Crypto earn platforms, compared on what actually differs
Fifteen providers, read against their own documentation: where the yield comes from, what the provider keeps, which tier of your balance earns the headline rate, and which licence actually covers the product you are buying.
CEX.IO is our commercial partner and is listed first. That placement is disclosed, not earned by scoring.
Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026
0–90%
Published commission range on staking rewards
500 USDT
Balance cap on Bybit's advertised 12% tier
3.97%
Three-month US Treasury bill, the benchmark to beat
£120,000
The only deposit guarantee in this set, on Xapo USD only
Every list of the best crypto earn platforms sorts by advertised APY. That is the one field that tells you almost nothing, because the number is not a property of the platform — it is a property of a tier, a term, a token holding or a promotion. The useful comparison is narrower and duller: who is paying you, out of what, how much of it they keep, and whether the entity you are contracting with is registered anywhere you could check.
This page holds fifteen providers we read in full on 16 September 2026 — nine exchanges and exchange-adjacent venues, three dedicated savings and lending platforms, three broker or app-first businesses, and one licensed bank. For each we recorded the same eleven fields, and where a provider does not publish something we say so rather than estimating it. "Not disclosed" is a finding. It is frequently the most important one on the page.
Key takeaways
Commission is the widest differentiator in this market: from Revolut stating it passes on 100% of rewards to Binance.US Soft-Staking taking 90%, leaving the user 10%.
Five providers state clearly where the yield comes from — Ledn, Xapo Bank, Bitpanda, SwissBorg and OKX. Nexo, Crypto.com and Wirex do not.
The advertised rate on several platforms applies only to a first tranche: Bybit's 12% stops at 500 USDT, and Crypto.com pays its full rate on the first US$3,000 before halving it.
Only one balance in this entire set carries a deposit guarantee — Xapo Bank's US dollar savings, covered by the Gibraltar scheme up to the equivalent of £120,000. Its Bitcoin balances are not covered.
A MiCA authorisation is a conduct and disclosure licence, not insurance. Bitpanda holds one and still describes its own stablecoin earn product as unregulated.
Ordering on this page is editorial and not a ranking. CEX.IO is our commercial partner and is listed first with that disclosure attached.
The four engines, applied to choosing a platform
There are only four places a crypto yield can come from, and a platform is best understood as a particular mix of them. Reading the mix first collapses most of the choice.
Protocol rewards. The chain issues new tokens to validators and the platform passes some share on. Kraken and Revolut are the clearest cases here; Coinbase, Bitpanda and Uphold also run genuine validator operations. The economics are honest but thin — Ethereum's network APR was 2.46% on 16 September 2026, and the platform's commission comes straight off that. Everything about the mechanism is in crypto staking.
Lending demand. Someone borrows the asset and pays interest; you supply it and take a share. OKX states this outright — Simple Earn assets "will be pooled and loaned to borrowers on our platform (which may include borrowers under our loan programmes or margin traders)". Ledn says the same about its stablecoin book, which is funded entirely by its overcollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loans. YouHodler runs the same shape with a leveraged retail book. This is the engine behind most products labelled "savings", and the mechanism is covered in crypto lending.
Real-world interest. Someone buys short-dated government paper and passes the coupon through. Xapo Bank is explicit that its 3.35% on dollars comes from AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds. KuCoin describes KCUSD returns as supported by US Treasury securities. Since this yield is the risk-free rate minus a fee, it is the one category that cannot surprise you on the upside — see tokenised treasuries for the on-chain version.
Marketing spend. Coinbase's 3.50% on USDC is funded by Coinbase out of USDC reserve interest; it is discretionary, it was cut twice in a year, and from 15 December 2025 it pays only Coinbase One subscribers. Bitpanda's 7% stablecoin rate is a 3% contractual base plus a bonus granted "at Bitpanda's sole discretion" in fourteen-day cycles. Launch promotions, spin wheels and booster vouchers are the same category. These can be excellent deals. They are not a business model that scales with your balance.
The fifteen platforms
Each card carries the headline figure the provider advertises, the condition attached to it, the lock-up, the stated fee, the geographic exclusions and the licensing we could verify in a register. Where a field reads as not disclosed, that is the provider's choice, not a gap in our reading. Checked 16 September 2026.
Exchange-run staking and flexible savings with no lock-up, backed by an unusually long licence list.
