin. That is the fee. It is never published as one, which is why the comparison that matters in savings is not fee against fee but advertised rate against the risk-free rate: 3.97% on the three-month Treasury bill on16 September 2026, and 3.57% for lending USDC to Aave.

Tax treatment is not the same

Both usually land as income, but the triggers differ and one of them is genuinely awkward. US Revenue Ruling 2023-14 treats staking rewards as ordinary income at fair market value when the taxpayer gains dominion and control, which applies to exchange staking as well as direct staking — so it is possible to owe cash tax on rewards that are still locked. HMRC treats most retail staking rewards as miscellaneous income at 20% to 45%, with the sterling value at receipt also setting the acquisition cost of the tokens.

The trap sits on the savings side. In the UK, making tokens available can itself be a taxable disposal where beneficial ownership transfers — and some savings products transfer ownership explicitly. Bitpanda’s stablecoin Earn terms state that "ownership of the assets passes to Bitpanda for the term of the Earn transaction". That single sentence is a disclosure, a credit risk and potentially a tax event at once. None of this is advice, and jurisdictions differ widely;tax on crypto earnings covers the detail.

The worked case: when a savings product is labelled like staking

CEX.IO runs both products under one Earn brand, and the split between them is a clean illustration of the whole distinction. Its staking product covers 13 proof-of-stake assets, led by ATOM at an advertised 12%, with no lock-up and hourly accrual. Its savings product covers 22 assets and is led by USDC, USDT and SOL at 4%, with BTC at 0.25% and a long tail at 0.1%.

Look at that savings list again. Bitcoin has no staking mechanism. USDC and USDT have no staking mechanism. Whatever generates the 4% on stablecoins, it is definitionally not protocol issuance — and CEX.IO does not state what it is. Neither its savings page nor its savings risk page explains how the yield is produced or who the counterparty is. That is not unusual in this market, but it is the single most important unanswered question about the product, and we record it as such in theCEX.IO review.

Two products, one brand — CEX.IO Earn

Staking assets
13 proof-of-stake tokens, ATOM 12% down to ADA 1.5%. Rates set by the protocols, not by CEX.IO.
Savings assets
22 assets, led by USDC, USDT and SOL at 4%; BTC 0.25%; a long tail at 0.1%. Formula published as reward rate × amount ÷ 365.
Lock-up
None on either. Staking accrues hourly and pays monthly; savings accrues and pays daily.
The gap
CEX.IO does not disclose how the Savings yield is generated or who deploys the deposited funds. BTC and stablecoins cannot be staked, so it is not a pass-through.
A second gap
Marketing copy describes Locked Savings at 30, 60 and 90 days; the Savings FAQ states that no Locked Savings option is currently provided.

Read from CEX.IO's own earn, savings, staking and support pages on 16 September 2026. Earn is not available to US residents.

Which suits which reader

There is no general answer, but there is a reliable one once you say what you are optimising for. The table below is a decision aid rather than a comparison: read down the left column until a row describes you.

A decision table, not a ranking
If this describes youLean towardsBecause
You hold ETH or SOL long term and will not sell soonStakingYou are paid for a commitment you were making anyway, and dilution works against you if you do not
You hold stablecoins and want them workingSavings, benchmarked against T-billsStablecoins cannot be staked; anything above 3.97% is credit, basis or subsidy and should be priced as such
You might need the money inside a monthFlexible savingsUnbonding is not negotiable — 28 days on DOT, 21 on ATOM, and Ethereum entry is over 31 days today
You are uncomfortable being an unsecured creditorNon-custodial stakingSolana delegation has no protocol minimum and never transfers your coins to anyone
You hold Bitcoin and want yield on itNeither, in most casesThere is no staking, and lending demand is thin — wrapped BTC supplied to Aave v3 earns 0.00%
You want the highest number on the pageReread the conditionsBybit’s 12% stops at 500 USDT; Crypto.com pays its full rate on the first US$3,000

Analysis, not advice. Your jurisdiction, tax position and time horizon change these answers.

If you take the comparison one step further — into liquidity pools, emissions and impermanent loss — the trade-offs change shape again, and we set them out instaking vs yield farming. For the per-provider detail behind everything above, the platform comparison holds all fifteen in one place, and Ethereum staking andSolana staking go deeper on the two assets most readers are actually holding.

Frequently asked questions

Is crypto earn the same as staking?

Usually not. "Earn" is a marketing label that platforms attach to several different products, only one of which is staking. The quickest test is the asset: if a product pays you on Bitcoin or on a stablecoin, it cannot be staking, because neither has a native proof-of-stake mechanism. Someone is borrowing your coins, or the platform is paying you out of its own budget. Our platform comparison records which engine sits behind each provider's products.

Which pays more, staking or a crypto savings account?

On stablecoins, savings products pay more, because stablecoins cannot be staked at all — Ledn pays 6.5% under $100,000 and 8.5% above, against a three-month Treasury bill at 3.97%. On proof-of-stake assets the answer flips: Ethereum's network APR was 2.46% on 16 September 2026, and Cosmos pays a nominal 19.42% to 19.64% that works out at roughly 6.2% after its own 12.67% token issuance. The comparison only means something within a single asset. See rates compared.

Is staking safer than a crypto savings account?

They fail in different ways rather than in the same way at different intensities. Staking exposes you to token price, to dilution from new issuance, to unbonding queues and, on some chains, to slashing — but nobody has to repay a loan for the reward to arrive. A savings account exposes you to the solvency of a company or the performance of a loan book, which is the risk that destroyed customer funds in 2022. If the platform custodies your coins, you carry its counterparty risk either way. Crypto earn risks sets out both.

Do I pay tax differently on staking rewards and savings interest?

In most jurisdictions both land as income at receipt, but the timing and the trigger differ. US guidance treats staking rewards as ordinary income at fair market value when you gain dominion and control over them, which can mean owing cash tax on rewards you cannot yet withdraw. In the UK, HMRC treats most retail staking rewards as miscellaneous income, and a transfer of beneficial ownership into a staking or savings arrangement can itself be a taxable disposal. This is jurisdiction-specific and not advice — see tax on crypto earnings.

Can I lose my principal staking?

Through slashing, rarely: fewer than 500 validators have been slashed out of more than 1.2 million active since the Beacon Chain launched, and most proof-of-stake chains in wide use — Cardano, Avalanche, NEAR, Tron, Sui, Aptos, Algorand — have no slashing at all. The real principal risks are price movement while you are locked, and the custodian. An Ethereum entry queue of about 31 days and 19 hours on 16 September 2026 is a month in which you hold the price risk without the reward.

Why do exchanges call lending products "savings"?

Because the word tests better than "unsecured loan to a company". The products are not deposits, they are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme anywhere we found except Xapo Bank's US dollar balances, and in several cases the terms transfer ownership of the asset to the platform for the duration. Bitpanda states this outright. Most competitors do not. Read how crypto savings accounts really work for the full mechanism.

Keep reading