Skip to content
cryptoearn.guide

Platform review

Crypto.com Earn review: the balance taper explained

Crypto.com advertises rates of up to 12%. It pays them on the first US$3,000 of your balance, half as much on the next US$27,000, and less than a third of that above US$30,000.

We are not affiliated with Crypto.com. Every figure below is sourced from Crypto.com's own documentation or a dated third-party tracker.

Figures on this page checked 16 September 2026

Crypto.com sells one of the largest consumer crypto product ranges in existence: an exchange, an app, a prepaid card, a credit card in the US, on-chain staking, a loyalty programme and a set of reward accounts branded Crypto Earn. The Earn product is what most people mean when they ask about Crypto.com yield, and it is the part of the shelf where the distance between the advertised number and the received number is widest.

That distance is not hidden. It sits in a help-centre article describing a three-band balance taper, and once you have read it, every "up to" figure on the marketing pages reads differently. The taper is the single most important thing to understand about this platform, and it is also the thing most reviews leave out. This page puts it first.

We checked every figure here on 16 September 2026 against Crypto.com's own pages where they were retrievable, and against a dated third-party rate tracker where they were not. Where Crypto.com does not publish something material, we say so rather than estimating it.

Key takeaways

  • Crypto Earn pays the advertised Tier 1 rate on only the first US$3,000 of a fixed-term allocation, 0.5× that rate on the next US$27,000, and 0.3× the Tier 2 rate above US$30,000.
  • Advertised Tier 1 rates run to 12% on ATOM and 6.5% on DAI, but a third-party tracker recorded realised base rates of 0.5% on USDC and USDT, 0.2% on BTC and ETH and 0.25% on SOL as of 23 August 2026.
  • USDT and USDC appear on Crypto.com’s own Earn page under Earn Plus at “up to 0%”.
  • On-chain staking APRs are published gross: the page states they exclude fees charged by Crypto.com, and that commission is not published anywhere we could find.
  • Early withdrawal from a fixed term returns principal minus all rewards already paid; CRO fixed terms cannot be withdrawn early at all.
  • Crypto.com holds a MiCA CASP authorisation from the Malta Financial Services Authority granted in January 2025. It does not make an Earn balance a protected deposit.

At a glance

What it is
Crypto Earn is a reward account: a liability of Crypto.com, not segregated custody and not a deposit. On-chain staking is a separate pass-through product.
Terms offered
Flexible, one-month fixed and three-month fixed
Balance taper
Full rate on the first US$3,000; 0.5× on the next US$27,000; 0.3× of Tier 2 above US$30,000. Applies to fixed terms on all assets except USDC.
Advertised Tier 1 rates
BTC up to 1.5%, ETH up to 4%, SOL up to 5%, ATOM up to 12%, DAI up to 6.5%. USDT and USDC shown under Earn Plus at “up to 0%”.
Reward payment
Every 7 days
Minimums
BTC 0.005, ETH 0.15, CRO 500, USDC and USDT 250
Early exit
Principal minus all rewards already paid. CRO fixed terms: no early withdrawal.
Allocation caps
US$500,000 for Pro and below; US$1,000,000 at Private US$50,000; US$2,000,000 at Private US$500,000
Licensing
MiCA CASP via the Malta Financial Services Authority, January 2025; limited financial institution licence in Europe
Not published
Staking commission percentage, the full per-asset and per-tier Earn table, state-by-state US Earn eligibility, UK status, proof of reserves

Checked 16 September 2026. Rates on this platform are variable and jurisdiction-dependent.

Which engine is actually paying you

Crypto.com runs more than one machine behind a single label, and they are funded very differently. On-chain staking is a pass-through: the platform delegates your proof-of-stake assets to validators, collects protocol rewards and hands most of them back. That is the cleanest of the three, because the cash flow comes from a blockchain rather than from a company's willingness to keep paying.