Staking up to 12% · Savings up to 4%
ATOM leads staking; USDC, USDT and SOL lead savings. Rates are variable and set per asset.
Lock-up
None — staking and savings are both flexible
Fee
No commission stated on staking rewards; savings advertised as free to use
Access
Around 250 countries and territories. Not available to US residents.
Licensing
FCA-registered in the UK (FRN 1007192), ~40 US state money transmitter licences under NMLS 1804170, PCI DSS certified. No MiCA authorisation could be verified.
The table below is the whole set in one view. Read the third and fourth columns together: the advertised figure is only meaningful net of what the provider keeps, and several of the largest names in this market do not publish that second number at all.
Fifteen crypto earn platforms — engine, headline, commission and lock-up
USD 3.35% · BTC 0.25% · BTC Credit Fund target up to 4%
Membership model; fee not published on the earn page
None on savings; the Credit Fund needs USD 120,000 equivalent
Compiled from each provider's own published product, fee and support pages, checked 16 September 2026. Rates are variable. Ordering is editorial and is not a ranking.
Commission is the biggest single differentiator
Nothing else in this comparison moves the outcome as far. The published range across the broader market runs from zero to ninety per cent of the rewards, and both extremes are real. A fourteen-provider fee survey dated 12 September 2026 found that only five of fourteen staking providers disclosed a specific percentage at all.
The arithmetic is unforgiving because the underlying yields are small. On an Ethereum staking APR of about 2.46%, a 35% commission costs roughly 89 basis points — more than half of the real, inflation-adjusted return once ETH's net issuance is accounted for. A 10% fee costs about 25 basis points on the same base, which is around 15% of the real economic return. The commission is not a rounding error on a 2% product; it is most of the decision.
What each provider states it keeps from your rewards
Provider
Stated commission
What is unusual about it
Revolut
0%
States it passes on 100% of rewards received on-chain; third-party validators may take up to 3% before that point
Binance (ETH staking)
10%
Applied before distribution and adjustable at Binance’s discretion; the Simple Earn fee is not separately disclosed
OKX
15%
Stated plainly as 85% to the user; part of the retained fee is routed to internal risk funds
Kraken (bonded)
25% to 0%
Tiered by assets under management, reaching 0% only above $100m
Kraken (flexible, Auto Earn)
30%
Flat — and only up to 50% of your balance is actually staked
Coinbase
35%
Standard rate; 25.25% to 31.75% for Coinbase One subscribers, who also pay a monthly fee
Uphold (flexible)
up to 50%
Boosted staking runs 20–25%; displayed APY is stated to be net of commission
Binance.US Soft-Staking
90%
The user receives 10% of rewards; the most punitive published take rate we found
Bybit, KuCoin, Crypto.com, Bitpanda
Not published
KuCoin references performance-based fees without a number; Crypto.com quotes staking APRs explicitly excluding its own fee
Provider fee pages and support documentation, checked 16 September 2026. Binance.US and Uphold are outside this page's fifteen but included for range.
The disclosure league table
We asked one question of every provider's own consumer pages: does it say where the money comes from? Five answer it clearly. Several of the largest names do not answer it at all. This is the field on which the market divides most sharply, and it is not correlated with size.
Does the provider state where the yield comes from?
Provider
Stated source of the yield
Disclosure
Ledn
Overcollateralised bitcoin-backed retail loan book, ring-fenced in separate Cayman SPVs
Clear
Xapo Bank
AAA-rated US Treasury bills and money market funds for USD; institutional BTC lending for the Credit Fund
Clear
Bitpanda
Validator rewards for staking; for stablecoins, a loan to Bitpanda GmbH described in its own words as an unregulated product
Clear, and unusually blunt
SwissBorg
Named third-party venues including Lido, Morpho, Maple and Kyros, each carrying its own risk label
Clear, with risk ratings
OKX
Pooled and loaned to borrowers on the platform, including margin traders
Clear for Simple Earn
Revolut
Validator rewards, passed on in full
Stated
Coinbase
Protocol rewards for staking; USDC rewards funded by Coinbase from reserve interest
Stated, though the two are easy to conflate
YouHodler
Spread on its own leveraged retail lending book
Only via third-party coverage
CEX.IO
Not stated for Savings; BTC and stablecoins have no native staking, so it is not staking
Not disclosed
Nexo
Not stated on consumer pages
Not disclosed
Crypto.com
Mixed; staking pass-through plus CRO-denominated promotional spend
Not disclosed
Wirex
Converted to DAI or another stablecoin and deployed in an unnamed DeFi protocol
Partial — the protocol is not named
Assessed against each provider's consumer-facing product, risk and help pages on 16 September 2026. Wirex and Uphold are outside this page's fifteen and are included for contrast.
