Skip to content
cryptoearn.guide

Earning models

Crypto savings accounts, without the marketing

Every one of these products pays you for lending something to somebody. The rate you see is the last step in that chain, not the first — and it is the step most comparison sites stop at.

Partner link to CEX.IO. Earn is not available to US residents. Rates are variable and set per asset.

Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026

3.97%
3-month US Treasury bill, the benchmark
6.5–8.5%
Ledn USDC and USDT, by balance tier
9.5%
Nexo flexible USDT, advertised maximum
3.35%
Xapo Bank US dollar savings

A crypto savings account borrows its name from a product it has almost nothing in common with. A bank savings account is a deposit: the bank owes you the money, a prudential regulator supervises whether it can pay, and a government scheme stands behind a slice of the balance if it cannot. A crypto savings account is a claim on a private company that has taken your asset and done something with it. Which something — and whether the company tells you — is the entire subject of this page.

We checked the published terms of every provider named below on 16 September 2026. What follows is not a ranking. It is an attempt to answer four questions for each product in turn: what funds the interest, which part of your balance actually earns the headline rate, what you must do or hold to qualify, and what happens to your money if the company stops trading.

Key takeaways

  • A crypto savings account is not a deposit. In every case we checked except one, the customer is an unsecured creditor of the platform with no deposit guarantee.
  • The single exception is Xapo Bank, whose US dollar balances sit under the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the equivalent of £120,000. Xapo states that its crypto balances are not covered.
  • Headline rates are routinely tapered by balance. Bybit pays 12.00% on flexible USDT only up to 500 USDT, then 0.70%, then 0.28% above 1,000 USDT.
  • Crypto.com applies the full advertised rate to the first US$3,000, half of it to the next US$27,000, and 0.3 times that to anything above US$30,000.
  • Ledn, Xapo Bank, Bitpanda and SwissBorg state where the yield comes from. Nexo and Crypto.com do not disclose it on their consumer pages.
  • The 3-month US Treasury bill paid 3.97% on 15 September 2026. Any stablecoin rate materially above that is being paid out of credit risk, leverage or a marketing budget.

The four things that can be paying you

Money does not appear because a product is called savings. Somebody has to generate it. Across the whole market there are only four sources, and a savings product is a wrapper around one or more of them.

The most common by far is lending demand. Your stablecoins go to a borrower — a margin trader on the same exchange, a retail customer with a bitcoin-backed loan, or an institution — who pays interest, and the platform keeps a spread. Ledn is the clearest example: it states that interest on USDC and USDT Growth Accounts is "entirely generated by lending to Ledn's bitcoin-backed retail loan book, which is overcollateralized", and that the book has no history of loan losses since inception, a statement it dates to June 2026 and qualifies with its own reminder that past performance does not guarantee future results. YouHodler runs the same shape at higher risk: deposits fund its own crypto-backed lending book, priced between 0.5% and 1.5% per month depending on loan-to-value, and the platform keeps the margin. The mechanics of that trade — collateral, utilisation, liquidation — are the subject of ourguide to crypto lending.

The second is real-world interest. Xapo Bank pays 3.35% variable on US dollar savings and says where it comes from: "high-quality liquid assets, including AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds". That is the only rate in this survey you can check against a government yield curve rather than a company's word. The on-chain version of the same idea is covered in tokenised treasuries.

The third is protocol rewards passed through from a proof-of-stake blockchain. Bitpanda's staking products and Revolut's are genuine pass-throughs; so is the staking half of most exchange earn menus. This is a different instrument with a different failure mode, and it belongs on our staking pillar rather than here. The giveaway is the asset: Bitcoin and fiat-backed stablecoins have no native staking, so a rate on either of them is never a protocol reward.

The fourth is the marketing budget. Coinbase's 3.50% on USDC is funded by Coinbase out of the interest earned on USDC reserves, is explicitly variable, and since 15 December 2025 has been restricted to Coinbase One subscribers in nine markets including the US and the UK. Crypto.com's CRO rewards and Bybit's APR boosters sit in the same category. These can be excellent deals. They are customer acquisition costs, and they end when the acquisition target is met.

What the headline rate is attached to

The table below is the shortest honest summary we can write of the retail savings market as it stood on 16 September 2026. Every rate is the provider's own advertised maximum unless noted, and the fourth column is the part the advertising leaves out.