Crypto Earn is not that. It is an unsecured claim on Crypto.com, and the company does not say where the money it pays you comes from. It could be lending, it could be treasury income, it could be marketing spend, or it could be some mix that changes over time. The documentation does not disclose it, and an undisclosed yield source is a material fact in itself. Readers who want the taxonomy should start withthe four engines behind crypto yield.

The third machine is promotional. Card cashback and Level Up CRO bonuses are paid in CRO out of a company or treasury allocation. That is marketing spend dressed as yield. It can be generous and it can be withdrawn, and in 2026 a great deal of it was withdrawn.

The balance taper, in numbers

Crypto Earn offers three terms — flexible, one month and three months. For fixed terms on every asset except USDC, the rate you are quoted applies only to the first slice of your allocation. The table below applies Crypto.com's published bands to a US$100,000 position and shows what the blended multiplier becomes.

How a US$100,000 fixed-term allocation is priced across the three bands
BandAmount in the bandRate multiplierShare of the headline rate earned
Tier 1US$3,0001.0×3% of the balance earns the full rate
Tier 2US$27,0000.5×27% of the balance earns half
Tier 3US$70,0000.3× of Tier 270% of the balance earns 0.15×
BlendedUS$100,0000.27×27% of the advertised rate overall

Bands and multipliers from Crypto.com's Crypto Earn help-centre article. The blended figure is our arithmetic applied to those published bands, not a Crypto.com number. Checked 16 September 2026.

Read that bottom row carefully. A US$100,000 allocation quoted at an advertised rate does not earn that rate on 3% of the money and something close to it on the rest. It earns a blended 27% of the number on the marketing page. The structure is legitimate and it is documented, but it means the headline is a rate that almost nobody with a meaningful balance actually receives. Allocation caps sit above the taper: US$500,000 for Pro and below, US$1,000,000 at the Private US$50,000 level and US$2,000,000 at Private US$500,000.

Advertised rates against realised rates

Crypto.com's Earn page advertises Tier 1 rates of up to 1.5% on BTC, 4% on ETH, 5% on SOL, 12% on ATOM and 6.5% on DAI. USDT and USDC are listed under Earn Plus at "up to 0%", which reads like a placeholder but is what the page shows. A third-party rate tracker recorded realised base rates on 23 August 2026 that sit a long way below the advertised ceilings.

Advertised Tier 1 ceiling against a third-party realised base rate
AssetAdvertised Tier 1 ceilingRealised base rate, 23 Aug 2026
USDC and USDTShown as “up to 0%”0.5%
Bitcoin1.5%0.2%
Ethereum4%0.2%
Solana5%0.25%
Cosmos12%Not recorded
DAI6.5%Not recorded

Advertised rates from crypto.com/earn. Realised base rates recorded by coininterestrate.com on 23 August 2026. Both columns are point-in-time and variable.

The gap between 4% advertised on ETH and 0.2% realised is a factor of twenty. Some of that is the taper, some of it is the difference between a promotional ceiling and a base rate, and some of it is the ordinary variability of a rate the platform can reset at will. What matters for a reader is that the advertised column is not a forecast of the realised column. Our rates comparison puts these numbers next to what other venues pay for the same assets.

Fees, commission and the number that is missing

Crypto Earn does not disclose an explicit fee on the reward accounts. The fee is embedded in the rate: the platform decides what to pay and keeps whatever the underlying activity generates above it. That is normal for a balance-sheet product, and it also means there is no fee number to check.

On-chain staking is different, and here there is a number that should exist and does not. The staking page displays per-asset APRs — 17.92% on ATOM, 11.66% on KSM, 11.44% on CRO, 7.20% on EGLD, 6.70% on INJ, 6.32% on FET, 6.07% on TAO, 5.72% on AVAX, 5.15% on SOL, 4.95% on S, 4.59% on OSMO, 4.51% on NEAR and 4.37% on TIA, as displayed on 16 September 2026. It then carries a disclaimer that those figures are based on estimated validator rewards "excluding fees charged by Crypto.com".