Grouped by what the platform actually does
Staking-first: the pass-through businesses
Kraken and Revolut sit here. Both run or contract validators and pay you a share of protocol issuance. The differences are in the commission and in the fine print: Kraken publishes per-asset flexible and bonded rates, but its flexible product stakes only up to 50% of the balance you commit, which halves the effective yield on the advertised number. Revolut states a zero platform commission, shows rates only in-app, and its per-asset figures and unstaking periods are therefore not verifiable from outside. A headline of "up to 22% APY" is high for the assets it lists and almost certainly reflects a single small-cap token.
Lending-first: the credit businesses
Nexo, OKX, Ledn and YouHodler are, economically, credit funds with an app on top. They differ enormously in how much they will tell you about the loan book. Ledn names it precisely, states it is overcollateralised and retail, ring-fences accounts in separate SPVs, and stopped paying Bitcoin yield entirely on 1 July 2025 on the reasoning that reusing client assets to create leverage was the thing Bitcoin was built to avoid. OKX names its borrowers as a category. Nexo does not explain how it generates yield at all on its consumer pages, and its own site quotes three mutually inconsistent headline maxima. YouHodler sells leveraged products to the same customers whose deposits fund the book. For the full pattern, including the ways this category failed in 2022, read the CeFi collapses.
Mixed shelves: the large exchanges and app-first brokers
CEX.IO, Coinbase, Binance, Crypto.com, Bybit, KuCoin, SwissBorg and Bitpanda all run several genuinely different products under one "Earn" label. This is where most reader confusion is manufactured. Binance alone runs Simple Earn Flexible, Simple Earn Locked, ETH staking, Launchpool and Dual Investment — and Dual Investment is a sold option, not a savings product, with no principal protection. Crypto.com pairs real staking pass-through with CRO-denominated promotional spend and a balance taper. KuCoin lists structured products beside flexible savings in the same interface. If you take one habit from this page, make it the habit of identifying which product you are in before you look at its rate. Choosing a venue turns that into a checklist.
The bank
Xapo Bank is the only prudentially licensed bank in the set, and it is the only place in this comparison where a balance is covered by a deposit guarantee — US dollars only, up to the equivalent of £120,000 under the Gibraltar scheme, with crypto explicitly excluded. It also pays 0.25% on Bitcoin and says so without embarrassment, which tells you more about the true state of BTC yield than any 7% headline elsewhere. That argument is developed in earn Bitcoin.
What each licence actually means
Licensing claims are the most frequently misread line on any earn product page. Four different things are routinely presented as though they were the same thing, and only one of them has anything to do with your money coming back.
A MiCA authorisation as a crypto-asset service provider is the strongest of the four in this set. It is granted by a named national regulator, it is checkable in a public register, and it brings conduct, disclosure, client-asset segregation and governance obligations. OKX Europe was authorised in January 2025, Crypto.com in Malta in January 2025, Bitpanda by BaFin in January 2025, Bybit EU by Austria's FMA in May 2025, Coinbase Luxembourg by the CSSF in June 2025, Kraken's Payward Europe Solutions by the Central Bank of Ireland in June 2025, KuCoin's EU entity in November 2025 and SwissBorg by France's AMF in March 2026. Binance has none: it withdrew its Greek application in June 2026 and restricted EEA services ahead of the 1 July 2026 end of national transitional regimes.
A UK FCA cryptoasset registration is narrower than it sounds. It is registration under the Money Laundering Regulations, and the FCA's own caveat — quoted by CEX.IO on its legal page — is that it "relates to AML/CTF supervision and does not constitute authorisation, approval or endorsement". There is no Financial Ombudsman or FSCS cover for cryptoasset complaints behind it.
US state money transmitter licences govern the movement of value, not the safety of a yield product. A long list of them, as CEX.IO holds, tells you the firm has cleared bonding and examination requirements in each state. It says nothing about whether an earn product is lawful there — which is why CEX.IO Earn is barred to US residents despite that list.