Crypto savings products: what funds the rate, and what the rate requires
ProviderWhat funds the yieldVerified headlineThe condition attached
LednOvercollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loan book, stated6.5% / 8.5% USDC, USDT8.5% applies only above $100,000; stablecoins only since BTC accounts closed on 1 July 2025
Xapo BankAAA-rated T-bills and money market funds, stated3.35% USDUS dollars, not crypto; the BTC savings rate is 0.25%
NexoNot disclosed on consumer pages9.5% flexible / 12.5% fixed USDT$5,000 portfolio minimum, loyalty tier, and up to 2% of it requires taking interest in NEXO tokens
BitpandaAn unsecured loan to Bitpanda GmbH, stated7% USDC, EURCVOnly 3% is contractual; the rest is a bonus paid at Bitpanda's sole discretion in 14-day cycles
Crypto.comNot disclosed; mixed staking, promotion and unspecifiedUp to 1.5% BTC, up to 4% ETHFull rate on the first US$3,000 only; USDT and USDC appear as "up to 0%" under Earn Plus
BybitNot verifiable — help centre and T&C pages returned nothing12.00% flexible USDTApplies to at most 500 USDT; 0.70% to 1,000 USDT and 0.28% above it
SwissBorgNamed third-party protocols, stated per strategy with a risk rating1.018–2.036% USDC via MorphoThe range is the tier spread; base-tier users get the bottom of it
YouHodlerSpread on its own crypto-backed lending bookUp to 7.5% USDT and USDCThird-party verified May 2026; the official rate pages returned 404 when we checked
WirexConverted to DAI or another stablecoin and deployed in an unnamed DeFi protocolUp to 9.75% flexibleProtocol not named; help centre says interest is weekly while the marketing page says daily
CoinbaseCoinbase, out of USDC reserve interest3.50% USDCCoinbase One subscription required in nine markets since 15 December 2025

Compiled from provider documentation and, where marked, third-party rate verification. Checked 16 September 2026. All rates are variable and most are advertised maxima.

The balance taper, in detail

If you remember one mechanic from this page, make it this one. Two large platforms shrink the advertised rate as your balance grows, and they do it by design rather than by accident. The advertised number is bait for the comparison tables; the tapered number is what the business can afford to pay at scale.

How the Crypto.com Earn taper reduces the effective rate
Balance bandRate appliedShare of a US$100,000 allocation
First US$3,000Full advertised Tier 1 rate3%
Next US$27,0000.5× the Tier 1 rate27%
Above US$30,0000.3× the Tier 2 rate70%

Structure from Crypto.com's own help documentation; applies to fixed-term allocations across all assets except USDC. Checked 16 September 2026.

Bybit's version is blunter still. Its flexible USDT product advertises 12.00% APR; that tier ends at 500 USDT. From 500 to 1,000 USDT the rate is 0.70%, and above 1,000 USDT it is 0.28%. A 10,000 USDT balance therefore blends out close to 0.3%, roughly a fortieth of the number on the banner. Neither platform is hiding the tables — both publish them — but no comparison site that quotes "Bybit: 12%" is telling you anything useful. We keep the full set of tiered and conditional rates on the rates page.

Loyalty tiers and the native-token problem

The second mechanic that separates the headline from the outcome is tiering by holdings of the platform's own token. Nexo runs four loyalty tiers set by the share of your portfolio held in NEXO: Base with none, Silver at 1% or more, Gold at 5% and Platinum at 10%. The headline rate is a stack — a base rate, plus the tier uplift, plus up to 2% more for electing to receive interest in NEXO rather than in the asset you deposited, plus 1% for accepting a one-month fixed term. Crypto.com's Level Up programme, SwissBorg's seven membership tiers and Wirex's X-tras plans all work on the same principle, and Wirex's top tier requires locking 7.5 million WXT alongside a paid subscription.

Flexible or fixed, and what you give up

Almost every provider sells both a flexible product you can exit any day and a fixed term that pays more. The premium for locking is smaller than most people expect. Nexo adds 1% for a one-month term and shows fixed rates up to 12.5% on USDT against 9.5% flexible. Crypto.com offers flexible, one-month and three-month terms. Bybit's fixed products carry a 500 USDT minimum on the one-day USDT term against 1 USDT on the flexible equivalent.

The cost of a fixed term is not only illiquidity. Binance's locked products forfeit all accrued rewards on early redemption — you get the principal back, minus the rewards you had already been paid during the term. Crypto.com does the same and goes further: CRO fixed terms cannot be withdrawn early at all. Gate's fixed terms permit early redemption with interest forfeiture. KuCoin's documentation is the bluntest: where early redemption is allowed at all, "the amount returned could be lower than the original principal". Read that sentence twice before choosing a term for a rate difference of one or two percentage points.

Fixed terms also interact badly with a variable market. Binance states that its locked APR is "not fixed" and is "subject to change on a daily basis, unless otherwise stated", which makes "fixed term" a description of your liquidity rather than of your rate. The only fixed thing is the lock.

Illustration of coins being dropped into a piggy bank beside a stack of notes

Disclosure, not adjectives

Four providers tell you where the money comes from

Ledn names its loan book. Xapo names the instruments. Bitpanda says in its own product terms that the stablecoin product is a loan to Bitpanda GmbH in Vienna, that ownership of the assets passes to Bitpanda for the term, and that it is "an unregulated product" with no deposit protection and exposure to counterparty, insolvency and de-pegging risk.