Lock-up, payout and getting your money back

Rewards are paid every seven days. Accrual is formulaic and Crypto.com states it plainly: for fixed terms, the amount allocated multiplied by the annual rate divided by 365; for flexible, the minimum daily balance multiplied by the rate divided by 365. Using the minimum daily balance rather than an average matters if you move funds in and out during a day, because a single low point sets the whole day's accrual.

Minimums are modest: 0.005 BTC, 0.15 ETH, 500 CRO and 250 USDC or USDT. Flexible allocations can be withdrawn without penalty. Fixed terms cannot, in the ordinary sense of the word. An early withdrawal returns your principal minus all rewards already paid during the term, so exiting a three-month term in week ten gives up ten weeks of accrued reward rather than a pro-rated fraction. CRO fixed terms cannot be withdrawn early at all.

Level Up, the card, and what changed in 2026

Crypto.com replaced its old CRO card tiers with a programme called Level Up, running Basic, Plus, Pro and Private, with Private split at US$50,000 and US$500,000. Level Up CRO staking is advertised at up to 3.6% for Pro with a base estimate of 1.8%, and up to 6% for Private with a base estimate of 3%, on 365-day locks. CRO lockup rewards were cut effective 10 September 2026. Private members receive an additional 1% or 2% a year paid in CRO on fixed-term Earn allocations, a benefit effective from 5 September 2025.

The card was overhauled in 2026 into six levels from Basic to Prime. The headline consequence is blunt: users who neither stake CRO nor pay a subscription earn 0% cashback. Paid tiers were priced at US$4.99 for Plus and US$29.99 for Pro in the source that documented the change, cashback runs 2–8%, and the monthly caps are US$25 on Plus and US$75 on Pro, with Private and Prime uncapped. Required CRO lockups run from US$500 at Plus to US$1,000,000 at Prime, each on a twelve-month commitment. Against the 2021-era programme this is a materially worse deal for the average holder, and it is worth saying so plainly.

Availability, licensing and what the licence does not cover

Crypto.com received a MiCA CASP authorisation from the Malta Financial Services Authority in January 2025, corroborated by an independent authorisation tracker, and also holds a limited financial institution licence in Europe. That is a real and meaningful authorisation. It governs conduct, governance, complaints handling, disclosure and custody arrangements for crypto-asset services in the EEA.

It does not turn an Earn balance into a protected deposit. There is no deposit guarantee scheme standing behind a reward account, and MiCA does not impose bank-style prudential solvency requirements on a CASP. If Crypto.com failed, an Earn holder would be an unsecured creditor. That is the same position that mattered most in theCeFi lender failures of 2022, and no European authorisation granted since changes it.

On availability, a third-party tracker reported on 23 August 2026 that the platform serves all US states except New York. We could not verify state-by-state Earn eligibility from Crypto.com's own documentation, and trading eligibility and Earn eligibility are not the same thing. US stablecoin rewards appear to have been discontinued, which is consistent with the GENIUS Act's prohibition on paying yield on payment stablecoins. UK registration status we could not verify either. Token availability and rates vary by jurisdiction on Crypto.com's own account.

Custody, insurance and proof of reserves

An Earn allocation is not segregated custody. It is a claim on the company, and Crypto.com does not present it otherwise. There is no deposit insurance. We were not able to verify a current proof-of-reserves attestation or an audit position in this pass, so we are not going to characterise one. What we can say is that the combination of an undisclosed yield source, an unverified reserves position and an unsecured claim is the combination that deserves the most caution, and it is worth reading alongside ourcrypto earn risk framework.

