Platform review
YouHodler: the yield and the loan book behind it
YouHodler pays some of the highest advertised stablecoin rates in European crypto finance. The money comes from lending to its own customers, and the best headline rate is only available once you have borrowed.
We are not affiliated with YouHodler. Figures below come from YouHodler's own pages and from a dated third-party review where YouHodler's rate pages could not be read.
Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026
Most crypto savings platforms describe their yield with a verb and no object. Money is "deployed", assets are "put to work", returns are "generated". YouHodler is more legible than that, but only because other people have done the describing. The mechanism is a spread: your deposit funds YouHodler's own crypto-backed lending book, borrowers pay a monthly rate priced by loan-to-value, and the platform keeps the difference between what borrowers pay and what depositors receive.
That is an ordinary business. Banks run it, and so does Ledn. What makes YouHodler unusual is the composition of the loan book. The borrowers are retail customers of the same app, and the same app sells them Turbocharge multi-loop loans, Dual Assets and a product called Cloud Miner. The deposit side and the leveraged side of the business share a customer base and a balance sheet. When you put stablecoins into a YouHodler savings account, you are funding that.
The other thing to know before anything else: we could not read YouHodler's own savings pages. Both the /savings and/savings-account URLs returned errors when we checked on 16 September 2026, and the homepage advertises a 2% card cashback and a "Growth Account" without attaching a rate to it. Every per-asset number below therefore comes from a dated third-party review, and we label it as such.
Key takeaways
- YouHodler funds savings interest from the spread on its own crypto-backed lending book, where loans are priced at 0.5% to 1.5% per month depending on loan-to-value.
- Third-party figures dated 7 May 2026 put USDT and USDC at up to 7.5%, BTC at up to 4.8% and ETH at up to 4.5%. XRP and SOL are not offered.
- The advertised uplift from 4.8% to 7.2% APR on Bitcoin requires taking at least one loan and contacting support with the Loan ID — it is a reward for leverage, not a deposit tier.
- YouHodler states it does not have a regulated UK entity, does not serve the United States, and holds pre-MiCA legacy registrations in Italy and Spain rather than a CASP licence.
- There is no public proof-of-reserves audit and no deposit insurance. Ledger Vault cold storage protects against theft, not against insolvency.
- Live per-asset rates, payout frequency, compounding and minimum balances could not be verified because YouHodler’s savings pages did not load.
At a glance
- What it is
- Crypto savings accounts funded by the platform’s own lending spread, alongside crypto-backed loans and leveraged products
- Yield engine
- Balance-sheet lending. Borrowers pay 0.5%–1.5% per month by LTV; YouHodler keeps the margin
- Verified rates
- USDT 7.5%, USDC 7.5%, BTC 4.8%, ETH 4.5% — third party, dated 7 May 2026
- Assets not offered
- XRP and SOL
- Savings fee
- None charged explicitly; the lending spread is the fee
- Withdrawal fees
- $5–$15 for stablecoins, 0.0005 BTC, 0.005 ETH. Crypto deposits free; fiat card deposits 2.5%
- Regulatory status
- Swiss VQF-registered financial intermediary; Italian OAM and Spanish Banco de España legacy VASP registrations; Argentine CNV registration
- Not available
- United States. YouHodler states it has no regulated UK entity
- Deposit protection
- None
- Not published
- Live rate table, payout frequency, compounding, minimums, proof of reserves
Checked 16 September 2026. Rates described as third-party verified could not be confirmed against YouHodler's own pages.
Which earning model is this?
Of the four engines that pay crypto yield — validator rewards, lending demand, short-dated government paper and plain marketing subsidy — YouHodler runs the second one, and only the second one. There is no staking pass-through here and no treasury exposure. Every basis point a depositor receives has to be paid by a borrower.
The borrower pricing that has been reported is 0.5% to 1.5% per month, set by loan-to-value. In simple annual terms that is roughly 6% to 18% a year at the two ends of the range, which tells you a great deal about how a 7.5% stablecoin rate can be sustainable and where its ceiling sits. A platform paying 7.5% out of a book that charges 6% at the low-LTV end needs either a high average LTV, a high utilisation rate, or both. High LTV lending is the more fragile kind: it liquidates sooner in a drawdown, and liquidations in size are what turned October 2025 into the largest single liquidation day the market has seen.
Rates and the conditions attached
YouHodler advertises at the top end of the European market. The table below is the best verified picture we have, and its most important column is the last one.
| Asset | Verified maximum | Higher rate advertised | What unlocks the higher rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| USDT | up to 7.5% | Not stated | — |
| USDC | up to 7.5% | Not stated | — |
| BTC | up to 4.8% | 7.2% APR | Take a Turbocharge or crypto loan, then contact support with the Loan ID |
| ETH | up to 4.5% | Not stated | — |
| BNB | Not verified | 4.2% | Same loan condition as BTC |
| XRP, SOL | Not offered | — | — |
Rates from a third-party review dated 7 May 2026; uplift mechanism from YouHodler's own blog. YouHodler's live rate pages returned errors on 16 September 2026.