SwissBorg goes furthest in one respect and least far in another: it names the venue behind each strategy — Lido for ETH, Morpho for USDC, Maple, Kyros for SOL — and rates each low, medium or high risk. The trade is that you now carry smart-contract risk on top of platform risk, and a protocol exploit is a direct loss rather than an insured event.

Nexo, Crypto.com and Wirex do not tell you. Wirex at least says the category — conversion to DAI and deployment into a DeFi protocol — without naming the protocol. That is not enough information to price anything. Read the individual write-ups inour Ledn review and our Nexo reviewfor how differently two platforms in the same category can behave.

Minimums, accrual and how often you are actually paid

The mechanical terms vary more than the rates do, and they change the real return. Nexo requires a $5,000 portfolio balance before you earn interest at all, plus an explicit opt-in. Crypto.com sets per-asset minimums — 0.005 BTC, 0.15 ETH, 250 USDC or USDT. Ledn has no minimum and no lock-up: you opt in and out by moving assets between a Growth Account and a non-interest-bearing Transaction Account. Coinbase's USDC rewards start at $1. CEX.IO's savings product has no minimum and no maximum, publishes its accrual formula as the reward rate multiplied by the amount and divided by 365, and pays into a separate savings wallet daily.

Payment frequency follows no pattern. Ledn accrues daily and pays monthly, in kind, typically on the first of the following month. Crypto.com pays every seven days. Bitpanda credits weekly and restakes automatically. Bybit accrues from T+1, distributes from T+2 and pays daily at 00:30 UTC into the funding account. Nexo compounds flexible interest daily and pays fixed-term interest once, at the end. There is one small trap worth knowing: CEX.IO's savings terms state that redeeming on a given day forfeits that day's reward, so a same-day in-and-out earns nothing.

Compounding deserves a note of its own. A daily-compounding 9.5% is genuinely better than a simple 9.5%, but only if the rate survives the year. Because these rates are discretionary and move without notice — Coinbase cut its US USDC rate from 4% to 3.5% in October 2025 and applied two separate 0.25% cuts in the UK during the same year — a compounded twelve-month projection describes a scenario rather than a return. Treat it as an illustration of arithmetic, not a forecast.

The deposit guarantee question, answered properly

This is where the analogy with banking collapses entirely. In the US, UK and EU a bank deposit is covered by a statutory scheme and the bank is supervised for solvency. Across the ten providers in the table above, exactly one balance type is covered by anything comparable: Xapo Bank's US dollar balances, protected by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the equivalent of £120,000. Xapo Bank Limited is licensed in Gibraltar under the Financial Services Act 2019. Xapo states directly that crypto asset deposits are not covered.

Everywhere else you are an unsecured creditor. Custody insurance does not change that. Nexo holds assets with BitGo, Ledger Vault and Fireblocks, is SOC 2 Type 2 certified and carries insurance underwritten through Lloyd's of London, Marsh and Arch — but that cover responds to a custodian being hacked, not to the platform becoming insolvent or its loan book going bad, and Nexo does not state the coverage amount on its own insurance page. YouHodler uses Ledger Vault cold storage with claimed segregation and has no public proof-of-reserves audit. Ledn takes a structural approach instead, ring-fencing account types through separate Cayman special-purpose vehicles, UC SA I Company and UT SA I Company; that is better practice than a single balance sheet, and it has never been tested in an insolvency.

What insolvency actually looks like is documented. BlockFi creditors achieved a widely reported 100% recovery — of their US dollar claim valued at the July 2022 petition date, which meant being made whole at 2022 prices while missing everything that happened to crypto afterwards. Celsius claims were fixed the same way, in dollars, as of 13 July 2022. Gemini Earn users were the exception that proves the rule: they got their actual coins back, in kind. The full account is in what happened to the CeFi lenders.

What to ask before you deposit

None of this makes crypto savings products unusable. It makes the diligence different from choosing a bank. The following five questions can be answered from a provider's own pages in about ten minutes, and if any of them cannot be, that is itself the answer.

A ten-minute check on any savings product

  1. 1

    Who borrows the money, and against what collateral?

    If the provider names the borrower type and the collateral, you can form a view on whether the rate is plausible. If it does not, you are pricing a brand. Ledn and Xapo answer this in one sentence each; Nexo and Crypto.com do not answer it at all.
  2. 2

    Is the rate contractual or discretionary?

    Bitpanda splits its own headline into a 3% contractual base and a discretionary bonus. Binance states its locked APR is "not fixed" and changes daily. Coinbase says the rate "may change at any time". A discretionary rate is a marketing position, not a term of the agreement.
  3. 3

    Which slice of my balance earns the headline?