A banking licence is the only one of the four that comes with a compensation scheme, and Xapo Bank is the only holder here. Note that it covers the dollars and not the coins. Everything else — VQF membership in Switzerland, a CIMA registration in the Cayman Islands, legacy Italian OAM or Spanish VASP registrations — is AML supervision or company registration, not prudential regulation of your balance.
How to use this page
Start with the engine, not the rate. Then find the condition attached to the headline figure — a balance tier, a term, a token holding, a proportion actually deployed. Then look at what the provider keeps. Then check the contracting entity and whether you can find it in a register. Only then is a rate comparable to another rate, and by that point you will usually find the spread between sensible options is a couple of percentage points rather than the ten or twenty the advertising implies. The savings account guideworks through the same exercise for one product category, andstablecoin yield does it for the asset class where the headline numbers are largest.
Frequently asked questions
Which crypto earn platform pays the most?
The question cannot be answered honestly as asked, because the largest advertised numbers are the ones with the tightest conditions. Bybit advertises 12% on flexible USDT and applies it to a maximum of 500 USDT; above 1,000 USDT the rate is 0.28%. KuCoin shows USDT at 0.45% to 100%, where the top of the range is a quota-limited promotion. Crypto.com pays its full rate on the first US$3,000 only. The platforms with the least exciting headlines — Xapo Bank at 3.35% on dollars, Ledn at 6.5% on stablecoins — are the ones where the number applies to your whole balance. Compare like for like in crypto interest rates.
Are crypto earn platforms safe?
They are not deposits and almost none of them are covered by a compensation scheme. The single exception we found in this set is Xapo Bank, whose US dollar balances sit under the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the equivalent of £120,000 — its crypto balances are explicitly excluded. Everywhere else you are an unsecured creditor of a company, or you are exposed to a smart contract. That is a survivable risk if you size it like credit rather than like savings, which is the argument we make in crypto earn risks and illustrate with the 2022 failures in what happened to the CeFi lenders.
What commission do crypto earn platforms charge?
Where it is published at all, the range across this market runs from 0% to 90% of the rewards. Revolut states it passes on 100% of what it receives on-chain. Binance takes 10% of ETH staking rewards, OKX keeps 15% of accrued returns, Kraken takes 25% to 30% depending on product and balance tier, Coinbase around 35% as standard, Uphold up to 50% on flexible staking, and Binance.US Soft-Staking takes 90%, leaving the user 10%. Several large platforms — Bybit, KuCoin, Crypto.com and Bitpanda among them — do not publish a percentage at all. See how we research platforms for how we treat that silence.
Which crypto earn platforms are available in the US?
Fewer than you would expect. CEX.IO Earn, Nexo before April 2025, Revolut crypto staking and YouHodler are all unavailable or restricted to US residents, and KuCoin users in the US are explicitly barred from KuCoin Earn following the company's 2025 guilty plea and the 2026 CFTC order. Coinbase still cannot take new staking principal in four states. Kraken's opt-in rewards are unavailable in the US and the EEA. Country and state coverage moves faster than any other field on this page, which is why we keep it in where earn is available.
Is a MiCA licence the same as deposit protection?
No. A MiCA authorisation as a crypto-asset service provider imposes conduct, disclosure, client-asset segregation and governance obligations on the firm, and it is checkable in a public register. It does not insure your balance, it does not guarantee solvency, and it does not necessarily cover the earn product itself — Bitpanda holds a BaFin MiCAR licence and still describes its stablecoin Earn product as "an unregulated product" in its own terms. Read the regulation guide for what each regime does and does not reach.
How often do these rates change?
Constantly, and usually without notice. Binance states that its flexible APR is "subject to change every minute". Coinbase says its USDC rate may change at any time and has cut it twice in a year before restricting it to paying subscribers from 15 December 2025. Nexo, Crypto.com and CEX.IO have all revised rates unilaterally. Every figure on this page carries the date we checked it, and none of them is a promise. If a rate matters to your decision, verify it on the provider's own page before you deposit.
Do you rank these platforms?
No. There are no scores, stars or rankings anywhere on this site. The order of the cards below is editorial: our partner is listed first and clearly labelled as such, and the rest are grouped so that comparable businesses sit near each other. What we do instead of a score is publish the same eleven fields for every platform and say plainly where a provider does not disclose something. Our reasoning is set out in our review methodology.