Fees and what they cost in practice
There is no explicit management fee on the savings product, which is honest enough: the spread is the fee, and you never see it. The visible costs sit at the edges of the account.
- Stablecoin withdrawals: $5 to $15, depending on network and asset.
- Bitcoin withdrawals: 0.0005 BTC.
- Ethereum withdrawals: 0.005 ETH.
- Crypto deposits: free.
- Fiat deposits by card: 2.5%.
The card deposit charge deserves a moment. Funding an account with 2.5% of the amount paid at the door means the first four months of a 7.5% stablecoin position go to the deposit fee alone. Anyone funding by card and then withdrawing within a year should do that arithmetic before comparing the headline rate with anything on ourcrypto savings accounts page.
Lock-up, withdrawal and redemption
This is the largest gap in the public record. YouHodler does not state, on any page we could retrieve, how often interest is paid, whether it compounds, whether there is a minimum balance or whether a notice period applies to withdrawals. Those four facts decide what a rate is actually worth, and they are ordinary disclosures — Ledn publishes all of them, and so do most exchanges.
Availability and who is excluded
The United States is not served. The United Kingdom is served, but without a UK entity — a distinction most readers will not draw on their own and which matters enormously. YouHodler's European footprint runs through Switzerland, Italy and Spain, with an additional branch registration in Argentina. There is no evidence of a MiCA authorisation, which is the licence that now defines who may offer crypto services into the EU.
Licensing, and what each registration does not cover
YouHodler lists four regulatory touchpoints on its own site. It is worth being exact about what each one is, because none of them is a prudential licence.
- Switzerland. YouHodler SA is a registered financial intermediary with VQF, a self-regulatory organisation. This is anti-money-laundering supervision. It is not a banking licence and says nothing about solvency or client-asset protection.
- Italy. YouHodler Italy S.R.L. is a VASP registered with the OAM. This was the pre-MiCA Italian regime — a register, not an authorisation.
- Spain. YouHodler SA is a VASP registered with Banco de España. Again, a legacy registration covering money laundering controls, granted before MiCA applied.
- Argentina. A YouHodler SA branch is registered as a VASP with the CNV.
- United Kingdom. YouHodler states it "does not have a regulated UK entity." No FCA registration, no Financial Ombudsman Service, no FSCS.
We could identify no MiCA CASP authorisation. The Italian and Spanish entries are pre-MiCA legacy registrations and do not convert into one automatically. That is a material difference from SwissBorg, which holds a CASP licence from France's AMF, and from Bitpanda, licensed by Germany's BaFin.
Custody, insurance and proof of reserves
YouHodler describes cold storage through Ledger Vault with segregation of client assets. That is a real control and it addresses a real risk: theft, key compromise, custodian failure. It does not address the risk that actually destroys crypto lenders. Assets lent out are, by definition, not in cold storage — they are with borrowers. Custody insurance never covers lending losses or platform insolvency, a distinction we set out in full onwhat happened to the CeFi lenders.
There is no public proof-of-reserves audit. Combined with the missing rate table, that leaves a depositor with no independent way to check either what they are being paid or what backs it.
What works well
- The yield mechanism is a straightforward lending spread, and the borrower pricing of 0.5%–1.5% per month by LTV has been reported, which is more than Nexo discloses.
- Stablecoin rates of up to 7.5% are at the top of the European retail market.
- Crypto deposits are free, and there is no explicit management fee on savings.
- Ledger Vault cold storage with claimed segregation of client assets.
- Registered in four jurisdictions and open about the fact that it has no UK entity.
What to watch
- The best Bitcoin rate is conditioned on taking a loan first — a leveraged product masquerading as a deposit tier.
- Live rates, payout frequency, compounding and minimums are not published anywhere we could read.
- No proof of reserves, no deposit insurance, and no prudential regulator anywhere in the structure.
- The lending book is retail and leveraged, and the same entity sells the leverage.
- A 2.5% card deposit fee can consume four months of stablecoin yield before you earn anything.
- No MiCA CASP authorisation identified; the Italian and Spanish registrations are pre-MiCA legacy.
The risks specific to YouHodler
Every custodial earn product carries counterparty risk. What distinguishes this one is concentration. Three separate exposures point in the same direction at once.
Correlated loan book. The borrowers are the platform's own retail customers, many of them in leveraged positions. A market drawdown hits their collateral, triggers liquidations, and shrinks loan demand — which is what funds your interest — all in the same week.
No independent verification. With no proof of reserves and no readable rate page, a depositor cannot check the two things that matter most. Every other name in this comparison publishes at least one of them.
No prudential backstop. An AML registration in Switzerland and two legacy VASP registrations in the EU do not require capital, liquidity buffers or client-money segregation in the way a banking licence does. In an insolvency, a depositor is an unsecured creditor with no local recourse in the UK at all.