    Find the tier table before you find the sign-up button. On Bybit the top rate ends at 500 USDT; on Crypto.com it ends at US$3,000. Work out the blended rate on the amount you actually intend to deposit, then compare that against the 3.97% you could get from a three-month Treasury bill.
  4. 4

    What do I have to hold or buy to qualify?

    A loyalty tier funded by the platform's own token, a paid subscription, or an election to be paid in a token you did not choose all reduce the real return and increase correlation with the counterparty. Price them as costs, because that is what they are.
  5. 5

    Which legal entity am I contracting with, and what happens if it fails?

    Find the entity name and its jurisdiction, then check whether any licence it holds actually covers the savings product. A MiCA authorisation covers regulated crypto services; it does not turn an unsecured loan into a protected deposit. Our regulation guide explains which permission covers what.

Where a savings product fits, and where it does not

A crypto savings account is a reasonable instrument for one specific job: earning something on stablecoins you intend to hold anyway, at a venue whose funding model you can describe out loud, in a size you could lose without changing your plans. It is a poor instrument for the job most of its marketing implies, which is replacing a bank deposit. The 3.97% available from a three-month Treasury bill on 15 September 2026 is the number every one of these products has to beat after risk, and several of them do not beat it before risk.

For anyone holding a proof-of-stake asset rather than a stablecoin, the comparison is different again, because a protocol will pay you directly without a company in the middle — that is the argument set out in staking versus savings. For anyone willing to hold their own keys, the same lending demand is available without a balance sheet in the way, at rates you can verify on-chain; stablecoin yield covers what those rates are and why regulation is reshaping them. And if you would rather start from the provider than the product, the platform reviews take each one apart in turn.

Frequently asked questions

What is a crypto savings account?

It is a product that pays you a rate for leaving a crypto asset with a platform. The name is borrowed from banking, but the structure is not: there is no deposit guarantee, no prudential capital requirement behind the promise, and in most cases no contractual rate. What you actually hold is an unsecured claim on a company that has done something with your coins — usually lent them out. The mechanics of that are covered in our guide to how crypto lending works.

What is the highest crypto savings account interest rate available?

The highest advertised numbers we verified on 16 September 2026 were Nexo at up to 9.5% flexible on USDT and up to 12.5% on a fixed term, and Wirex at up to 9.75% on its flexible product. Both require conditions — Nexo needs a $5,000 portfolio balance plus loyalty-tier holdings of its own token, and Wirex routes deposits into an unnamed DeFi protocol. The highest rate with a plainly disclosed funding source was Ledn at 8.5% on USDC balances above $100,000. See every rate we could verify for the full set.

Are crypto savings accounts safe?

They carry a risk a bank account does not: if the platform fails, you queue as an unsecured creditor. That is not theoretical — Celsius, BlockFi, Voyager and Gemini Earn users all found out in 2022. The one product in this survey with an actual deposit guarantee is Xapo Bank's US dollar balance, covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the equivalent of £120,000; Xapo states plainly that its crypto balances are not covered. Our risk guide sets out how to size a position accordingly.

Do crypto savings accounts pay compound interest?

Some do and some only look like they do. Nexo credits flexible interest daily and compounds it daily; its fixed-term product pays once at the end. SwissBorg pays daily with compounding. Crypto.com pays every seven days. Ledn accrues daily and pays monthly in kind, and does not address compounding in its documentation. Because almost every rate here is variable rather than contractual, a compounded projection over a year assumes a rate nobody has promised to keep.

Which crypto exchanges have savings accounts?

Most large exchanges run something branded as savings or flexible earn, including Bybit, OKX, KuCoin, Gate, Bitget and MEXC, alongside dedicated platforms such as Nexo, YouHodler and Ledn. OKX is unusual in stating plainly that Simple Earn assets are pooled and loaned to borrowers on its platform. Our platform comparison lists what each one discloses, and choosing a venue covers how the provider types differ.

Why is the rate on my balance lower than the advertised APY?

Almost always because of a balance taper. Bybit advertises 12.00% on flexible USDT, but that tier stops at 500 USDT; the next band pays 0.70% and everything above 1,000 USDT pays 0.28%. Crypto.com pays the full advertised rate on the first US$3,000, half of it on the next US$27,000, and 0.3 times that reduced figure above US$30,000. The headline is real. It applies to a slice of your balance, not all of it.

Is a crypto savings account better than staking?

They are different instruments. Staking pays you newly issued tokens from a blockchain, so the payer is a protocol and the cost is dilution. A savings product pays you from a company's revenue, so the payer is a balance sheet and the cost is credit risk. Neither is strictly better; they fail in different ways and in different conditions. We set the two side by side in staking versus savings.

Keep reading