What works well

  • The balance taper is documented in Crypto.com’s own help centre rather than buried in terms nobody can retrieve — the information is available if you look for it.
  • On-chain staking APRs are published per asset and refreshed, which is more than several competitors manage.
  • A genuine MiCA CASP authorisation from the Malta Financial Services Authority, granted January 2025, plus a limited financial institution licence in Europe.
  • Accrual formulas are stated explicitly, including the minimum-daily-balance basis used for flexible allocations.
  • Minimums are low enough that the product is genuinely accessible — 0.005 BTC, 0.15 ETH, 250 USDC or USDT.
  • Three terms with a real flexible option, so a user who wants liquidity is not forced into a lock-up.

What to watch

  • The advertised rate applies to the first US$3,000 only; a US$100,000 allocation blends to about 27% of the headline number.
  • Realised base rates recorded by a third-party tracker on 23 August 2026 were a fraction of the advertised ceilings — 0.2% on BTC and ETH against ceilings of 1.5% and 4%.
  • USDT and USDC appear on the Earn page at “up to 0%”.
  • The staking commission is not published, so the displayed APRs cannot be compared with any competitor’s net figures.
  • Crypto Earn’s yield source is not disclosed — you are told the rate but not the business behind it.
  • Early exit from a fixed term forfeits all rewards already paid, and CRO fixed terms cannot be exited early at all.
  • The 2026 card overhaul pays 0% cashback to users who neither stake CRO nor subscribe, and CRO lockup rewards were cut on 10 September 2026.

Risks specific to this platform

The first is reflexivity. A large part of what Crypto.com pays out — card cashback, Level Up bonuses, the Private top-up on fixed-term Earn — is denominated in CRO, a token the same company issues. To reach the better tiers you must hold and lock CRO. If the company came under stress, the token, the tier, the rate and the recovery value of your claim would all move together and in the same direction. A tier system built on a counterparty's own token removes the diversification you would normally have between the asset and the venue.

The second is rate discretion. The taper is fixed, but the Tier 1 rate is not, and the 2026 record shows the platform is willing to move terms sharply: stablecoin rewards shown at "up to 0%", CRO lockup rewards cut on 10 September 2026, and a card programme rebuilt so that non-subscribers receive nothing. Rates on reward accounts are not contractual promises, and this platform has demonstrated that repeatedly.

The third is disclosure. Three of the facts a careful reader would want most — where the Earn yield comes from, what the staking commission is, and what the reserves position looks like — are not available. Each absence on its own is common in this sector. Together they make the product hard to price against alternatives that do publish.

How it compares to two alternatives on this site

Against Nexo, the comparison is between two platforms that both gate their best rates behind conditions and neither of which discloses a yield source. Nexo builds its ceiling out of a base rate plus a loyalty tier plus a bonus for taking interest in its own token plus a fixed-term uplift, and its own pages quote three different headline maxima. Crypto.com builds its gap out of a balance taper instead. Nexo requires a US$5,000 portfolio before you earn anything at all; Crypto.com lets you in for 250 USDC. If you want a small stablecoin position, Crypto.com is the more accessible of the two; if you want to know who is borrowing your money, neither will tell you.

Against Bybit, the shape of the problem rhymes but the mechanics differ. Bybit's 12% headline on USDT applies to at most 500 USDT and drops to 0.28% above 1,000 USDT, which is a sharper cliff than Crypto.com's ladder but a clearly published one. Crypto.com discloses more about terms, minimums and accrual; Bybit's own help centre and terms pages returned nothing when we tried to verify the legal nature of its product. Between the two, Crypto.com is the better-documented platform with the worse realised stablecoin rate.

For a reader whose priority is knowing where the money comes from, neither is the right comparison — Ledn names its loan book, and Xapo Bank names its T-bills. For a reader whose priority is a broad app with cards, staking and trading in one place, Crypto.com's breadth is real; the yield is simply a smaller part of the value than the marketing implies.

The verdict

Crypto.com is a competent, widely licensed consumer crypto platform whose earning products are priced far below what the headlines suggest and whose most important economic terms — the taper, the early-exit rule, the CRO dependency — are documented but not prominent. Nothing here is deceptive on its own terms. The taper is published. The staking disclaimer is published. The card changes were announced. But a reader who takes the front page at face value will be materially wrong about what they earn, and the missing staking commission means even a careful reader cannot finish the sum.