How YouHodler compares with two alternatives on this site
Against Ledn
Ledn is the closest structural comparison, and the contrast is instructive. Both pay stablecoin interest out of a bitcoin-backed loan book. Ledn names the book, states that it is overcollateralised retail lending with no loan losses since inception as of June 2026, prints its own "past performance does not guarantee future results" caveat, ring-fences Growth Account balances in separate Cayman special-purpose vehicles, and publishes monthly proof of reserves through Chainalysis. Its rates are 6.5% below $100,000 and 8.5% above. YouHodler advertises up to 7.5%, discloses none of the structure directly, and sells the leverage that its own loan book depends on. A reader who wants the same engine with more documentation around it has an obvious alternative.
Against Nexo
Nexo advertises higher — up to 9.5% flexible on USDT and 12.5% on a fixed term — but reaches those numbers by stacking a loyalty tier, a NEXO-token payout election and a fixed term, and requires a $5,000 portfolio before any interest accrues at all. Nexo does not disclose its yield source. YouHodler's source is at least describable, and there is no native-token requirement, which removes the reflexive exposure problem that makes Nexo's and Crypto.com's tier systems uncomfortable. On documentation, neither is strong.
Who this suits, and who it does not
Readers who understand that they are making an unsecured loan to a leveraged lending business, who size the position accordingly, and who are comfortable with a rate table they cannot read from outside the app, will find the headline numbers competitive. Readers who came to crypto earn looking for something that behaves like a savings account should look attokenised treasuries or atthe one licensed bank in this comparison instead, and accept a lower number for a very different risk shape. The gap between 7.5% and the 3.97% three-month Treasury bill is not free money — it is the price of the credit risk you are taking, andstablecoin yield explains why that gap exists.
Whatever you conclude, size it as a position and not as a savings balance. The full set of providers, with what each one funds its yield from, is on ourcrypto earn platforms comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Where does YouHodler get the money to pay savings interest?
From the spread on its own lending book. YouHodler lends against crypto collateral at a price reported at 0.5% to 1.5% per month depending on loan-to-value, and pays depositors a lower rate out of that income. It is the same balance-sheet structure described on our crypto lending page, with one difference that matters: the borrowers are retail customers of the same platform, many of them using leveraged products YouHodler also sells. The yield and the risk come from the same book.
What interest rates does YouHodler pay?
The figures we could verify come from a third-party review dated 7 May 2026: USDT and USDC up to 7.5%, BTC up to 4.8% and ETH up to 4.5%, with no XRP or SOL products. YouHodler’s own savings pages returned errors when we tried to read them on 16 September 2026, so we cannot confirm those numbers against the provider’s live table. Treat them as indicative and check in the app. Our crypto interest rates comparison shows where they sit against verified rates elsewhere.
How do you get 7.2% on Bitcoin at YouHodler?
By borrowing first. YouHodler’s own blog describes raising BTC from 4.8% to 7.2% APR, and BNB to 4.2%, for customers who have taken at least one loan — a Turbocharge or a standard crypto loan — and then contacted support with the Loan ID. The uplift is not a deposit tier. It is a reward for taking leveraged exposure, which is a different product with a different risk profile. Read crypto earn risks before treating it as a savings rate.
Is YouHodler regulated in the UK or the EU?
Not as a UK firm, and not under MiCA as far as we could establish. YouHodler states plainly that it "does not have a regulated UK entity." In the EU it holds legacy virtual-asset registrations with Italy’s OAM and Spain’s Banco de España, which predate the MiCA regime and are not CASP authorisations. YouHodler SA is a registered financial intermediary under the Swiss self-regulatory body VQF. There is also an Argentine CNV registration. See crypto earn regulation for what each of those actually does.
Can US residents use YouHodler?
No. YouHodler does not serve the United States. UK customers are in an unusual position too, because YouHodler itself says there is no regulated UK entity, which means no Financial Ombudsman route and no Financial Services Compensation Scheme cover. Our availability by country page tracks which earn products work where.
Does YouHodler publish proof of reserves?
No public proof-of-reserves audit was found. YouHodler describes cold storage through Ledger Vault with segregation of client assets, which addresses theft and custodian failure rather than solvency. There is no deposit insurance of any kind. That combination — an undisclosed live rate table, no reserve attestation and a lending book made of the platform’s own leveraged customers — is why we treat YouHodler as one of the higher-risk names on our platform list.
How does YouHodler compare to Ledn?
Both pay stablecoin yield out of a crypto-backed loan book, and there the similarity ends. Ledn names the book, states it is overcollateralised retail bitcoin lending, reports no loan losses since inception as of June 2026, ring-fences the accounts in separate special-purpose vehicles and publishes monthly proof of reserves. YouHodler’s structure is described mainly by third parties, has no reserve attestation, and the same entity sells leveraged products to the borrowers.
Keep reading
Ledn review
The same lending engine with named collateral, SPV ring-fencing and monthly proof of reserves.
Nexo review
Higher advertised rates, a $5,000 minimum and three different headline maxima on its own pages.
Crypto lending explained
Who borrows your coins, what they post, and why the spread you earn is a credit decision.
Crypto earn risks
Counterparty, custody, liquidity and regulatory risk, separated and ranked.
Crypto savings accounts
How the wider savings market prices stablecoins, and what the conditions usually are.
All earn platforms
Every provider we track, with the yield engine behind each headline rate.