If you already use the app for trading, spending or on-chain staking, the Earn product is a convenience with a modest return rather than a reason to consolidate assets. If you are choosing a venue specifically for yield on stablecoins or Bitcoin, the realised rates recorded in August 2026 do not support that choice, andbuilding an income allocation around a platform that does not disclose its funding model is a decision that deserves to be made consciously. You can see how it sits against every other venue we have examined on ourcrypto earn platforms comparison.

Frequently asked questions

How does the Crypto.com Earn balance taper work?

Crypto.com prices a fixed-term allocation in three bands. The first US$3,000 earns the Tier 1 rate you see advertised. The next US$27,000 earns half of that Tier 1 rate. Everything above US$30,000 earns 0.3 times the Tier 2 rate, which works out at 0.15 times the headline. The taper applies to every asset except USDC. Because the top band is unlimited in size and pays the least, the larger your position the closer your blended return sits to the bottom of the ladder rather than the top.

What rate does Crypto.com actually pay on stablecoins?

On Crypto.com’s own Earn page, USDT and USDC appear under Earn Plus at "up to 0%" — stablecoin rewards have effectively been withdrawn there. A third-party rate tracker recorded a realised base rate of 0.5% on USDC and USDT on 23 August 2026. US stablecoin rewards appear to have been discontinued altogether, which is consistent with the GENIUS Act’s prohibition on paying yield on payment stablecoins. If you are shopping for dollar yield, our stablecoin yield guide sets out what the honest benchmarks look like.

Can I withdraw from a Crypto.com fixed term early?

Partly. Crypto.com states that an early withdrawal returns your principal minus all rewards already paid during the term, so you surrender the entire earned amount rather than a portion of it. CRO fixed-term allocations are different again: they cannot be withdrawn early at all. That makes a CRO term deposit a genuine commitment rather than a soft one, and it is the detail most worth checking before you lock anything up. Compare the exit terms across venues in our crypto savings accounts overview.

Does Crypto.com charge a commission on staking rewards?

It says it takes one but does not say how much. The on-chain staking page shows per-asset APRs and carries a disclaimer that the figures are "based on the estimated reward from validators excluding fees charged by Crypto.com". The commission percentage is not published anywhere we could find, so the advertised staking APR is a gross number with an unknown deduction applied to it. Coinbase, Kraken and Binance all publish a figure; see how staking commissions work for why the gap matters.

Is Crypto.com regulated in Europe?

Yes, for the exchange business. Crypto.com received a MiCA CASP authorisation from the Malta Financial Services Authority in January 2025 and also holds a limited financial institution licence in Europe. What MiCA authorisation does not do is make Earn a protected deposit. There is no deposit guarantee scheme behind an Earn balance, and an authorisation covers conduct, governance and disclosure rather than the solvency of the entity holding your coins. Our regulation explainer sets out the boundary.

Is Crypto.com Earn available in the United States?

A third-party tracker reported on 23 August 2026 that the platform is available in all US states except New York, and we were not able to confirm state-by-state Earn eligibility from Crypto.com’s own documentation. Earn eligibility and trading eligibility are not the same thing, and US stablecoin rewards appear to have been discontinued separately. Treat the "all states but New York" line as unverified. Our availability tracker records what each provider actually publishes.

Do you still get card cashback without holding CRO?

Under the 2026 card overhaul, no. The programme now runs six levels from Basic to Prime, and users who neither stake CRO nor pay a subscription earn 0% cashback. Paid tiers were priced at US$4.99 for Plus and US$29.99 for Pro per the source that documented the change, with cashback of 2–8% capped at US$25 a month on Plus and US$75 a month on Pro, and uncapped on Private and Prime. CRO lockups run from US$500 to US$1,000,000 on twelve-month commitments.

Keep reading